Writers

Playwrights, Composers and Creators

NAC English Theatre invests in writers and creators who aim to create dynamic, urgent and uniquely Canadian work. We believe that plays need time and attention to prosper. We look at work at every stage of development, from the beginnings of ideas right through to projects that have already seen first productions. We are drawn by the inventiveness of play-makers, and by content that we believe helps to strengthen our collective sense of Canada.

To strengthen the existing body of Canadian theatre, and to give meaningful support to the development of new work, NAC English Theatre does not produce premiere productions on our stages.  However, we are actively involved with companies who produce new work and we partner on premieres on stages across the country. We invite you to check The Collaborations program to learn more. 

Unsolicited Scripts

We encourage writers of un-produced plays to contact your regional play development houses and to pursue local means of getting your work produced in your home communities. 

NAC English Theatre does not accept unsolicited scripts.

Let us know about your work

Please let us know if your play is being produced. If Jillian can see a performance, she will. We also work with a group of artistic advisors located in every province in Canada, and we may send one of them to see the show in Jillian's stead. We also suggest that you archive your work: producing companies may be interested in these documents following a successful production in your home community.

Commissions

At present, we are not commissioning any new work.

Contact

For any questions about writing and creation work you can contact Associate Artistic Director Sarah Garton Stanley at: sarah.stanley[at]nac-cna.ca

Thank you to the Friends of English Theatre for their passion and continued support.

Menu

Auteurs

Dramaturges et créateurs

Le Théâtre anglais du CNA investit dans les auteurs et les créateurs qui ont à coeur de créer, de concert avec nous, des œuvres passionnantes, vibrantes et canadiennes par essence. Nous croyons que les oeuvres dramatiques, quelle qu’en soit la forme et la durée, ont besoin de temps et d’attention pour éclore. C’est pourquoi nous recherchons des pièces à toutes les étapes de leur conception, depuis l’amorce d’une idée d’argument jusqu’aux textes ayant déjà eu les honneurs d’une première production. Nous sommes intéressés par l’inventivité des créateurs de théâtre, et par les contenus qui nous paraissent de nature à cimenter notre identité et à exprimer qui nous sommes, collectivement, au Canada.

Soucieux de mettre en valeur la dramaturgie canadienne existante tout en appuyant concrètement le développement de nouvelles pièces, le Théâtre anglais du CNA ne présente pas de créations proprement dites sur nos scènes. Toutefois, nous participons activement à la création de nouvelles pièces sur les scènes du pays : lisez ce qui suit pour en savoir plus long sur nos Collaborations.

Textes non sollicités

Nous encourageons les auteurs de pièces n’ayant pas encore été montées à communiquer avec les organisations locales vouées u développement de nouvelles pièces et à rechercher localement des moyens de faire produire leurs pièces dans leur propre collectivité. 

Le Théâtre anglais du CNA n’accepte pas de textes non sollicités.

Faites-nous part de votre démarche

Si votre pièce est produite, faites-le nous savoir. Si nous pouvons assister à une représentation, nous le ferons. Si nous ne sommes pas en mesure d’y aller, nous garderons tout de même un œil  sur ses progrès. Nous vous suggérons d’archiver vos oeuvres : les compagnies productrices pourraient se montrer intéressées par ces documents à la suite d’une production réussie dans votre localité.

Personne-ressource

Pour toute question liée à l’écriture et à la création dramaturgique, communiquez avec notre directrice artistique associée, Sarah Garton Stanley, à l’adresse sarah.stanley[at]nac-cna.ca.

Merci aux Amis du Théâtre anglais pour leur passion et leur soutien constant.

Menu