Street closures around the NAC during the Santa Claus Parade
10 Strings and a Goat Skin
"A seamless, polished, barrel-drum-tight, rhythmically innovative and wildly entertaining traditional music powerhouse." The Guardian, 2014

Members of Ten Strings And A Goat Skin, a bilingual band hailing from Prince Edward Island, recent winners of the 2015 East Coast Music Association's award for World Music Recording of the Year, multiple nominees for the 2013 Canadian Folk Music Awards, East Coast Music Awards and Music PEI Awards, are having the time of their lives as a trad/folk/fusion trio.

Weaving the music of the Irish, Acadian, Francophone and Maritime cultures and their original creations with modern and world rhythms, Ten Strings And A Goat Skin have created a fiery, contagious and unique sound that has them in demand and touring extensively throughout Canada, the United States and Europe.

From humble beginnings came the music of Ten Strings And A Goat Skin with a first performance at a community fundraiser to paint the local parish church in Rustico, PEI. Not having a band name to introduce the boys, a family friend took stock of the instruments and suggested the name that has served them well. They've never looked back and the church got painted.

video: Auprès du poêle
Auprès du poêle
10 Strings and a Goat Skin
Menu

Spectacle complet
10 Strings and a Goat Skin
"A seamless, polished, barrel-drum-tight, rhythmically innovative and wildly entertaining traditional music powerhouse." The Guardian, 2014

Ten Strings And A Goat Skin est un groupe trad-folk-fusion bilingue de l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard, lauréat en 2015 d’un prix de l’East Coast Music Association pour l’enregistrement de l’année dans la catégorie musique du monde, et plusieurs fois candidat aux Prix de la musique folk canadienne, aux East Coast Music Awards et aux Music PEI Awards. Et ses trois membres s’amusent comme des petits fous.

Tissant les cultures irlandaise, acadienne, francophone et maritime ainsi que des créations personnelles sur une trame de musiques du monde et des rythmes modernes, Ten Strings And A Goat Skin a créé un son fougueux à nul autre pareil, qui plaît tellement que le groupe se produit partout au Canada, aux États‑Unis et en Europe.

Le trio a commencé bien modestement, par un spectacle destiné à amasser des fonds pour repeindre l’église paroissiale de Rustico, à l’Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Ne sachant comment présenter le groupe, un ami de la famille s’est inspiré des instruments de prédilection des gars et a suggéré ce nom qui les sert si bien depuis. L’église a été repeinte, et les trois poursuivent leur chemin.

video: Auprès du poêle
Auprès du poêle
10 Strings and a Goat Skin
Menu