Adrian Anantawan | PopTech
Violinist

Adrian Anantawan

Canada

Adrian Anantawan performs, speaks, and teaches around the world as an advocate for disability and the arts. He holds degrees from the Curtis Institute of Music, Yale University, and Harvard Graduate School of Education. As a violinist, he has studied with Itzhak Perlman and Pinchas Zukerman, and Anne-Sophie Mutter; his academic work in education was supervised by Howard Gardner. Adrian has performed extensively in Canada as a soloist with the symphony orchestras of Toronto, Nova Scotia, Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Montreal, Edmonton, and Vancouver, and presented feature recitals at the Aspen Music Festival and Weill Recital Hall at Carnegie Hall. He has also represented Canada as a cultural ambassador in the 2006 Athens Olympics and was a featured performer at the Vancouver 2010 Winter Olympics Opening Ceremonies. 

Adrian helped to create the Virtual Chamber Music Initiative at the Holland Bloorview Kids Rehab Centre. The cross-collaborative project brings researchers, musicians, doctors and educators together to develop adaptive musical instruments capable of being played by a young person with disabilities within a chamber music setting. He is also the founder of the Music Inclusion Program, aimed at having children with disabilities learn instrumental music with their typical peers. 

From 2012–2016, he was the co-Director of Music at the Conservatory Lab Charter School, serving students from the Boston area, kindergarten through grade eight—his work was recognized by Mayor Marty Walsh as a ONEin3 Impact Award in 2015. Adrian is also a JUNO Award nominee, a member of the Terry Fox Hall of Fame, and was awarded a Diamond Jubilee Medal from Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II for his contributions to the Commonwealth. He is the current Chair of Music at Milton Academy and on faculty at Boston University Tanglewood Institute during the summer. 

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
Adrian Anantawan | PopTech
Violoniste

Adrian Anantawan

Canada

Adrian Anantawan parcourt le monde entier pour donner des spectacles ou des conférences et enseigner en tant que défenseur des handicaps dans les arts. Il est diplômé de l’Institut de musique Curtis, de l’Université Yale et de la faculté d’études supérieures en éducation de Harvard. En tant que violoniste, il s’est formé auprès de Itzhak Perlman, Pinchas Zukerman et Anne-Sophie Mutter. C’est Howard Gardner qui a encadré son travail de recherche universitaire en éducation. Adrian Anantawan a également été très présent sur la scène canadienne en tant que soliste pour les orchestres symphoniques de Toronto, de Nouvelle-Écosse, de Winnipeg, de Saskatoon, de Montréal, d’Edmonton et de Vancouver. Il a également donné des récitals durant le Festival de musique d’Aspen et joué au Weill Recital Hall et au Carnegie Hall. De plus, il a représenté le Canada en tant qu’ambassadeur culturel lors des Jeux olympiques d’Athènes en 2006 et a été un artiste phare lors des cérémonies d’ouverture des Jeux olympiques d’hiver à Vancouver en 2012.

Adrian Anantawan a participé à la création de l’initiative virtuelle de musique de chambre à l’Hôpital de réadaptation pour enfants Holland Bloorview, un centre de réadaptation pour enfants. Ce projet collaboratif rassemble des chercheurs, des musiciens, des médecins et des enseignants autour de la création d’instruments de musique adaptés qui peuvent être utilisés par des jeunes en situation de handicap dans un environnement de musique de chambre. De plus, il est le fondateur du Music Inclusion Program, qui aide les enfants en situation de handicap à apprendre un instrument de musique en compagnie de leurs pairs.

De 2012 à 2016, il était codirecteur musical au Conservatory Lab Charter School, s’occupant d’élèves de la maternelle à la 8e année dans les environs de Boston. Son travail a été salué du prix Impact ONEin3, remis par le maire Marty Walsh, en 2015. Adrian Anantawan a également été en lice pour un prix Juno, intronisé au Temple de la renommée Terry-Fox et décoré d’une Médaille du jubilé de diamant de Sa Majesté la reine Elizabeth II pour sa contribution au Commonwealth. Par ailleurs, il est l’actuel titulaire de la Chaire de musique à l’Académie Milton et est membre du corps professoral du Boston University Tanglewood Institute pendant l’été.

Menu