|
Newfoundland comedian

Rick Mercer

Rick Mercer began his career in comedy performing and writing with a series of one-man stage shows, beginning with Show Me the Button, which debuted at the National Arts Centre in 1990 and went on to tour the country. Subsequent stage performances were in I’ve Killed Before, I’ll Kill Again (1992) and Canada: A Good Place to Hide (1995). 

Mercer launched his television career in 1993 as one of the creators, performers, and writers on the hit topical weekly show This Hour Has 22 Minutes. In 1998 he joined Gerald Lunz and Michael Donovan to create the satirical dramatic series Made In Canada, where he again starred and contributed as a writer. In 2001 his CBC Television special Talking To Americans became the highest rated Canadian comedy special of all time with 2.7 million viewers. The New York TimesWall Street JournalLe Monde, and the Los Angeles Times all ran articles about the impact of Talking to Americans and Mercer went on to discuss it on ABC’s Nightline and NBC’s The Today Show.

A recipient of well over 25 Gemini Awards for television writing and performance, Mercer was given the Sir Peter Ustinov Award at the Banff Television Festival, named Journalist of the Year at the Atlantic Journalism Awards, Artists of the Year from the Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council, and has received a number of Canadian Comedy Awards. He is the sole civilian recipient of the Canadian Armed Forces Commander Land Forces, Command Commendation in recognition of his support of Canadian peacekeepers, and in 2004 he received the National Arts Centre Award at the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards.

Mercer went to Afghanistan in the fall of 2003 to entertain the troops and tape Rick Mercer’s Christmas in Kabul a special for CBC Television. He has returned twice to Afghanistan to visit the Canadian Forces.

As a solo performer he has hosted the East Coast Music Awards, The Gemini Awards, Juno Awards, the history series It Seems Like Yesterday, the annual Canada Day show from Parliament Hill, and in 2008 he hosted the CBC Television special The Next Great Prime Minister for the second time.

Mercer has written for TimeMaclean’sThe Globe and Mail, and the National Post. His first book, Streeters, hit the top of the Globe and Mail’s best-seller list, and his second book, Rick Mercer Report: The Book, published in the fall of 2007, also went to the top of the national best-seller list. Rick latest book is A Nation Worth Ranting About that was published in September 2012 and became another best-seller.

He has appeared in the movies The Vacant LotUnderstanding BlissSecret Nation, and Bon Cop, Bad Cop and is in the upcoming The Young and Prodigious Spivet with Helena Bonham Carter and Judy Davis.  

In 2006 Rick and Belinda Stronach founded the charity Spread the Net, which raises funds to stop the spread of malaria by providing mosquito nets for African children. Each season, the finale of The Rick Mercer Report is the Spread the Net Student Challenge which has raised now over one million dollars. Other charities he has been active with include Hope Air, PFLAG, and Toronto’s Casey House, a hospital for people living with HIV/AIDS.

The Rick Mercer Report is a weekly half-hour topical comedy that debuted on CBC Television in January 2004. The most-watched Canadian television comedy, the show garners well over a million viewers every week. In March 2013, the series won the Canadian Screen Award for 'Best Music, Variety, Sketch comedy or Talk Program’ and Rick received the award for 'Best Performance in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program.’

In 2012 Rick was given ACTRA Toronto’s 2012 Award of Excellence and the King Clancy Award from the Canadian Foundation for Physically Disabled Persons. He also received a Diamond Jubilee Medal in celebration of the Queen’s sixty years on the throne.

In October 2013 he is slated to receive the prestigious Woodrow Wilson Center Award for Public Service.

He is on the board of Historica Canada, an organization dedicated to promoting the study of Canadian history, identity and citizenship.

Rick holds Honorary Doctorates from Memorial University, Laurentian University, University of British Columbia, McMaster University, Bishop’s University, Brock University and in 2012 received an Honorary Doctorate from the University of Guelph.

Rick Mercer is a native of St. John’s, Nfld.

Menu

|
Humoriste de Terre-Neuve

Rick Mercer

Rick Mercer commence sa carrière d'humoriste avec une série de spectacles solos dont le premier – Show Me the Button – est créé au Centre national des Arts en 1990, puis présenté en tournée au Canada. Ce spectacle est suivi de I’ve Killed BeforeI’ll Kill Again (1992) et de Canada: A Good Place to Hide (1995).

