September 21, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 |
Principal Guest Conductor

John Storgårds

Principal Guest Conductor of the National Arts Centre Orchestra in Ottawa and Chief Guest Conductor of the BBC Philharmonic Orchestra, John Storgårds has a dual career as a conductor and violin virtuoso and is widely recognized for his creative flair for programming.  As Artistic Director of the Lapland Chamber Orchestra, a title he has held for over 25 years, Storgårds earned global critical acclaim for the ensemble’s adventurous performances and award winning recordings. 

Internationally, Mr. Storgårds appears with such orchestras as the Leipzig Gewandhaus, Munich Philharmonic, Dresden Staatskapelle, WDR Symphony Orchestra in Cologne, Orchestre Philharmonique de Radio France, Vienna Radio Symphony and the London Philharmonic, as well as all of the major Scandinavian orchestras, including the Helsinki Philharmonic where he was Chief Conductor from 2008 to 2015.   In North America, he is a regular guest with the Boston and Chicago symphony orchestras, the orchestras of Toronto, Montreal, St. Louis, Cincinnati, Detroit, Dallas and the National Symphony in Washington DC, as well as with the Cleveland Orchestra and the New York Philharmonic. 

Mr. Storgårds’ award winning discography includes not only recordings of works by Schumann, Mozart, Beethoven and Haydn, but also rarities by Holmboe and Vask, which feature him as violin soloist. Cycles of the complete symphonies of Sibelius (2014) and Nielsen (2015) with the BBC Philharmonic were released to critical acclaim by Chandos. His most recent recordings are a highly acclaimed recording on BIS of Mahler’s Symphony No. 10 with the Lapland Chamber Orchestra, completed and arranged for chamber orchestra by Michelle Castelletti, and Shostakovich’s monumental Symphony No. 11 “The Year 1905” with the BBC Philharmonic as part of an ongoing Shostakovich symphony cycle being recorded for Chandos. Additional recordings include discs of works by Nørgård, Korngold, Aho and Rautavaara, the latter receiving a Grammy nomination and a Gramophone Award in 2012.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
 |
Premier chef invité

John Storgårds

Premier chef invité de l’Orchestre philharmonique de la BBC et de l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts, John Storgårds mène de front une carrière de chef d’orchestre et de violoniste virtuose, et est renommé pour ses programmes innovants. Il assure également depuis 25 ans la direction artistique de l’Orchestre de chambre de Laponie (OCL), renommé partout dans le monde pour ses prestations audacieuses et ses enregistrements primés.

Sur la scène internationale, Storgårds se produit régulièrement avec l’Orchestre du Gewanhaus de Leipzig, les orchestres philharmoniques de Munich et de Radio France, la Staatskapelle de Dresde, l’Orchestre symphonique de la WDR de Cologne, le London Philharmonic, l’Orchestre symphonique de la radio de Vienne de même que les principaux orchestres scandinaves, y compris l’Orchestre philharmonique d’Helsinki, dont il a été chef attitré de 2008 à 2015. En Amérique du Nord, il est fréquemment invité des orchestres symphoniques de Boston et Chicago, des orchestres de Toronto, Montréal, Saint-Louis, Cincinnati, Detroit et Dallas, du National Symphony de Washington DC ainsi que de l’Orchestre de Cleveland et du New York Philharmonic.

La discographie primée du maestro comporte des enregistrements d’œuvres de Schumann, Mozart, Beethoven et Haydn, mais aussi des raretés de Holmboe et Vask, où on peut l’entendre comme soliste au violon. Avec le BBC Philharmonic, il a gravé sous étiquette Chandos l’intégrale des symphonies de Nielsen (2015) et de Sibelius (2014). Parmi ses enregistrements les plus récents, on trouve celui, encensé par la critique, de la Dixième symphonie de Mahler avec l’Orchestre de chambre de Laponie, paru chez BIS, une symphonie achevée et arrangée pour cet ensemble par Michelle Castelletti. Il y a également l’enregistrement de la Symphonie no 11, « L’année 1905 », de Shostakovich avec l’Orchestre philharmonique de la BBC, qui fait partie d’une collection de symphonies du compositeur enregistrées chez Chandos. Parmi d’autres enregistrements, signalons divers albums d’œuvres de Nørgård, George Antheil, Korngold, Aho et Rautavaara (cité pour un GRAMMY et lauréat du prix Gramophone en 2012).

Menu