Edvard Skerjanc

Edvard Skerjanc was born in 1962. He comes from the small but beautiful village of Hrusevje (pronounced: khroo-shev-yeah) in western Slovenia, about 40 km east of the Italian city of Trieste. He started violin studies at age six, in Zagreb, Croatia, with Renata Senecic - a person he would forever regard as the single most important influence in his musical education. He completed his violin studies at the Zagreb Academy with professor Martin Baric and later in Russia with Isaac Reider.

In 1982, Mr. Skerjanc came to the United States to study with Leopold La Fosse. That summer he also met Ilona, his future wife and a native of Ottawa, while participating in the summer music academy in Nice, France (class of Aaron Rosand). He eventually settled in Canada and became a Canadian citizen. Edvard and Ilona are the proud parents of Alex, born in 1999.

After playing in the "I Musici de Montreal" for several seasons, he joined the ranks of the National Arts Centre Orchestra in 1990. In the summer of 2001, Mr. Skerjanc recorded a CD of early 20th century Canadian chamber music for violin, cello and piano, with former NAC cellist Rosalind Sartori and pianist and musicologist Dr. Elaine Keillor.

Edvard Skerjanc is also an artist. He has been drawing for as long as he can remember and throughout his youth has been able to study drawing and painting at a number of private and state-sponsored academies. Most recently, he has studied figure-painting with Charles Reid in New York and portraiture with Ottawa's own Robert Hyndman.

Mr. Skerjanc has had exhibits of his art in 2005 at the National Arts Centre and in 1998 and in 2002 at the Carmel Gallery in Ottawa, and with the Canadian Society for Painters in Watercolor in Toronto in 1997. He won a first prize in the category of miniatures at the Gibson Gallery, London, Ontario, in 1999.

|
violon

Edvard Skerjanc

Edvard Skerjanc est né en 1962. Il vient du petit mais magnifique village de Hrusevje (prononcer khrouchef-yé) en Slovénie occidentale, à une quarantaine de kilomètres à l'est de la ville italienne de Trieste. À l'âge de 6 ans, il a commencé à étudier le violon à Zagreb, en Croatie, avec Renata Senecic - une personne dont il sera toujours convaincu qu'elle a exercé la plus importante influence sur son éducation musicale. Il a terminé ses études de violon à l'Académie de Zagreb où il a eu comme professeur Martin Baric et plus tard en Russie auprès d'Isaac Reider.

En 1982, M. Skerjanc est venu aux États-Unis pour étudier avec Leopold La Fosse. Cet été-là, il a également rencontré Ilona, musicienne d'Ottawa qui allait devenir sa femme, alors qu'il participait à l'Académie de musique d'été à Nice, en France (dans la classe d'Aaron Rosand). Par la suite, il s'est installé au Canada et est devenu citoyen canadien. Edvard et Ilona sont les heureux parents d'Alex, né en 1999.

Après avoir joué au sein de l'ensemble « I Musici de Montréal » pendant plusieurs saisons, il est devenu membre de l'Orchestre du Centre national des Arts en 1990. En été 2001, M. Skerjanc a enregistré un CD de musique de chambre canadienne du début du XXe siècle pour violon, violoncelle et piano, en compagnie de l'ancienne violoncelliste du CNA Rosalind Sartori et de la pianiste et musicologue Elaine Keillor.

Edvard Skerjanc est aussi un artiste graphique. Il dessine depuis aussi longtemps qu'il se souvienne et, tout au long de sa jeunesse, il a étudié le dessin et la peinture dans diverses écoles privées et académies d'État. Récemment, il a étudié la peinture de personnages avec Charles Reid à New York et le portrait avec Robert Hyndman à Ottawa.

Edvard Skerjanc a présenté des expositions de ses oeuvres en 2005 au Centre national des Arts, et en 1998 et en 2002 à la Galerie Carmel à Ottawa, et il a exposé à la Société canadienne de peintres en aquarelle à Toronto, en 1997. Il a remporté le premier prix dans la catégorie des miniatures à la Gibson Gallery de London (Ontario), en 1999.

Menu