June 30, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Nick Benninger |
Chef

Nick Benninger

Kitchener-Waterloo · ON · Canada

Chef Nick Benninger found his calling at the age of 16 working at a summer camp in northern Ontario. He fell in love with the kitchen and cooking and since then has “rooted” his career in many of the philosophies he learned in that first encounter with food service. After attending George Brown College, Nick completed his apprenticeship working at kitchens throughout Ontario and finally settling back down in his hometown of Kitchener-Waterloo.

In 2008, Nick opened Uptown 21 with his wife Natalie and, in 2013, the couple went on to open Taco Farm. Uptown 21 has been included in Where to Eat Canada every year since it opened, and recently Taco Farm was featured on the television show You Gotta Eat Here!

In 2016, Nick added two landmark restaurants, Marbles Restaurant and Harmony Lunch, to the portfolio of kitchens that he manages in uptown Waterloo. Having grown his brand to four establishments, it only made sense to create an umbrella company and, in 2017, Fat Sparrow Group was born.

In 2018, Fat Sparrow acquired the Stone Crock Group in St. Jacobs, which would increase the portfolio to six restaurants, a catering company, bakery, butcher shop, three market stalls and a wholesale food producer totalling 220 employees.

Nick has twice appeared on the Food Network, was recognized in Waterloo Region Record’s annual 40 under 40, and joined a local filmmaker to create a food show celebrating the 519 food scene called Nick and Taylor Make a Food Show!

An early adopter and leader in the local food movement, Nick is proud to showcase the cornucopia of great ingredients and produce found in the Waterloo Region.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.
Nick Benninger |
Chef

Nick Benninger

Kitchener-Waterloo · ON · Canada

Le chef Nick Benninger a trouvé sa voie à l’âge de 16 ans en travaillant dans un camp d’été du nord de l’Ontario. Il est tombé amoureux de la cuisine, et a ancré sa carrière dans plusieurs des philosophies qu’il a apprises lors de cette première rencontre avec le monde alimentaire. Après avoir étudié au Collège George Brown, Nick a terminé son apprentissage dans des cuisines à travers l’Ontario avant de revenir s’établir dans sa ville natale de Kitchener-Waterloo.

En 2008, Nick et son épouse Natalie ont lancé Uptown 21, suivi de Taco Farm en 2013. Uptown 21 figure chaque année dans Where to Eat Canada depuis son ouverture, et Taco Farm a récemment été présenté à l’émission télévisée You Gotta Eat Here!

En 2016, Nick a ajouté deux restaurants phares, Marbles Restaurant et Harmony Lunch, au portfolio de cuisines qu’il gère à Waterloo. Comme il comptait maintenant quatre établissements, il eut l’idée de créer une entreprise parapluie pour les regrouper, et c’est ainsi que Fat Sparrow Group a vu le jour en 2017.

En 2018, Fat Sparrow a fait l’acquisition de Stone Crock Group à St Jacobs, ce qui a porté le portfolio à six restaurants, un service de traiteur, une pâtisserie, une boucherie, 3 kiosques de marché et un grossiste, pour un total de 220 employés.

Nick a été présenté à deux reprises sur la chaîne Food Network, a été reconnu comme l’une des 40 personnes les plus importantes sous l’âge de 40 ans par le Waterloo Region Record, et s’est associé à un cinéaste local pour créer une émission de cuisson mettant en vedette la nourriture du 519, intitulée Nick and Taylor Make a Food Show!

Un grand adepte et chef de file du mouvement alimentaire local, Nick est fier de mettre en valeur l’abondance d’ingrédients et de produits qui se trouvent dans la région de Waterloo.

Menu