Métis Women’s Roles in the Resistances

by Joanna Seraphim

When people talk about the Métis resistances, the debate tends to focus on battles or on the accomplishments of the provisional government. The part played by Métis women, on the other hand, is rarely mentioned. Nonetheless, Métis women were affected by these conflicts, and played an active supporting role in these events.

Where were the women during the Red River Rebellion?

The Red River Rebellion began in 1869. During this uprising, women encouraged their husbands and sons to defend their land and their rights. However, while the men were on the battlefield, Métis women remained alone at home, sick with worry. They were in charge not only of taking care of the household and providing for their children, but of supplying the rebel camp. Firewood and food were supplied first to the men who were fighting. As well, the women sewed them moccasins.

On April 25, 1870, the Red River Colony joined Canadian Confederation as the province of Manitoba. The federal government sent troops to ensure that the Métis complied with federal authority. Many of these soldiers exacted revenge for the recent events by persecuting the Métis. Some soldiers entered houses while the husbands were away and threatened the wives to force them to reveal their husband’s actions. Thus, men broke into Louis Riel’s mother’s house, insulting her and her children while holding them at gunpoint.

What role did women play in the North-West Resistance?

In the face of increasing discrimination, many Métis left Manitoba and settled farther west or in the northern United States. However, the territorial conflicts between the Métis and the federal government resumed. The North-West Resistance escalated on March 19, 1885, at Batoche, with the creation of the provisional government of Saskatchewan, headed by Louis Riel. An army was mustered, led by Gabriel Dumont. A few Métis women expressed their opinion of the resistance to the men. Mrs. Josephte Lépine (née Lavallée) declared to her husband and the other leaders, “You undertake some things that are too big and that you do not understand.”[1] Nevertheless, when the resistance started, women supported their husbands and sons. Mrs. Marie-Anne (Caron) Parenteau declared, “If the police come, I will kill them myself. I will treat them as we do the prairie buffalo.”[2]

The women lived in a camp with the elderly and the children. Within the camp, families shared food with their neighbours and took care of the elderly and the children. Gabriel Dumont’s wife, Madeleine (Wilkie) Dumont, and the elder Marie (Hallet) Letendre also cooked for the provisional government and looked after the sick and wounded. When Michel Desjarlais was wounded, Mary Letendre and Madeleine Dumont were the ones who cared for him. Unfortunately, they discovered that part of his skull was missing, and he soon died of the injury. During the armed conflict, Madeleine also helped the wounded to run away from the battlefield.

The women supplied the men not only with food, but also with bullets. They melted down the metal lining of tea tins and tea kettles and the lead wrapped around Hudson’s Bay Company goods, and poured it into molds. If the bullets were too big, they scraped them down with knives. Besides making bullets, Métis women collected used bullets and re-used them.

During the battle of Batoche, soldiers plundered and demolished the Métis’ houses. Some of them went so far as to steal Mrs. Blanche (Ross) Henry’s wedding ring. Many families lost everything in the looting and destruction and had to start over from scratch.

What happened to women after the North-West Resistance?

Between May 9 and May 12, the Canadian army defeated the Métis at the battle of Batoche. Everyone suspected of having participated in the resistance was arrested. Gabriel Dumont was forced to flee the country and settle in Montana. Louis Riel surrendered and was condemned to be hanged. Poverty, cold, hunger, despair, and fear made women more fragile, more vulnerable to illnesses like influenza and tuberculosis, and more likely to have a miscarriage. For example, when Madeleine (Wilkie) Dumont decided to join her husband Gabriel in the United States, she arrived in poor health and died a few weeks later. Louis Riel’s wife Marguerite Monet suffered a similar fate. During the Batoche events, Marguerite was pregnant with her third child and suffering from tuberculosis. Riel’s sister Henriette reported in a letter to her brother, “Marguerite is skinny and changed. Apparently, at Batoche she spat blood for three days.”[1] Their third child lived for only two hours. Shortly thereafter, Marguerite died of the consequences of malnutrition, tuberculosis … and grief.

