October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
YAO |
Singer, songwriter

YAO

Pop, Groovy, Funk by moment and Soul as a whole, Yao, with his baritone voice, succeeds in charming us with the warm universe of his sweet poetry and his artistic audacity.

Faithful to his pictorial writing – casted in great sensitivity - Yao reminds us of the textual richness of French rap by MC Solaar or Oxmo Puccino. His singularity: his eclectic pop side; Where the musical universes succeed one another and intertwine through the textual escapades of this poet.

After greatly distinguishing himself in the French-Canadian scene with his album Perles et Paraboles, Yao, with his seven nominations at the Trille Or 2015 Awards Gala (by APCM – the Association of Professional Singers and Musicians), was awarded in October 2015, the Édith- Butler Prize of the SPACQ Foundation (Professional Society of Authors and Composers of Quebec.)

His latest project, Lapsus came in at 24th of the Top 200 New releases in Canada in French Pop. A simply personal and captivating creation, that awarded two nominations at the 2017 Trille Or Awards (“Best Author, Composer or Songwriter”, and “Export Ontario (Ontario Artist who Most Illustrated himself Outside of the Province)”.

In 2019, with seven nominations under his belt, he won the top three most coveted awards as “Artist of the year”, “Performer of the year”, as well as the “Media’s favorite” award.

Active on, and off the scene, he received in November 2018, the Commemorative Medal of the Senate, highlighting the 150th Anniversary of the Confederation of Canada – a distinction to highlight his accomplishments as well as his involvement in the community, via his art and his work promoting diversity cultural, across the country. And through his work as an artist-educator was awarded in 2018: the Ontario Arts Foundation’s Artist-Educator Award.

Having performed nationally and internationally (France, Madagascar, Algeria, Tunisia and Morocco, Cape Verde), Yao, with his extraordinary musicians offer you a personal, vibrant and captivating show, that you will want to see more than once.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
YAO |
Auteur-compositeur

YAO

Pop, Groovy, Funk par moment et Soul dans son ensemble, Yao, avec sa voix de baryton, réussit à nous charmer par l’univers chaleureux de sa douce poésie et par son audace artistique.

Fidèle à son écriture imagée - empreinte d’une très grande sensibilité - Yao nous rappelle la richesse textuelle du rap français de MC Solaar ou Oxmo Puccino. Sa singularité : son côté pop éclectique; Où les univers musicaux se succèdent et s’entrelacent à travers les frasques textuelles de ce poète.

Après s’être largement distingué sur la scène canadienne-française avec son album Perles et Paraboles (Intello-Productions, 2013), dont les fruits ont été sept nominations au Gala des prix Trille Or 2015 (par l’APCM – Association des Professionnels de la Chanson et de la Musique), Yao a reçu en octobre 2015, le prix Édith-Butler de la Fondation SPACQ (Société professionnelle des auteurs et compositeurs du Québec.)

Son dernier projet, Lapsus (Intello-Productions, 2016), est entré 24e du Top 200 des nouveautés francophones sur iTunes Canada, dans la catégorie « French Pop. » Une création tout simplement personnelle et captivante, qui lui a valu deux nominations aux Gala des Prix Trille Or 2017 (« Meilleur auteur, compositeur ou auteur-compositeur » et « Export Ontario (l’artiste ontarien qui s’est le plus illustré à l’extérieur de la province.)»

En 2019, avec sept nominations au Gala des Prix Trille Or, il remporte alors le top trois des prix les plus convoités comme « Artiste de l’année », « Spectacle de l’année », ainsi que le prix « Coup de cœur des médias. »

Actif sur la scène comme en dehors, à titre d’artiste-entrepreneur, il a reçu en novembre 2018, la Médaille commémorative du Sénat, soulignant le 150e anniversaire de la Confédération du Canada – une distinction visant à souligner ses réalisations ainsi que son implication dans la communauté, via son art et son travail de promotion de la diversité culturelle, à travers le pays.

Et grâce à son travail d’artiste-éducateur, le prix Artiste-éducateur de la Fondation des arts de l’Ontario lui a été décerné en 2018.

Après de nombreux spectacle à l'échelle nationale (dans 9 provinces sur 10, et 1 territoire sur 3), ainsi qu’à l’internationale (France, Madagascar, Algérie, Tunisie et Maroc, Cap-Vert), Yao, avec ses musiciens, propose un spectacle personnel, vibrant et captivant, que vous voudrez voir plus d’une fois.

Menu