|
Canadian Composer

Alexina Louie

Born in Vancouver, July 30, 1949

Now living in Toronto

The music of Alexina Louie bears a personal stamp derived from a unique blend of her Chinese background, an exotic instrumental palette, both traditional and non-traditional elements of western music, poetic images, nature, historical studies and a fascination with heavenly phenomena.

Born in Vancouver to Chinese parents, Louie undertook musical studies at the University of British Columbia and the University of California at San Diego, where she received her Masters of Arts in Composition in 1974. For the remainder of the decade she resided in southern California, teaching theory, piano and electronic composition, then returned to Canada to establish residence in Toronto, where she has lived since 1980.

In September of 2005, Dr. Louie was made an Officer of the Order of Canada, and in the fall of 2006, she was inducted into The Royal Society of Canada. In March 2002, she was named one  of three recipients of the National Arts Centre Composer Award ($75,000 each; Gary Kulesha and Denys Bouliane were the others).

Between 2002 and 2005 Dr. Louie wrote three compositions for the NAC Orchestra and worked closely with the ensemble on a number of educational and outreach programs. The first of these three works was her String Quartet No. 2; the second was her orchestration of Bringing The Tiger Down From The Mountain II, originally written for cello and piano as a test piece for the 1991 Canadian Music Competition.

The composer writes: “In the summer of 2003, the NAC Orchestra’s principal cellist, Amanda Forsyth, performed the work brilliantly at the prestigious Santa Fe Chamber Music Festival. It was this performance, and its effect on the wildly enthusiastic audience, that prompted Ms. Forsyth and Music Director Pinchas Zukerman to request this special orchestration of the composition. The title is derived from a Tai-chi (Chinese martial art) position… A special aspect of the piece is its senza misura (without bar-lines) sections, which allow the cellist to control the shape of the musical phrases by stretching them out or compressing them according to the performer’s individual interpretation.”

Performance history of Bringing The Tiger Down From The Mountain II

In 2004, Alexina Louie orchestrated Bringing The Tiger Down From The Mountain for the NAC Orchestra (hence the II addition), who gave the first performance under the direction of Pinchas Zukerman, with Amanda Forsyth as soloist. The Orchestra played this work during their 2004 Western Tour, as well as in a concert in 2009 celebrating the 40th anniversary of the NAC (with commissioned choreography and a separate concert celebrating the 50th anniversary of the Canadian Music Centre, always with Maestro Zukerman on the podium and Ms. Forsyth on the cello.

Menu

|
Compositrice canadienne

Alexina Louie

Née à Vancouver, 30 juillet 1949

Vit actuellement à Toronto

La musique d’Alexina Louie porte une empreinte toute personnelle, mélange singulier de sa culture chinoise, d’une palette instrumentale exotique, d’éléments de musique occidentale traditionnelle et non traditionnelle, d’images poétiques, d’impressions de la nature, d’études historiques et d’une fascination pour les phénomènes célestes.

Née à Vancouver de parents chinois, elle a reçu sa formation en musique à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique et à l’Université de la Californie à San Diego, où elle a obtenu une maîtrise en composition en 1974. Prolongeant son séjour en Californie jusqu’à la fin des années 1970, elle y a enseigné la théorie, le piano et la composition électroacoustique avant de revenir au Canada et de s’établir à Toronto, où elle vit depuis 1980.

En septembre 2005, elle a reçu le titre d’Officier de l’Ordre du Canada et a été admise, l’automne suivant, dans les rangs de la Société royale du Canada. En 2002, Mme Louie figurait parmi les trois compositeurs lauréats – avec Gary Kulesha et Denys Bouliane – couronnés d’un prix de 75 000 $ chacun par le Centre national des Arts.

De 2002 à 2005, elle a écrit trois oeuvres pour l’Orchestre du CNA et collaboré étroitement avec l’ensemble dans le cadre de plusieurs programmes d’éducation et de rayonnement. Elle a d’abord composé le Quatuor à cordes no 2 , suivi d’une orchestration de Bringing The Tiger Down From The Mountain II (2004), oeuvre écrite à l’origine pour violoncelle et piano comme morceau de concours pour l’édition 1991 du Concours de musique du Canada.

Voici ce qu’en dit la compositrice : « Au cours de l’été 2003, la violoncelle solo de l’Orchestre du CNA, Amanda Forsyth, a magnifiquement exécuté cette pièce au prestigieux Festival de musique de chambre Santa Fe. C’est cette interprétation et l’enthousiasme débordant de l’auditoire qui ont incité Mme Forsyth et le directeur musical Pinchas Zukerman à placer commande d’une orchestration spéciale de la pièce, dont le titre dérive d’un mouvement de tai-chi (art martial chinois)… La pièce a une caractéristique particulière, en ce qu’elle contient des sections senza misura (sans barres de mesure), ce qui permet au violoncelliste de décider de la forme des phrases musicales en les étirant ou en les comprimant à sa guise. »

Bringing The Tiger Down From The Mountain II

En 2004, Alexina Louie a orchestré Bringing The Tiger Down From The Mountain pour l’Orchestre du CNA (d’où l’ajout du II), qui en a donné la première interprétation sous la direction de Pinchas Zukerman, avec Amanda Forsyth comme soliste. L’ensemble a joué l’oeuvre dans le cadre de sa Tournée dans l’Ouest canadien en 2004, pour souligner le 40e anniversaire du CNA (avec une chorégraphie créée pour l’occasion) en 2009 et, cette même année, lors des célébrations du 50e anniversaire du Centre de musique canadienne, toujours avec maestro Zukerman au podium et Mme Forsyth au violoncelle.

Menu