This event has passed
Andrea Ramolo © Neil Barbisan
"Her lyrics... are passionate, vulnerable, and honest." CBCMusic.ca

The Andrea Ramolo concert scheduled for 8:30 p.m. on November 9 in the Fourth Stage has been moved to 8:00 p.m. on November 9 in the Studio where she will be appearing with Catherine MacLellan.

Andrea Ramolo, one half of acclaimed Canadian folk-pop duo Scarlett Jane, has a new solo album, Nuda (Italian for naked). The album emerged out of a deep depression following a romantic breakup and a shift in her artistic path; but brought about a hugely positive metamorphosis, personally and creatively.

Born in Toronto to Italian immigrants Andrea began her artistic life as a dancer and actress, but picked up the guitar in 2003 when her mom was going through breast cancer treatment “to heal myself and do something productive.” The rudimentary country-folk tracks ended up on her 2008 debut, Thank You For The Ride. She followed it up in 2011 with the Tim Thorney-produced The Shadows and the Cracks, which earned her a nomination at the Canadian Folk Music Awards.

She then formed Scarlett Jane with Cindy Doire and spent five years extensively touring behind two albums, 2012’s Stranger and 2015’s eponymous offering, earning accolades from press and fellow musicians across the country and two more CFMA nominations.

video: Wild Town
Wild Town
Andrea Ramolo © Neil Barbisan
Andrea Ramolo © Jen Squires
Andrea Ramolo © Jen Squires
Andrea Ramolo © Jen Squires
Menu

Andrea Ramolo

Andrea Ramolo © Neil Barbisan
"Her lyrics... are passionate, vulnerable, and honest."
CBCMusic.ca

Nuda (nue, en italien) est le dernier en date des albums solos d’Andrea Ramolo, qui fait également partie de Scarlett Jane, duo folk-pop canadien très applaudi. Fruit d’une profonde dépression après une rupture amoureuse, Nuda marque un tournant artistique pour la chanteuse. C’est une métamorphose personnelle particulièrement favorable à sa créativité.

Née à Toronto d’un couple d’immigrants italiens, Andrea a d’abord été danseuse et actrice, mais s’est mise à la guitare en 2003, « pour apaiser [sa] souffrance et faire quelque chose de productif » alors que sa mère, atteinte d’un cancer du sein, devait subir une série de traitements. Ces pièces country-folk rudimentaires aboutiront en 2008 sur un premier album, intitulé Thank You For The Ride. Suit en 2011 The Shadows and the Cracks, produit par Tim Thorney, qui lui vaut une nomination aux Prix de musique folk canadienne (PMFC).

Elle forme ensuite Scarlett Jane avec Cindy Doire et le duo passe cinq années intenses en tournées, entre autres pour la promotion de deux albums, Stranger (2012) et Scarlett Jane (2015), qui leur apportent les éloges de la presse et de musiciens de tout le pays, plus deux autres nominations aux  PMFC.

video: Wild Town
Wild Town
Andrea Ramolo © Neil Barbisan
Andrea Ramolo © Jen Squires
Andrea Ramolo © Jen Squires
Andrea Ramolo © Jen Squires
Menu