May 20, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Ronnie Dean Harris | Fara Nosh

Ronnie Dean Harris

Ronnie Dean Harris aka Ostwelve, is a Stō:lo/St’át'imc/Lil’wat/N’laka'pamux multimedia artist based in New Westminster, B.C. Beginning in music, he has explored various mediums such as TV, film, visual + sound design alongside various research subjects including history, cosmology, genealogy and Indigenous policy.

In late 1951, Sḵwx̱wú7mesh leader Andy Paull wrote an article which would later serve as a eulogy for our Grandfather Chief Kwikwetlem William aka xem-tey-nem. In this article, Andy would recognize important events in our grandfather’s life. From his witness of the first settlers on the river to his attendance and witness to an important historical gathering at Sapperton for then Queen Victoria’s birthday with Governor Frederick Seymour to his assault by an inmate at the Colony Farm Forensic Psychiatric Hospital.

Also in this article, was a mention of stories told by our Grandfather Kwikwetlem about how “sasquatches would uproot trees where the City of New Westminster now stands and were seen carrying as many as five salmon on each hand and bales of smoked salmon to their abodes in the forest.” Living in New Westminster, this caught my attention and I wanted to be able to tell this story and explore this memory in this space and time.

While I often imagine what it would be like to sit with my grandfather, I now wonder what it would be like to hear his stories and memories through eyes of someone who was here “he witnessed the trees whose bows kissed the waters of the Fraser gradually being chopped down” and “lived to see the railroad span the continent”.

He is also a contributing storyteller to the Vancouver edition of Indigenous Cities, 2021.

Menu

Ronnie Dean Harris | Fara Nosh

Ronnie Dean Harris

Ronnie Dean Harris, alias Ostwelve, est un artiste multimédia Stō:lo/St'át'imc/Lil'wat/N’laka'pamux basé à New Westminster, en Colombie-Britannique. Après ses débuts en musique, il a exploré divers médias tels que la télévision, le cinéma, la conception visuelle et sonore, ainsi que divers sujets de recherche, notamment l’histoire, la cosmologie, la généalogie et la politique autochtone.

À la fin de 1951, le chef des Sḵwx̱wú7meshs Andy Paull a écrit un article qui a plus tard servi d’éloge funèbre pour notre grand-père, le chef Kwikwetlem William alias xem-tey-nem. Dans cet article, Andy reconnaît les événements importants de la vie de notre grand-père. De son témoignage des premiers colons sur la rivière, à sa présence et son témoignage lors d’un important rassemblement historique à Sapperton pour l’anniversaire de la reine Victoria avec le gouverneur Frederick Seymour, à son agression par un détenu de l’hôpital psychiatrique judiciaire de Colony Farm.

Cet article mentionnait également des histoires racontées par notre grand-père Kwikwetlem, selon lesquelles « les Sasquatchs déracinaient les arbres où se trouve aujourd’hui la ville de New Westminster et on les voyait transporter jusqu’à cinq saumons sur chaque main et des ballots de saumon fumé jusqu’à leurs demeures dans la forêt ». Vivant à New Westminster, cela a attiré mon attention et je voulais pouvoir raconter cette histoire et explorer ce souvenir dans cet espace et ce temps.

Alors que j’imagine souvent ce que ce serait de m’asseoir avec mon grand-père, je me demande maintenant ce que ce serait d’entendre ses récits et ses souvenirs à travers les yeux de quelqu’un qui était là : « il a vu les arbres dont les cimes embrassaient les eaux du Fraser être progressivement abattus » et « il a vu le chemin de fer traverser le continent ».

Il est également l’un des conteurs de l’édition de Vancouver de Cités autochtones, en 2021.

Menu