WATCH LIVE: G.R. Gritt at Théâtre du Nouvel-Ontario (Sudbury) | Fridays at the Fourth (Starting in:
)
Sheila Flaherty |
chef

Sheila Flaherty

Iqaluit · NU · Canada

With a love of cuisine that originated in Ottawa, while observing and absorbing her father’s passion for cooking, Chef Sheila Flaherty now brings us the experience of authentic inuksuit cuisine, (or Inuit food), from her home in Iqaluit.  

Her roots in the North, however, are anything but recent. Her mother originates from Tuktoyaktuk in the Northwest Territories, and Chef Flaherty is committed to sharing her love for traditionally-made inuksuit with the rest of Canada and the world, as well as her innovative take on tradition and use of inuksiutit (country food) with the people of her community.  

Chef Flaherty is both the first Inuk Chef to appear on MasterChef Canada, and the first to work collaboratively on the menu for Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami’s ‘A Taste of the Arctic’ here at the NAC. Her menus have also been featured in places like Nuuk, Greenland and New York City. 

She is currently in the planning stage for a new business with her husband, called sijjakkut, which means “by the seashore”. The business will offer a tasting menu that will evoke lasting memories right in the heart of Inuit Nunangat, Inuit homeland, with one taste. 

We’re thrilled that Chef Flaherty has agreed to join us to kick off the new season of Resident Chefs in September 2021, and to share a vision of modern inuksuit usually reserved for her northern community. 

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.
Sheila Flaherty |
Chef

Sheila Flaherty

Iqaluit · NU · Canada

La passion culinaire de la chef Sheila Flaherty est née à Ottawa, en observant et absorbant l’amour de son père envers la nourriture. Aujourd’hui, chef Flaherty offre une expérience de cuisine inuksuit (inuite) authentique à partir de chez elle, à Iqaluit.

Ses racines nordiques sont loin d’être récentes, toutefois. Sa mère est originaire de Tuktoyaktuk, aux Territoires du Nord-Ouest, et la chef Flaherty est déterminée à partager son amour pour la cuisine inuksuit avec le reste du pays et du monde, ainsi que son approche innovatrice envers l’inuksiutit (nourriture paysanne) avec les gens de sa communauté.

Chef Flaherty est la première chef inuite à participer à MasterChef Canada, et la première à collaborer au menu de l’événement Le goût de l’Arctique organisé par Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami ici au CNA. Ses menus ont également été présentés à des endroits comme Nuuk, au Groenland, et New York.

Elle planifie présentement une nouvelle entreprise avec son mari, qui se nommera sijjakkut (sur le rivage). Cette entreprise offrira une table d’hôte qui évoquera des souvenirs durables au cœur du territoire inuit dès la première bouchée.

Nous sommes ravis que la chef Flaherty ait accepté de se joindre à nous pour lancer la nouvelle saison des chefs en résidence en septembre 2021 et partager sa vision de la cuisine inuksuit habituellement réservée pour sa communauté nordique.

Menu