|
Chef

Joseph Shawana

Acclaimed Chef Joseph Shawana is Odawa, part of the Three Fires Confederacy. Born and raised in Wikwemikong Unceded Indian Reserve located on Manitoulin Island in Ontario, Joseph was brought up knowing that food is life. Starting in the kitchen at the early age of 13, he learned from his mother, who had learned from hers, and quickly fell in love with authentic indigenous cuisine and the way it brings people together.

His classical French training and Aboriginal background combine to create authentic, Native American cuisine executed with world-class culinary technique; full of flavour and never compromising quality over quantity.

Currently, a professor and the Indigenous culinary advisor at Ontario’s Centennial College, Joseph is committed to furthering culinary education in all communities and providing hands-on experience to Indigenous youth by inviting them to work alongside chefs and learn valuable industry applications for sustained development.

As the force behind the high-end Indigenous restaurant, Kūkŭm Kitchen, which won the ‘Best World Cuisine” award in 2019, he was acclaimed for his unique experiments with traditional Indigenous ingredients, many of them wild, including fir tips, sweet-grass and seal.

Chef Shawana is currently the chair of ICAN, the Indigenous Culinary of Associated Nations. Under his leadership and guidance, ICAN is dedicated to breaking barriers and sharing Indigenous food, culinary and cultural experiences from across Canada with the world.

He was named on the list of Top Ten Chefs of Ontario and has received rave reviews in the New York Times, Toronto Star, the Globe and Mail, and Food & Wine, to name a few. He is also in great company on Air Canada’s top 20 restaurants in Canada for 2019 and is a sought-after voice on the emergence of Indigenous culinary around the globe.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 2 septembre 2021.
 |
Chef

Joseph Shawana

Le réputé chef Joseph Shawana est membre de la Nation Odawa, qui participe à la Confédération des Trois Feux. Ayant grandi sur le territoire non cédé de la réserve indienne de Wikwemikong, sur l’île Manitoulin (Ontario), il a appris que la nourriture, c’est la vie. Il a fait ses débuts en cuisine à 13 ans, guidé par sa mère comme celle-ci l’avait été par la sienne, et est rapidement tombé amoureux de la cuisine autochtone authentique et de sa capacité à réunir les gens.

Shawana combine formation classique française et expérience autochtone pour concocter des plats autochtones authentiques des plus savoureux selon une technique culinaire de calibre mondial donnant la primauté à la qualité.

Actuellement enseignant et conseiller en cuisine autochtone au collège Centennial de Toronto, Shawana a à cœur de promouvoir l’éducation culinaire dans toutes les communautés et à offrir une expérience pratique aux jeunes autochtones en leur donnant l’occasion de collaborer avec des chefs et d’apprendre comment cette industrie peut être durable.

Force motrice de Kūkŭm Kitchen, restaurant de gastronomie autochtone qui a remporté le prix du Meilleur restaurant de cuisine du monde en 2019, Joseph Shawana est reconnu pour ses expérimentations originales avec des ingrédients traditionnels autochtones dans leur état sauvage, telles pousses de sapin, avoine odorante et loup marin.

Shawana dirige actuellement l’Association culinaire autochtone du Canada (ACAC), qui a pour mission de promouvoir à l’échelle internationale les ingrédients, la cuisine et les expériences culturelles autochtones des quatre coins du Canada.

Ayant figuré au palmarès des Meilleurs chefs en Ontario, Shawana a obtenu des critiques élogieuses dans le New York Times, le Toronto Star, le Globe and Mail et Food & Wine, entre autres. Air Canada a également inscrit son restaurant au palmarès des 20 meilleurs restaurants en 2019. Joseph Shawana est une voix recherchée à l’échelle planétaire en ce qui concerne l’émergence de la cuisine autochtone.

 
Menu