Parking this week
National Arts Centre

Christopher Deacon Becomes President and Chief Executive Officer

Christopher Deacon | © Serge Gouin

“Christopher Deacon is a champion of the performing arts in Canada. He’s got a proven record as a risk-taker and as an adventurous arts administrator leading highly ambitious projects.”
 Peter Herrndorf

After an extensive national search that began in November 2017, the Board of Trustees of the National Arts Centre today announced that Christopher Deacon will succeed Peter Herrndorf as President and Chief Executive Officer of the organization on June 12, 2018.   
    
Christopher Deacon, 59, was born in Montreal, Quebec. He has more than 35 years of professional experience managing orchestras, including 22 years as Managing Director of the NAC Orchestra. He is the first-ever person in the NAC’s 49-year history to be promoted from within the organization to become President and CEO.

“The NAC conducted a rigorous and disciplined search to find the best arts executive to lead Canada’s National Arts Centre,” said Adrian Burns, Chair of the Board of Trustees, who led the recruiting committee, comprised of four board members, two staff, an artist and two outside members. “We found the right person right here at the NAC to provide the vision and leadership necessary to guide the organization into its next half-century. Few people know the NAC as well as Christopher Deacon.”

Deacon has played an instrumental part of the outstanding executive leadership team during a period that saw the NAC achieve some of the greatest artistic successes in its storied history.

As the Managing Director of the NAC Orchestra, Christopher Deacon has led many of the Orchestra’s boldest initiatives in recent memory. They include the seven-city China Tour in 2013 that included eight concerts and 80 education events, as well as the 2014 UK Tour, the largest Canadian initiative overseas to mark the centenary of Canada’s entry into the First World War.

  • “The NAC is about storytelling and change-making through the arts, which inspires and strengthens Canadians, their communities and our national fabric. Christopher Deacon understands that. For as long as I’ve known him, he has enabled that mandate. He listens, connects, inquires, encourages, celebrates and builds. He’s a terrific choice for this position.”

    Dr. Susan Dyer Knight Memorial University’s Chancellor and Founder/Artistic Director Emerita of Newfoundland's Shallaway Youth Choir.
  • “Christopher has been able to transform and modernize the image of the NAC among Canada’s classical music community by growing its leadership role in innovative and creative ways.”

    Yannick Nézet-Séguin Music Director of New York’s Metropolitan Opera, the Orchestre Métropolitain de Montréal, as well as the Philadelphia Orchestra.
  • “His respect for the artists involved allowed all of us to venture fearlessly into this new artistic endeavour. He is a wonderful collaborator and will make an outstanding leader.”

    Donna Feore Renowned Canadian theatre director and choreographer noted for her work with the Stratford Festival, and Creative Producer and Stage Director of the NAC’s Life Reflected multimedia project.
  • “I have great respect for Christopher’s artistic vision. When Christopher called to tell me how the NAC wanted to tell the story of Amanda and other heroic women through Life Reflected, I thought ‘This is groundbreaking. What a brilliant idea.’ Right away I knew I wanted to be part of it.”

    Jocelyn Morlock Winner of the JUNO Award for the 2018 Classical Composition of the Year for her work for “My Name is Amanda Todd”
  • “In 2015, Christopher Deacon came to Eskasoni to meet our family and community members about I Lost my Talk. He was fearless. I was in awe of the whole project. It was as if the artists were all gentle warriors for my mother’s message of reconciliation. And I don’t think it could have happened without his leadership.”

    Ann Joe Daughter of the late Mi'kmaw poet and elder Rita Joe
Menu

Centre National des Arts

Christopher Deacon devient président et chef de la direction

Christopher Deacon | © Serge Gouin

« Christopher Deacon est un champion des arts de la scène au Canada. Comme administrateur des arts, il a démontré son audace ainsi que sa capacité de prendre des risques et de mener des projets très ambitieux. »
Peter Herrndorf

Au terme d’un processus de recrutement national qui a débuté en novembre 2017, le conseil d’administration du Centre national des Arts a annoncé aujourd’hui que Christopher Deacon succéderait à Peter Herrndorf en tant que président et chef de la direction de l’organisation. M. Deacon entrera en fonction le 12 juin 2018.   
    
