Artist Development

For those of you aspiring to become professional artists, here’s your chance to work with artists, in specialized programs where you can gain first-hand training, mentorship and career guidance in the performing arts.

In the Spotlight

NAC Orchestra Mentorship Program

Play it forward! A bold and innovative new professional development initiative for talented pre-professional and early career professional orchestral musicians from around the world. Apply by February 7.

Current Programs

  • NAC Orchestra Mentorship Program

    for pre-professional and early-career artists

      Ages 18+

    Hone your orchestral skills under the mentorship of the musicians of one of North America’s leading orchestras. This unique side-by-side program offers exceptional learning opportunities, including rehearsals and … read more

  • NAC Orchestra Bursary Competition

      Secondary, Post-secondary Ages 16+

    The prime objective of the competition is to encourage the pursuit of excellence on the part of young instrumentalists aspiring to orchestral careers. Each year, a jury identifies deserving recipients through audition … read more

  • Honouring First Nations in the Music Classroom

    Digital Workshop for Teachers with Sherryl...

      Post-secondary, Professional Ages 18+

    Appropriation, Resources, and Approaching Community Join the cross-cultural teaching artist duo Samantha Whelan Kotkas and Sherryl Sewepagaham (Cree-Dene) as they guide through an introduction to honouring First Nations … read more

  • View all programs
  • spotlight

    Jorie Butler-Geyer, IOS Apprentice

    “I knew that playing with the NACO would be an amazing opportunity to live out my dream of playing in a world-class ensemble. I also realized that this program would give me the real-life orchestral experience I desperately desired.”

  • June 10, 11 and 12

    The Green Rooms: The Earth is Watching… Let’s Act

    Join us for spirited conversations with leaders in fields such as climate activism, ecological economy and environmental humanities, as well as with theatre artists and leaders who have found innovative ways to engage with the climate crisis.

  • Podcast

    Stage Advice

    Join NAC English Theatre Artistic Director Jillian Keiley as she chats with artistic leaders from across the theatrical spectrum, about the daily dilemmas, tough questions and thorny challenges that come with the job.

Learning and engagement at Canada’s National Arts Centre is made possible through the support of many generous individuals and organizations from across the country. The Music Alive Program is made possible thanks to the leadership support of National Partner, The Azrieli Foundation, and Major Supporters, The Slaight Family Foundation and TD Bank Group. Thank you also to Grant and Alice Burton, Canada Life, A Donor-Advised Fund at the Community Foundation of Ottawa, Friends of the NAC Orchestra, Donors to the NAC Foundation's Future Fund, The Janice and Earle O’Born Fund for Artistic Excellence, and the donors and sponsors of the NAC’s National Youth and Education Trust, the primary resource for youth and education funding at the National Arts Centre.

Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa

Développement artistique

Avis aux artistes professionnels en herbe : voici votre chance de travailler avec des artistes dans le cadre de programmes d’apprentissage, où vous recevrez de la formation, de l’encadrement et des conseils pour une carrière réussie dans le milieu des arts de la scène. 

Pleins feux sur...

Jorie Butler-Geyer, apprentie de l’IMO

« Je savais que me produire avec l’Orchestre du CNA serait une extraordinaire occasion de réaliser mon rêve de collaborer avec un ensemble de réputation internationale. J’ai aussi réalisé que ce programme me fournirait l’expérience orchestrale pratique que je souhaitais ardemment. »

Programmes actuels

  • Programme de mentorat de l’Orchestre du CNA

    pour les futurs professionnels et les...

      18+ ans

    Aiguisez vos compétences orchestrales sous le mentorat des musiciens de l’un des plus grands orchestres en Amérique du Nord. Ce programme de jumelage unique est une occasion d’apprentissage … plus

  • Concours de la Bourse de l’Orchestre du CNA

      Secondaire, Cégep/Université 16+ ans

    Ce concours a pour but premier d’encourager l’excellence chez les jeunes instrumentistes qui aspirent à faire une carrière de musicien d’orchestre. Chaque année, un jury choisit les … plus

  • Honorer les Premières Nations dans les cours de musique

    un atelier numérique pour les enseignants,...

      Post-secondaire, professionnel 18+ ans

    Offert en anglais seulement Appropriation, ressources et communauté Joignez-vous à Samantha Whelan Kotkas et à Sherryl Sewepagaham (Crie-Dénée) pour apprendre comment honorer les … plus

  • Voir tous les programmes
  • juin 2020

    Les Green Rooms: La Terre nous observe… Agissons maintenant

    Soyez des nôtres pour des conversations animées avec des chefs de file en action climatique, en économie écologique et en humanités environnementales, ainsi que des artistes et chefs de file de théâtre qui ont trouvé des moyens innovateurs de s’attaquer à la crise climatique.

  • Balados

    Stage Advice

    La directrice artistique du Théâtre anglais du CNA, Jillian Keiley, discute avec d’autres dirigeants artistiques du milieu théâtral des dilemmes quotidiens, des questions difficiles et des défis épineux qui viennent avec le poste.

  • Transmission des savoirs

    Balados de Danse CNA

    Les balados offrent de fascinants entretiens entre Cathy Levy, productrice de Danse CNA, et quelques-uns des plus brillants artistes du monde de la danse.

La Médiation culturelle est rendue possible grâce aux généreuses contributions de particuliers et d’organisations de partout au pays. Le programme Vive la musique est rendu possible grâce au soutien de la Fondation Azrieli, partenaire national, ainsi que de la Fondation de la famille Slaight et du Groupe Banque TD, souscripteurs majeurs. Merci également à Grant et Alice Burton, à Canada Vie, à un fonds orienté par le donateur à la Fondation communautaire d’Ottawa, aux Amis de l’Orchestre du CNA, aux donatrices et donateurs du Fonds de l’Avenir de la Fondation du CNA, au Fonds Janice et Earle O’Born pour l’excellence artistique, ainsi qu’aux donatrices, donateurs et commanditaires de la Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation du CNA, principale source de financement des programmes jeunesse et activités éducatives du Centre national des Arts.

Menu