Anne Plamondon | Michael Slobodian

Anne Plamondon

Anne Plamondon is a choreographer, performer and teacher. Before starting her career as a solo artist, Anne was a key member of the RUBBERBAND company. She joined the company as a performer in 2002, and acted as its codirector from 2006 to 2015. With choreographer Victor Quijada, she participated in creating more than ten works for the stage and three short films. In that context, she was involved in developing and teaching the RUBBERBAND Method. Her stint as a performer with the Kidd Pivot company also had a profound effect on Anne’s career, as she took part in four creations by award-winning choreographer Crystal Pite, including the duet A Picture of You Falling (2016 Olivier Award).

Since 2012, Anne has been working as an independent choreographer, creating the solos Les mêmes que toi (2012) and Mécaniques Nocturnes (2017) with director Marie Brassard. In 2018, she founded Anne Plamondon Productions to carry out her own creative projects and foster new artistic partnerships: at the Fall for Dance North festival, she created the duet Counter Cantor (2018) with Emma Portner, as well as Fiddle Embrace (2018), a work for 18 students from the Ryerson School of Dance. She has also choreographed works for Alberta Ballet and Arts Umbrella Dance in Vancouver, and made the short film Espaces vitaux (semi-finalist at the Paris Play Festival) for the A Shared Solitude project initiated by the Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur.

In 2021, Anne was guest choreographer for the creation of Vanishing Mélodies, a large-scale piece set to the music of Patrick Watson by Ballets Jazz Montréal. Seulement toi (2020), a duet with dancer James Gregg, will premiere in spring 2022 at Usine C.

Anne’s choreographic approach has been forged by the personalities who have left their mark on the international dance scene. She made her debut with Les Grands Ballets Canadiens before joining Nederlands Dans Theater 2 (1995–98) and then Gulbenkian Ballet (1998–2000). During this period, she performed the works of more than 30 renowned choreographers, including Jiří Kylián, Ohad Naharin, Hans Van Manen, Angelin Preljocaj, Gideon Obarzanek, Paul Lightfoot and Sol León. Upon her return to Canada, she worked with James Kudelka for the Coleman Lemieux company, as well as with Marie Chouinard and Marcos Moreau in the production Triptyque by Les 7 doigts de la main, blending dance and circus. In 2016, she participated in the creation of Corps Amour Anarchie, a tribute to poet Léo Ferré by PPS Danse.

Keenly interested in the challenge of transmitting dance to the next generation, Anne teaches at several training institutions—École supérieure de ballet du Québec, École de danse de Québec, École de danse contemporaine de Montréal and Arts Umbrella—and has been the dance curator at Domaine Forget de Charlevoix since 2018.

Menu

Anne Plamondon | Michael Slobodian

Anne Plamondon

Anne Plamondon est chorégraphe, interprète et pédagogue. Avant de débuter sa carrière de créatrice en solo, Anne a été l’une des figures emblématiques du groupe RUBBERBAND. Elle rejoint la compagnie d’abord comme interprète en 2002 et assume le rôle de codirectrice de 2006 à 2015. Auprès du chorégraphe Victor Quijada, elle participe à la création de plus de dix oeuvres pour la scène et trois courts métrages. Dans ce cadre, elle s’implique dans le développement et l’enseignement de la Méthode RUBBERBAND. Son passage comme interprète au sein de la compagnie Kidd Pivot marque aussi profondément la carrière d’Anne qui prend part à quatre créations de la chorégraphe primée Crystal Pite dont le duo A Picture of you falling (Olivier Award 2016).

Dès 2012, Anne oeuvre en tant que chorégraphe indépendante et signe les solos Les mêmes que toi (2012) et Mécaniques Nocturnes (2017) avec la complicité de la metteure en scène Marie Brassard. En 2018, elle fonde l’organisme Anne Plamondon Productions pour mener à bien ses propres projets de création et générer de nouvelles collaborations artistiques : au festival Fall for Dance North, elle crée le duo Counter Cantor (2018) avec Emma Portner, ainsi que Fiddle Embrace (2018), une pièce pour dix-huit étudiants de la Ryerson School of Dance. Elle signe également des oeuvres pour l'Alberta Ballet et l’école Arts Umbrella Dance à Vancouver, et crée le court-métrage Espaces vitaux (demi-finaliste au Paris Play Festival) issu du projet Une solitude partagée initié par le Festival des Arts de Saint-Sauveur.

Cette année, Anne est chorégraphe invitée à la création de Vanishing Mélodies, pièce de grande envergure sur la musique de Patrick Watson portée par les Ballets Jazz de Montréal. La première de Seulement toi (2020), duo composé avec l’interprète James Gregg prendra l’affiche au printemps 2022 à l’Usine C.

L’approche chorégraphique d’Anne s’est forgée auprès de personnalités ayant marqué internationalement la danse. Elle fait ses premiers pas avec les Grands Ballets Canadiens avant de se joindre au Nederlands Dans Theater 2 (1995-1998), puis au Gulbenkian Ballet (1998-2000). Pendant cette période, elle interprète les oeuvres de plus de trente chorégraphes illustres, dont Jiří Kylián, Ohad Naharin, Hans Van Manen, Angelin Preljocaj, Gideon Obarzanek, Paul Lightfoot et Sol León. À son retour au Canada, elle travaille avec James Kudelka pour la compagnie Coleman Lemieux, ainsi qu’avec Marie Chouinard et Marcos Moreau dans le cadre de la production Triptyque des 7 doigts de la main mêlant danse et cirque. En 2016, elle prend part à la création de Corps Amour Anarchie de PPS Danse célébrant le poète Léo Ferré.

Ayant à coeur les enjeux de transmission à la relève, Anne s’implique comme pédagogue dans plusieurs institutions de formation – l’EBSQ, l’EDQ, l’EDCM et Arts Umbrella – et agit comme commissaire déléguée à la danse au Domaine Forget de Charlevoix depuis 2018.

Menu