Theatre as a Space for Conversation Among Canada’s Solitudes

by Aurélie Lacassagne

Theatre is something of an ultimate art form that allows the meeting of cultures not only on and off stage, but also between artists and audience. As such, it constitutes an unconventional political space where the rifts—social, racial, cultural, historical and gender—that fracture our society and divide our communities can be overcome. To put it another way, theatre can be a highly effective tool for facilitating dialogue and, potentially, empowerment.

Theatre can also present as a space of infinite possibilities, in direction as in messaging. This applies particularly to what Eugenio Barba called a Third Theatre, that is, a theatre characterized by “the autonomous construction of meaning that disregards the restrictions imposed on the performing arts by the prevailing society and culture.” And while the model of the Wild West Show—as popularized by Bill Cody, aka Buffalo Bill—may seem singularly inappropriate, historically besmirched as it is by its commercialism, its racism, and its major role in constructing and perpetuating stereotypes that are deeply rooted in our collective frame of reference, reimagining it today, in 2017, is a responsible form of cultural reappropriation; Daniel David Moses took a similar approach in 1996 in The Indian Medicine Shows.

Solitudes brought together in a Third Space

In Canada, rejecting social restrictions is achieved by, for instance, bringing solitudes together around a writing table, a stage, a performance venue. It may be symptomatic that the stock expression is “two solitudes,” the title of Hugh MacLennan’s 1945 novel. Not that those two solitudes don’t exist, but they have never been the only two solitudes in this country. It’s a revealing indication of the historical neglect not only of the Indigenous and Métis peoples that helped shape the nation, but of all the immigrant communities that have landed on our shores over the last 300 years.

Gabriel Dumont’s Wild West Show brings all these solitudes together with the intention of forging connections, having a conversation, creating something collectively. This is not the kind of multiculturalism where each community tells its stories but stays partitioned in its own ghetto: here, it’s a matter of investing a Third Space, to borrow Homi K. Bhabha’s concept, a space where oppressors and oppressed can come together to compare their recollections of a pivotal event—in this case, the Métis uprisings in western Canada—and perhaps to begin considering potential pathways to empowerment. In other words, this show embraces hybridity (Bhabha’s term; I prefer “creolization”). In that sense, the creators’ approach follows a well-established tradition: as Ric Knowles points out, theatre has always been a hybrid art form, from ancient Greek tragedy to Elizabethan theatre and commedia dell’arte, and including the many and diverse forms of contemporary theatre around the world.

An intercultural theatre that encourages errantry

For Ric Knowles, intercultural theatre is “a site for the continuing renegotiation of cultural values and the reconstitution of individual and community identities and subject positions.” In other words, from a cultural studies perspective, theatre, like other art forms, is regarded as a site for ongoing negotiation and for challenging the dominant discourse.

In its bold approach, Gabriel Dumont’s Wild West Show presents interesting rhizomatic possibilities, namely, the potential to create rhizomatic identities composed of multiple roots, throwing into question the dominant identity–roots. Indeed, the play goes so far as to put forward the conditions for the possibility of real political change. The premise is simple: Without an authentic conversation, without true decolonization, there can be no reconciliation. This show shares in the process of decolonizing theatre and opening a conversation. The artists participating in this project propose a first step in the reconciliation everyone talks about but isn’t sure how to achieve: acknowledging, listening to and understanding our national memories.

To that end, the play also invites us to change our way of thinking by favouring errantry, wandering, in order to shape new social and cultural identities that transcend the static identities dictated by the History written by the victors.

As Édouard Glissant states in his Poetics of Relation, “Errantry, therefore, does not proceed from renunciation nor from frustration regarding a supposedly deteriorated (deterritorialized) situation of origin; it is not a resolute act of rejection or an uncontrolled impulse of abandonment…. That is very much the image of the rhizome, prompting the knowledge that identity is no longer completely within the root but also in Relation. Because the thought of errantry is also the thought of what is relative, the thing relayed as well as the thing related. The thought of errantry is a  poetics, which always infers that at some moment it is told. The tale of errantry is the tale of Relation.”

The concept of errantry is not about the journey; it’s not a question of the audience setting out for a chance encounter with the Other, nor of opening oneself to the Other and returning home with one’s identity intact. Errantry is about letting the Other in and incorporating it into a new identity that is not single, but multiple.

A multiple identity, then, to be constructed collectively, in full awareness of its unpredictable and changeable nature; an identity that acknowledges the mistakes and horrors of the past, and is coherent with our contemporary experience. Gabriel Dumont’s Wild West Show invites us to create just such a multiple, multilingual, multisensory identity, and perhaps even to dream of the possibility of multiple reconciled futures.

