Christie Peters | Carey Shaw
Chef

Christie Peters

Christie Peters, chef-owner of Primal in Saskatoon (SK), has a passion for acquiring culinary expertise internationally and bringing it back to the prairies. 

She first left home at 19 to enter the world of international modeling and, while living in Toronto, fell in love with the food scene. Working at Boston Pizza, she observed: “The power of the restaurant comes from the kitchen, so if I wanted to become a restaurateur, I would need to become a chef”.

Since her move to Vancouver, at 21, she has trained under several chefs and worked in the kitchens of De Kas in Amsterdam and Coi in San Francisco. In 2010, she opened her first restaurant, shortly followed by a second. Most recently, she completed a three-month internship at the world-famous Danish restaurant, Noma, under Chef René Redzepi.

As far-reaching as her quest for knowledge might be, her focus in her cuisine is on creating dishes that authentically represent the vast diversity of ingredients the Canadian prairies have to offer. Primal is known for creating dishes from locally grown Saskatchewan grains, using locally pastured meat and taking the idea of farm-to-table one step further by growing the produce they use in their own gardens. Every part of the vegetable is used, the compost goes back into the gardens, the leftover animal fat gets made into soap. The motto of her restaurant is “High Quality, Seasonal, Sustainable,” and these words are carried through every aspect of how the business is run.

Menu

Christie Peters | Carey Shaw
Chef

Christie Peters

Christie Peters, chef propriétaire du restaurant Primal à Saskatoon, en Saskatchewan, a comme passion d’acquérir de l’expertise culinaire à l’échelle internationale et de la ramener dans les Prairies.

Elle a quitté la maison à 19 ans pour devenir mannequin internationale, et c’est en habitant à Toronto qu’elle est tombée amoureuse de la scène culinaire. En travaillant chez Boston Pizza, elle a une révélation : « Le pouvoir du restaurant vient de la cuisine, donc si je veux devenir restauratrice, je dois devenir chef. »

Depuis son arrivée à Vancouver, à l’âge de 21 ans, elle s’est formée auprès de plusieurs chefs et a travaillé dans les cuisines de De Kas à Amsterdam et de Coi à San Francisco. En 2010, elle a ouvert son premier restaurant, suivi de peu par un deuxième. Plus récemment, elle a effectué un stage de trois mois au célèbre restaurant danois Noma, sous la direction du chef René Redzepi.

Aussi ambitieuse que soit sa quête de connaissances, Christie Peters se concentre sur la création de plats authentiques qui représentent la grande diversité d’ingrédients que les Prairies canadiennes ont à offrir. Primal est l’incarnation de l’esprit de la ferme à la table, utilisant des céréales de la Saskatchewan cultivées localement, des viandes provenant de pâturages locaux, et des fruits et légumes poussés sur place. Chaque partie du légume est utilisée, le compost retourne dans les jardins et les restes de graisse animale sont transformés en savon. La devise du restaurant est « qualité, saisonnier, durable », et cette philosophie est reflétée dans chaque aspect de la gestion de l’entreprise.

Menu