Women whose husbands were killed or imprisoned during the conflict needed to find a way to provide for their family. Some, like Judith Parenteau, widow of Isidore Dumont (Gabriel’s older brother), and Catherine Delorme, wife of Donald Ross, asked for food assistance from the government to feed their children. Others requested compensation after the Battle of 1885 for the loss of their personal property, claiming that their possessions (cattle, furniture, wedding trousseau) had been destroyed. Their requests were denied, because at that time a woman’s property belonged to her husband. Some moved back in with their parents; others remarried. Some found jobs as domestics. Josephte Gervais, Calixte Tourond’s widow, managed to become a schoolteacher. A few Métis women succeeded in running a farm without a spouse’s help, and sometimes with their children’s help. Thus, Mrs. Josephte Tourond was able to keep her farm thanks to her children, who helped with the farm chores and animal husbandry. Marguerite Caron and Marie Champagne also managed to survive despite their husbands’ death by taking over a farm.

Women may not literally have taken up arms during the Métis resistances, but they nevertheless showed bravery and resilience. They had to look after their families, alone. They also played an active role behind the scenes, supplying food, firewood, moccasins and bullets and caring for the wounded. By the end of the North-West Resistance in 1885, Métis families had lost everything. Some women succumbed to illness and grief; others chose to fight for their family’s survival, despite their status as widows or prisoners’ wives. Overall, during the two resistances, women stood out for their affective and logistical role.

Sources :

  • Bouvier, Vye. “1885: Women in the Resistance.” New Breed, 15(3) (1984), 14-18.
  • Kermoal, Nathalie. “Les rôles et les souffrances des femmes métisses lors de la Résistance de 1870 et de la Rébellion de 1885.” Prairie Forum, 19(2) (Fall 1993), 153-68.
  • Payment, Diane. “‘La Vie en rose’? Métis Women at Batoche to 1920,” in Christine Miller and Patricia Chuchryk, eds., Women of the First Nations: Power, Wisdom, and Strength. Manitoba Studies in Native History. Winnipeg: University of Manitoba Press, 1996.
  • Weinstein, John. Quiet Revolution West: The Rebirth of Metis Nationalism. Calgary: Fifth House, 2007.

Joanna Seraphim has a PhD and a master’s degree in anthropology from the École des Hautes Études de Sciences Sociales in Paris, France. She teaches in the General Education Department and in the MBA Program at the Canadian University of Dubai. Prior to joining the Canadian University of Dubai, she was a lecturer at the Université de Saint-Boniface in Winnipeg. Previously, she served as a postdoctoral fellow at the Canada Research Chair on Métis Identity. In her articles, she examines the use of technology in the preservation, transmission and revival of traditions and languages. She also focuses on social issues such as métissage and ethnic and gender discrimination and inequality.

Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa

Les rôles des femmes métisses dans les résistances

par Joanna Seraphim

Lorsque le sujet des résistances métisses est abordé, le débat a tendance à se focaliser sur les batailles et les accomplissements du gouvernement provisoire. En revanche, les rôles des femmes métisses sont rarement présentés. Or, les Métisses étaient quand même touchées par ces conflits et constituaient une force active de soutien dans ces événements.

Où sont les femmes durant la résistance de la rivière Rouge ?

La résistance de la rivière Rouge débute en 1869. Durant cette période, les femmes encouragent leur mari et leurs fils à défendre leurs terres et leurs droits. Pourtant, pendant que ces derniers sont sur le champ de bataille, les Métisses demeurent seules à la maison, rongées par l’inquiétude. Elles sont non seulement chargées de s’occuper de la maisonnée, de subvenir aux besoins de leurs enfants, mais aussi de ravitailler le camp. Le bois de chauffage et la nourriture sont fournis en premier aux hommes qui sont au combat. De plus, les femmes leur confectionnent des mocassins.