Âgé de 59 ans, Christopher Deacon est né à Montréal (Québec). Il possède plus de 35 ans d’expérience en gestion d’orchestres, dont 22 à titre de directeur administratif de l’Orchestre du CNA. En 49 ans d’histoire, jamais encore un employé n’avait été promu chef de la direction au CNA.

« Nous avons mené des recherches rigoureuses et méthodiques afin de trouver le meilleur leader des arts de la scène possible pour diriger le CNA », a dit la présidente du conseil d’administration, Adrian Burns, qui dirigeait aussi le comité de recrutement composé de quatre membres du conseil, de deux employés, d’un artiste et de deux personnes de l’externe. « Nous avons trouvé ici même au CNA la personne qui a les idées et le leadership nécessaires pour guider cette organisation qui s’apprête à franchir le cap du demi-siècle. Peu de gens connaissent autant le CNA que Christopher Deacon. »

M. Deacon a joué un rôle central au sein de l’équipe de direction durant une période où le CNA a accumulé certains des plus grands succès artistiques de sa riche histoire.

En tant que directeur administratif de l’Orchestre du CNA, M. Deacon a piloté plusieurs des plus ambitieux projets récents de l’ensemble, dont la tournée de 2013 en Chine, qui comprenait huit concerts et 80 activités éducatives dans sept villes, et la tournée de 2014 au Royaume-Uni, la plus importante initiative canadienne à l’international pour souligner le 100e anniversaire du déclenchement de la Première Guerre mondiale.

  • « Le CNA s’attache à raconter des histoires et à changer les choses par la voie des arts. Le Centre est une source d’inspiration et d’enrichissement pour les Canadiens, leurs communautés et l’identité de notre pays; un rôle que Christopher Deacon a très bien compris et qu’il a toujours soutenu, depuis que je le connais. Il écoute, il crée des liens, il pose des questions, il encourage, il célèbre et il bâtit. Quelle fantastique nomination! » 

    Dr. Susan Dyer Knight Dre Susan Dyer Knight, chancelière de l’Université Memorial et directrice artistique fondatrice émérite du Chœur de jeunes Shallaway de Terre-Neuve
  • « Christopher a su transformer et moderniser l’image de l’Orchestre du CNA en lui faisant accroître son rôle de leadership en termes d’innovation et de créativité dans le milieu symphonique du Canada »

    Yannick Nézet-Séguin Yannick Nézet-Séguin, directeur musical du Metropolitan Opera de New York, de l’Orchestre métropolitain de Montréal et de l’Orchestre de Philadelphie.
  • Le respect dont il a fait preuve envers les artistes participants nous a donné à tous le courage de sauter à pieds joints dans cette nouvelle entreprise. Il est un formidable collaborateur et sera un leader exceptionnel.»

    Donna Feore Donna Feore, chorégraphe et metteure en scène canadienne reconnue pour son travail au Festival de Stratford et au CNA, où elle a contribué au projet multimédia Réflexions sur la vie à titre de productrice du contenu créatif et de metteure en scène.
  • « J’ai un grand respect pour la vision artistique de Christopher. Quand Christopher m’a parlé de l’intention du CNA de raconter l’histoire d’Amanda et d’autres femmes remarquables dans le cadre du projet Réflexions sur la vie, je me suis dit que c’était une idée brillante et novatrice. J’ai tout de suite voulu y contribuer. »

    Jocelyn Morlock Jocelyn Morlock, qui a reçu le prix JUNO 2018 de la Composition classique de l’année pour My Name is Amanda Todd
  • « En 2015, Christopher Deacon s’est rendu à Eskasoni pour rencontrer les membres de notre famille et de notre communauté, et nous parler de I Lost My Talk.  J’ai mis en doute le succès de ce projet mais, lui, il en était convaincu. Je suis pleine d’admiration pour cette initiative. Les artistes étaient de fins champions du message de réconciliation de ma mère. Je ne crois pas que tout ceci aurait été possible sans le leadership de Christopher. »

    Ann Joe Ann Joe, fille de la regrettée auteure et aînée mi’kmaq Rita Joe
Menu