Café Daughter

dates & times NAC Studio

dates & times dates & times

NAC Studio

[x] Close

Café Daughter Tiffany Ayalik as Yvette Wong

Ed Ellis

Café Daughter Tiffany Ayalik as Yvette Wong

Ed Ellis

Café Daughter Tiffany Ayalik as Yvette Wong

Ed Ellis

NAC Presentation

Approximately 90 minutes with no intermission.

In the early 1900s, a Saskatchewan law intended to protect the morality of white females forbade Chinese restaurant owners from hiring Caucasian women. Against this backdrop, nine-year-old Yvette Wong helps out in her parents’ café. Her parents are a mixed-race couple – her father Chinese and her mother Cree. Despite being incredibly bright, Yvette finds herself in the slow learners’ class because of her skin colour, and so her mother charges her with a secret: Yvette must never tell anyone she’s part Cree.

Based on the life of Chinese-Canadian neuroscientist and Senator LILLIAN EVA QUAN DYCK, Café Daughter maps the hierarchy of racism in Canada, asking questions that any Canadian of mixed heritage might ask: Who am I? Who are my people? Who can I lean on when times are tough?

Hailing from Yellowknife, NWT, actor TIFFANY AYALIK effortlessly inhabits a dozen characters in this one-woman show from celebrated Cree playwright KENNETH T. WILLIAMS. By the end of this arresting 90-minute story based on real life, you will know them all.

A Workshop West Playwrights' Theatre production in association with Alberta Aboriginal Performing Arts with the support of the Alberta Foundation for the Arts.

[A] touching, family-friendly play.

The Globe and Mail

Videos

  • Café Daughter -Canada Scene June 16-18

Artist Links

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

12 Jun

13 Jun

14 Jun

15 Jun

16 Jun

  • 8:00 PM

17 Jun

  • 4:00 PM
  • 8:00 PM

18 Jun

  • 8:00 PM

Alberta Foundation for the Arts
Menu

Café Daughter

Dates et heures Studio du CNA

Dates et heures Dates et heures

Studio du CNA

[x] Fermer

Café Daughter Tiffany Ayalik sans le rôle d'Yvette Wong

Ed Ellis

Café Daughter Tiffany Ayalik sans le rôle d'Yvette Wong

Ed Ellis

Café Daughter Tiffany Ayalik sans le rôle d'Yvette Wong

Ed Ellis

Présentation du CNA

Durée approximative de 90 minutes sans entracte.

Au début des années 1900, une loi de la Saskatchewan visant à protéger les bonnes mœurs des femmes blanches interdisait aux propriétaires de restaurants chinois d’embaucher des femmes caucasiennes. C’est dans ce contexte qu’Yvette Wong, une jeune fille de neuf ans, travaille dans le café de ses parents, un couple multiethnique : lui est Chinois, elle est Cri. Même si elle est incroyablement intelligente, Yvette se retrouve dans une classe d’élèves en difficulté en raison de la couleur de sa peau. Sa mère lui confie alors un secret : Yvette ne doit jamais dire à qui que ce soit qu’elle a du sang cri.

S’inspirant de la vie de la sénatrice et neuroscientifique sino-canadienne LILLIAN EVA QUAN DYCK, Café Daughter établit la hiérarchie du racisme au Canada par des questions que tout Canadien d’origine mixte pourrait se poser : Qui suis-je? Qui est mon peuple? Sur qui puis-je m’appuyer lorsque les temps sont durs?

Originaire de Yellowknife, T.-N.-O., la comédienne TIFFANY AYALIK incarne sans peine une douzaine de personnages dans ce spectacle solo du célèbre dramaturge cri KENNETH T. WILLIAMS. À la conclusion de cette saisissante histoire de 90 minutes basée sur des faits réels, vous connaîtrez intimement tous ces personnages.

Une production de Workshop West Playwrights' Theatre en association avec Alberta Arboriginal Performing Arts et le support de Alberta Foundation for the Arts.

une pièce touchante pour toute la famille

The Globe and Mail

Vidéos

  • Café Daughter - Scène Canada 16-18 juin

Liens artiste

Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun

12 juin

13 juin

14 juin

15 juin

16 juin

  • 20 h 00

17 juin

  • 16 h 00
  • 20 h 00

18 juin

  • 20 h 00

Alberta Foundation for the Arts
Menu