April 8, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Stewart Goodyear © Photo: Anita Zvonar

Stewart Goodyear

Goodyear, Gould, and Goldberg

This event has passed
Stewart Goodyear © Photo: Anita Zvonar
Music

In 1955, Glenn Gould, one of Ontario’s (and the world’s) most celebrated classical pianists, made a landmark recording of Bach’s Goldberg Variations, which quickly propelled him to international fame.

In a special homage marking the 60th anniversary of this recording, STEWART GOODYEAR, himself an internationally acclaimed piano soloist, will perform his own interpretation of the Goldberg Variations on Gould’s beloved Steinway, which has been on permanent exhibition at the NAC since 2012.

Goodyear, a long-time friend of the National Arts Centre, made his first appearance at the NAC at the age of 12. More than two decades later, he is recognized around the world for his elegant and exquisite technique, great emotional depth, and endless curiosity.

video: Stewart Goodyear: Concertizing and Connecting
Stewart Goodyear: Concertizing and Connecting
Stewart Goodyear © Photo: Anita Zvonar
Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 14 juin
Stewart Goodyear © Photo: Anita Zvonar

Stewart Goodyear

Goodyear, Gould, et Goldberg

Cet événement est passé
Stewart Goodyear © Photo: Anita Zvonar
Musique

En 1955, l’enfant chéri de l’Ontario Glenn Gould, l’un des pianistes classiques les plus célèbres au monde, réalise un enregistrement historique des Variations Goldberg de Bach qui le propulse au firmament de la gloire.

Dans un hommage spécial marquant le 60e anniversaire de cet enregistrement, STEWART GOODYEAR, lui-même pianiste de renommée internationale, interprétera les Variations Goldberg sur le Steinway de Gould, exposé en permanence depuis 2012 au CNA.

Stewart Goodyear, ami de longue date du Centre national des Arts, y a donné son premier concert à l’âge de 12 ans. Quelque 20 ans plus tard, il est reconnu mondialement pour sa technique élégante et exquise, sa profondeur émotionnelle et son insatiable curiosité. 

video:
Stewart Goodyear © Photo: Anita Zvonar
Menu