Le 25 avril 1870, la colonie de la rivière Rouge entre dans la Confédération canadienne en tant que province du Manitoba. Le gouvernement fédéral envoie une troupe pour s’assurer que les Métis obéissent à l’autorité fédérale. Nombre de ces soldats se vengent des événements récents en persécutant les Métis. Certains soldats pénètrent dans les maisons durant l’absence du mari et menacent les épouses pour les forcer à révéler les agissements de leur conjoint. Ainsi, des hommes s’introduisent de force chez la mère de Louis Riel, pour l’insulter elle et ses enfants, tout en les tenant en joue avec leur revolver.

Que font les femmes durant la résistance du Nord-Ouest ?

À la suite de la montée des discriminations, de nombreux Métis quittent le Manitoba et s’installent au nord des États-Unis ou à l’ouest du Manitoba. Toutefois, les conflits territoriaux entre les Métis et le gouvernement fédéral recommencent. La résistance du Nord-Ouest s’intensifie le 19 mars 1885 à Batoche, avec la création du gouvernement provisoire de la Saskatchewan, présidé par Louis Riel. Une armée est organisée et dirigée par Gabriel Dumont. Une minorité de Métisses expriment leurs opinions concernant la résistance devant les hommes. Mme Josephte Lépine (née Lavallée) proclame devant son conjoint et les autres dirigeants : « Vous entreprenez des affaires trop gros que vous ne comprenez pas. » Cependant, quand la résistance débute pour de bon, les femmes soutiennent leur mari et leurs fils. Mme Marie-Anne Parenteau (Caron) déclare : « Si la police vient, je les épare, moi. Je vais les traiter comme on fait des buffalos de la prairie. »

Les femmes vivent dans un camp avec les personnes âgées et les enfants. Dans ce camp, les familles partagent la nourriture entre voisins et s’occupent des personnes âgées et des enfants. La conjointe de Gabriel Dumont, Madeleine Dumont (née Wilkie), et l’aînée Marie Letendre (née Hallet) cuisinent aussi pour le gouvernement provisoire et prennent soin des blessés et des malades. Lorsque Michel Desjarlais est blessé, c’est Marie Letendre et Madeleine Dumont qui tentent de le soigner. Malheureusement, elles découvrent qu’un morceau de crâne du blessé est tombé. À la suite de cette blessure, il meurt rapidement. Durant le conflit armé, Madeleine aide également les blessés à fuir le champ de bataille.

L’approvisionnement ne se limite pas à la nourriture : les femmes fournissent aussi les hommes en balles. Elles font fondre le métal de la doublure des boîtes de thé, des théières et le plomb qui entoure les produits de la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson dans des moules. Si les balles sont trop grandes, elles grattent le surplus avec des couteaux. En plus de la production de balles, les Métisses doivent collecter les vieilles balles pour les réutiliser.

Au cours de la bataille de Batoche, les soldats pillent et démolissent les maisons des Métis. Certains vont même jusqu’à voler le jonc de mariage de Mme Blanche (Ross) Henry. À la suite de ces pillages et destructions, de nombreuses familles ont tout perdu et doivent recommencer de zéro.

Après la résistance du Nord-Ouest, que deviennent les femmes ?

Entre le 9 et le 12 mai, l’armée canadienne vainc les Métis dans la bataille de Batoche. Toutes les personnes soupçonnées d’avoir participé à la rébellion sont arrêtées. Gabriel Dumont est contraint de s’exiler dans le Montana. Louis Riel se rend et est condamné à être pendu. La pauvreté, le froid, la faim, le désespoir et la peur rendent les femmes plus fragiles et donc plus enclines à succomber à la maladie comme la grippe et la tuberculose ou à faire de fausses couches. Par exemple, lorsque Madeleine (Wilkie) Dumont décide de rejoindre Gabriel Dumont aux États-Unis, elle arrive à destination en mauvaise santé. Elle est emportée par la maladie quelques semaines plus tard. L’épouse de Louis Riel, Marguerite Monet, subit un sort similaire. Au cours des événements de Batoche, Marguerite est enceinte de son troisième enfant et a la tuberculose. La sœur de Louis Riel, Henriette, envoie une lettre à son frère : « Marguerite est maigre et changée. Il paraît qu’elle a craché le sang durant trois jours à Batoche. » Leur troisième enfant meurt deux heures après sa naissance. Peu de temps après, Marguerite meurt des conséquences de la malnutrition, de la tuberculose… et de chagrin.

