|
principal bassoon

Christopher Millard

Christopher Millard, one of Canada’s best known woodwind artists, joined the National Arts Centre Orchestra as principal bassoon in 2004 after serving with the Vancouver Symphony and the CBC Radio Orchestra for 28 years.  He is also the principal bassoon for the Grand Teton Music Festival and has made five concert tours with Valery Gergiev and the World Orchestra for Peace.

A distinguished teacher, Mr. Millard served on the faculty of Northwestern University until 2014, and continues to give masterclasses at many of the foremost music schools: Curtis Institute, New World Symphony, Manhattan School, Rice University, Indiana University, the National Orchestral Institute as well as in Canada at Domaine Forget.  For 20 years, Mr. Millard was the bassoon professor for the National Youth Orchestra where he helped nurture a new generation of Canadian wind players.   His students now occupy numerous positions in American and Canadian orchestras. A student of Roland Small and the legendary Sol Schoenbach at the Curtis Institute in Philadelphia, Mr. Millard also studied with the great French flutist Marcel Moyse.

A regular guest artist and teacher at the Scotia, Banff, Orford and Ottawa Chamber Music Festivals, Mr. Millard has also appeared in concert and recordings with the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, the Marlboro Festival, Chamber Music Northwest, the Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival, the International Double Reed Society and as a soloist with numerous orchestras. He regularly performs at home and on tour with the National Arts Centre Wind Quintet, a highly acclaimed ensemble that has made a debut recording on the Naxos label.

Mr. Millard has received wide praise for his numerous recordings BIS, Naxos, Arabesque, CBC Records and Summit, including a disc in the prestigious “OrchestraPro” series. His recording of the Hétu Bassoon Concerto won a 2004 Juno Award.  He is a recognized authority on the acoustics of reedmaking and a skilled woodwind technician.

Menu

|
basson solo

Christopher Millard

Christopher Millard, qui compte parmi les instrumentistes à vent les plus connus au Canada, s’est joint à l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts en 2004 à titre de basson solo, après avoir passé 28 ans au sein de l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver et de l’Orchestre de CBC Radio. Il est aussi basson solo du Grand Teton Music Festival et a fait cinq tournées avec le chef Valery Gergiev et l’Orchestre mondial pour la paix.

Éminent pédagogue, M. Millard a été professeur à l’Université Northwestern (Illinois) jusqu’en 2014. Il continue de donner des classes de maître dans bon nombre des écoles de musique les plus prestigieuses, dont le Curtis Institute of Music, la Manhattan School, l’Université Rice, l’Université de l’Indiana, le National Orchestral Institute, le New World Symphony et, au Canada, le Domaine Forget. Pendant 20 ans, il a donné des cours de basson aux participants à l’Orchestre national des jeunes du Canada, contribuant à former une nouvelle génération d’instrumentistes à vent canadiens. On retrouve aujourd’hui quantité de ses anciens élèves en poste dans des orchestres canadiens et américains.  Il a étudié avec Roland Small et le légendaire Sol Schoenbach au Curtis Institute of Music, ainsi qu’avec le grand flûtiste français Marcel Moyse.

M. Millard, qui est régulièrement invité à se produire et à enseigner à différents festivals – Scotia, Banff, Orford et Ottawa ChamberFest –, s’est aussi produit sur scène et sur disque avec la Chamber Music Society du Lincoln Center, au festival de Marlboro, au Chamber Music Northwest, au festival de musique de chambre de Santa Fe et avec l’International Double Reed Society, en plus d’avoir été soliste avec de nombreux orchestres. Il se produit régulièrement, à Ottawa et en tournée, avec le Quintette à vent du Centre national des Arts, ensemble d’excellente réputation qui a gravé un premier album sous l’étiquette Naxos.

Christopher Millard a reçu des critiques très élogieuses pour ses nombreux enregistrements chez BIS, Naxos, Arabesque, Disques SRC et Summit, parmi lesquels figure un album de la prestigieuse série « OrchestraPro ». Son enregistrement du Concerto pour basson de Jacques Hétu a été couronné d’un prix JUNO en 2004. M. Millard est une sommité en acoustique de fabrication d’anches et un technicien expert en instruments à vent.

Menu