En 1993, Rick Mercer lance sa carrière à la télévision en tant que membre de l’équipe de créateurs, d’interprètes et de scénaristes de l’émission hebdomadaire d’actualité This Hour Has 22 Minutes qui connaît un grand succès. En 1998, il s’associe à Gerald Lunz et Michael Donovan pour créer la série d’émissions satiriques Made In Canada dont il est encore une fois la vedette et le coscénariste. En 2001, son émission spéciale Talking To Americans, diffusée sur les ondes de la CBC, est suivie par 2,7 millions de téléspectateurs, devenant ainsi l’émission humoristique spéciale ayant atteint la plus haute cote d’écoute au Canada. Des articles parus dans le New York Times, le Wall Street Journal, Le Monde et le Los Angeles Times se penchent sur l’impact de l’émission Talking to Americans et Mercer est invité à venir en parler à l’émission Nightline de la chaîne ABC et au Today Show, sur NBC.

Lauréat d’une vingtaine de prix Gemini pour ses talents de rédacteur et d’interprète à la télévision, Mercer a obtenu le prix Sir Peter Ustinov au Festival international de télévision de Banff. Il reçoit de nombreuses récompenses, notamment plusieurs Canadian Comedy Awards, en plus d’être nommé journaliste de l’année au Prix du journalisme de l’Atlantique et Artiste de l’année par le Newfoundland and Labrador Arts Council. Il est le seul civil à avoir reçu la Mention élogieuse du commandant de la Force terrestre des Forces canadiennes, en reconnaissance du soutien qu’il a apporté aux soldats canadiens du maintien de la paix. En 2004, il reçoit le prix du Centre national des Arts à la cérémonie de remise des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle.

En 2003, Rick Mercer se rend en Afghanistan pour divertir les troupes et enregistrer Rick Mercer’s Christmas in Kabul, une émission spéciale de Noël pour CBC Television. Il est retourné deux fois en Afghanistan pour rendre visite aux Forces canadiennes.

En tant qu’artiste solo, il a animé divers galas, notamment ceux des Prix de la musique de la Côte est, des prix Gemini, des prix Juno, la série historique « It Seems Like Yesterday », le spectacle annuel de la fête du Canada, sur la colline du Parlement et, en 2008, il présente pour la deuxième fois l’émission spéciale « The Next Great Prime Minister » sur les ondes de CBC Television.

Rick Mercer écrit pour TimeMaclean’s, le Globe and Mail et le National Post. Son premier livre intitulé Streeters se hisse en tête de la liste nationale des succès de librairie du Globe and Mail, tandis que sa deuxième publication – Rick Mercer Report: The Book – parue à l’automne 2007, figure elle aussi au palmarès national des meilleures ventes. Son plus récent ouvrage – A Nation Worth Ranting About – publié en septembre 2012, a connu tout autant de succès.

Au cinéma, Rick Mercer joue dans les films The Vacant Lot, Understanding Bliss, Secret Nation et Bon Cop, Bad Cop, ainsi que dans The Young and Prodigious Spivet, long-métrage qui doit sortir bientôt, dans lequel il partage la vedette avec Helena Bonham Carter et Judy Davis.

En 2006, Rick Mercer et Belinda Stronach fondent l’organisme caritatif Un filet d’espoir, qui recueille des fonds pour la prévention de la malaria grâce à la distribution de moustiquaires aux enfants africains. Chaque saison, la dernière émission du Rick Mercer Report propose le défi étudiant Un filet d’espoir qui a recueilli jusqu’à présent plus d’un million de dollars. Il prête son concours à d’autres organismes caritatifs tels que Hope Air, PFLAG et Casey House, un hôpital de Toronto soignant des personnes atteintes du VIH-sida.

Le Rick Mercer Report est une émission humoristique hebdomadaire d’actualité qui est à l’antenne de la chaîne CBC Television depuis le mois de janvier 2004. Cette émission humoristique – la plus regardée à la télévision canadienne – est suivie chaque semaine par plus d’un million de téléspectateurs. En mars 2013, la série a remporté le Canadian Screen Award dans la catégorie « Best Music, Variety, Sketch comedy or Talk Program », tandis que Rick a été primé dans la catégorie « Best Performance in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program ».

En 2012, Rick reçoit le prix d'excellence de l’ACTRA à Toronto et le King Clancy Award de la Canadian Foundation for Physically Disabled Persons. Il est également décoré de la médaille du jubilé de diamant célébrant les 60 ans de règne de la reine Élizabeth.

En octobre 2013, le Woodrow Wilson Center lui remet le prestigieux Award for Public Service.

Il siège au conseil d’administration d’Historica Canada, un organisme qui se consacre à la promotion de l’étude de l'histoire, de l'identité et de la citoyenneté canadiennes.

Rick Mercer s’est vu remettre des doctorats honorifiques par les universités Memorial, Laurentienne, McMaster et Bishop, l’Université de Colombie Britannique et l’Université de Guelph.

Rick Mercer est originaire de St. John’s, à Terre-Neuve.

Menu