Les femmes dont le mari est mort ou en prison durant le conflit doivent trouver un moyen de subvenir aux besoins de leur famille. Certaines, comme Judith Parenteau, la veuve d’Isidore Dumont (le frère aîné de Gabriel Dumont) et Catherine Delorme, la conjointe de Donald Ross, demandent de l’aide alimentaire du gouvernement pour nourrir leurs enfants. Certaines tentent de recevoir des compensations après la bataille de 1885 pour la perte de leur propriété personnelle en argumentant que leurs possessions (bétail, meubles, trousseau de mariage) ont été détruites. Leurs requêtes sont rejetées, car à l’époque, la propriété d’une femme est celle de son mari. D’autres retournent vivre chez leurs parents ou se remarient. Quelques-unes trouvent du travail en tant que domestiques. Josepthe Gervais, la veuve de Calixte Tourond, réussit à devenir institutrice. Certaines arrivent à s’occuper de leur ferme sans l’aide d’un conjoint, et parfois avec l’aide de leurs enfants. Ainsi, Mme Josephte Tourond a la possibilité de garder sa ferme grâce à ses enfants, qui participent aux travaux de ferme et à l’élevage du bétail. Marguerite Caron et Marie Champagne parviennent également à survivre malgré le décès de leur mari en prenant la charge d’une ferme.

Si les femmes n’ont pas pris les armes au moment des résistances métisses, elles ont néanmoins fait preuve de bravoure et de résilience. Elles ont dû veiller seules sur leur famille. Elles ont également joué un rôle actif dans les coulisses de ces événements en fournissant les soldats en nourriture, en bois de chauffage, en mocassins et en balles. Elles ont également pris soin des blessés. À la fin de la résistance du Nord-Ouest en 1885, les familles métisses ont tout perdu. Certaines femmes ont succombé à la maladie et au chagrin. D’autres ont pris le parti de se battre pour la survie de leur famille, malgré leur statut de veuve ou d’épouses de prisonniers. Durant les deux résistances, les femmes se sont caractérisées par leur rôle de soutien affectif et logistique.

Sources :

  • Vye Bouvier, « 1885 : Women in the Resistance », New Breed, vol. 15, no 3, 1984, p. 14-18.
  • Nathalie Kermoal, « Les rôles et les souffrances des femmes métisses lors de la Résistance de 1870 et de la Rébellion de 1885 », Prairie Forum, vol. 19, no 2, automne 1993, p. 153-168.
  • Diane Payment, « “La Vie en rose” ? Métis Women at Batoche to 1920 », dans Women of the First Nations : Power, Wisdom, and Strength, édité par Christine Miller et Patricia Chuchryk, Manitoba Studies in Native History, Winnipeg, University of Manitoba Press, 1996.
  • John Weinstein, Quiet Revolution West : the Rebirth of Metis Nationalism, Calgary, Fifth House, 2007.

 

Joanna Seraphim est titulaire d’un doctorat et d’une maîtrise en anthropologie de l’École des hautes études en sciences sociales, à Paris. Elle enseigne au Département d’éducation générale et au programme de maîtrise de l’Université de Dubai. Avant de se joindre à cet établissement, elle était chargée d’enseignement à l’Université de Saint-Boniface, au Manitoba. Auparavant, elle a été boursière de recherches postdoctorales à la Chaire de recherche du Canada sur l’identité métisse. Ses articles portent sur l’application des technologies à la préservation, à la transmission et au renouveau des traditions et des langues. Elle étudie en outre les questions sociales comme le métissage, la discrimination fondée sur l’origine ethnique et le sexe ainsi que les inégalités entre les ethnies et les sexes.

Menu