January 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Bryan Cheng | Nikolaj Lund

Bryan Cheng

The first cellist to win Grand Prize at the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal Competition (2019), and the first-ever Canadian laureate at the prestigious International Paulo Cello Competition, 22-year-old Bryan Cheng has already secured a distinctive place in the world of classical music. He made his solo debut at the age of 10 with I Musici de Montréal, his Carnegie Hall recital debut at 14, and his Elbphilharmonie debut in 2018 with the Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen.

Highlights of the 2019–20 season include a solo appearance with the Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, a Panama tour with Orchestra of the Americas, recitals as cellist of the Cheng² Duo in Los Angeles, New York, Vancouver, Ottawa and Montreal’s Salle Bourgie, as well as a European tour of his Beethoven 2020 project, Ludwig & Beyond. Festival appearances include Russia’s Trans-Siberian Art Festival, Italy’s Trasimeno Festival and Orford Musique.

Bryan Cheng has released a trilogy of albums on German label audite: Russian Legends (2019), Violonchelo del fuego (2018) and Violoncelle français (2016). He currently studies at the Universität der Künste Berlin with Jens Peter Maintz, and plays the ca. 1696 Bonjour Stradivarius cello generously on loan from the Canada Council for the Arts.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de novembre 2020.
Bryan Cheng | Nikolaj Lund

Bryan Cheng

Premier violoncelliste à remporter le Grand Prix du Concours de l’Orchestre symphonique de Montréal (OSM) en 2019, Bryan Cheng est aussi le tout premier Canadien lauréat du prestigieux Concours international de violoncelle Paulo. Âgé de 22 ans, le musicien s’est déjà taillé une place de choix dans le monde de la musique classique. Il a fait ses débuts de soliste à l’âge de 10 ans avec l’Orchestre de chambre I Musici de Montréal et de récitaliste à Carnegie Hall à 14 ans. Il est apparu pour la première fois avec le Deutsche Kammerphilharmonie Bremen à l’Elbphilharmonie en 2018.

Parmi les faits saillants de sa saison 2019–2020, mentionnons un solo avec l’OSM; une tournée au Panama avec l’Orchestre des Amériques; des récitals avec le duo Cheng² à Los Angeles, New York, Vancouver, Ottawa et Montréal (salle Bourgie); et une tournée européenne de Ludwig & Beyond, son projet consacré à Beethoven. On pourra aussi notamment le voir au festival des arts transsibériens en Russie, au festival Trasimeno en Italie et à Orford Musique.

Formée des albums Russian Legends (2019), Violonchelo del fuego (2018) et Violoncelle français (2016), sa trilogie est parue chez audite, une étiquette allemande. Bryan Cheng étudie actuellement à l’Université des arts de Berlin avec Jens Peter Maintz, et se produit en spectacle avec un Stradivarius Bonjour (v. 1696) généreusement prêté par le Conseil des arts du Canada.

Menu