Further Reading

  • Eugenio Barba, “Tiers Théâtre : l’héritage de nous à nous-mêmes,” translated by Éliane Deschamps‑Pria. Jeu 70, 1994, p. 43–53.
  • Homi K. Bhabha, Les lieux de la culture : une théorie postcoloniale. Paris, Payot, Essais Payot series, 2007.
  • Helen Gilbert, “Black and White and Re(a)d All Over Again: Indigenous Minstrelsy in Contemporary Canadian and Australian Theatre,” in Ric Knowles & Ingrid Mündel (eds.), “Ethnic,” Multicultural, and Intercultural Theatre. Toronto, Playwrights Canada Press, 2009, p. 106–133.
  • Édouard Glissant, Poetics of Relation. Originally published by Gallimard, Paris, 1990. Translated by Betsy Wing. Ann Arbor, The University of Michigan Press, 1997.
  • Ric Knowles, Theatre & Interculturalism. Basingstoke, Palgrave, 2010
  •  

AURÉLIE LACASSAGNE is an associate professor in the Department of Political Science at Laurentian University in Sudbury. She is a theorist by training, and her areas of research include cultural policy, cultural studies, and issues of identity. She is particularly interested in creolization in the arts.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.

Le théâtre comme espace de conversation entre les solitudes du Canada

par Aurélie Lacassagne

Le théâtre s’apparente à une forme ultime d’art qui permet non seulement la rencontre des cultures sur scène et derrière la scène, mais aussi entre les artistes et les spectateurs. En cela, il constitue un espace politique hors norme permettant de transcender toutes les divisions – sociales, racialisées, culturelles, historiques et de genre – qui traversent nos sociétés et compromettent le vivre-ensemble. En d’autres termes, le théâtre a vocation d’outil de dialogue, et potentiellement d’émancipation, privilégié.

Le théâtre peut également se voir comme un espace de tous les possibles dans les mises en scène comme les prises de parole. C’est en particulier le cas de ce qu’Eugenio Barba définissait comme le Tiers Théâtre : « […] le caractère essentiel du Tiers Théâtre est la construction autonome d’un sens qui ne reconnaît pas les limites que la société et la culture environnantes assignent à l’art de la scène. » Et si le genre du Wild West Show – celui de Bill Cody, alias Buffalo Bill – semble le moins approprié, car entaché historiquement par son mercantilisme, son racisme et son rôle prédominant dans la production et la diffusion de stéréotypes profondément ancrés dans nos schémas de pensée, le reprendre aujourd’hui, en 2017, est une forme de réappropriation culturelle assumée ; tout comme l’avait fait, par exemple, Daniel David Moses avec The Indian Medicine Shows en 1996.

Des solitudes rassemblées dans un tiers espace

Repousser les limites imposées par la société, au Canada, cela passe, par exemple, par le rassemblement de solitudes autour d’une table d’écriture, d’une scène, d’une salle de spectacle. Il est peut-être symptomatique que l’expression consacrée soit « les deux solitudes », du nom du roman de Hugh MacLennan publié en 1945. Non pas que ces deux solitudes-là n’existent pas, mais elles n’ont jamais été les deux seules solitudes de ce pays. Une perception donc révélatrice du déni historique non seulement des nations autochtones et métisses qui constituent, aussi, ce pays, mais également de toutes les communautés immigrantes qui, depuis trois siècles, peuplent également l’espace canadien.

Le Wild West Show de Gabriel Dumont rassemble toutes ces solitudes et se propose de tisser des liens, d’avoir une conversation, de créer ensemble. Loin du multiculturalisme qui propose que chaque communauté se raconte ses histoires, chacune d’entre elles restant dans son ghetto ; il s’agit plutôt d’investir un tiers espace, pour reprendre le concept de Homi K. Bhabha, un espace où oppresseurs et opprimés se retrouvent pour confronter leurs mémoires d’un événement fondateur – les résistances métisses de l’Ouest –, pour peut-être commencer à penser ensemble de possibles voies d’émancipation. Autrement dit, ce show a l’intention d’embrasser l’hybridité (concept privilégié par Bhabha auquel je préfère celui de créolisation). En ce sens, la démarche théâtrale choisie s’inscrit dans une longue tradition, car, comme l’explicite Ric Knowles, les formes théâtrales ont toujours été hybrides, du théâtre grec au théâtre élisabéthain et à la commedia dell’arte, en passant par les théâtres multiples et variés contemporains de par le monde.

Un théâtre interculturel qui est une invitation à l’errance

Pour Ric Knowles, le théâtre interculturel se projette comme « site d’une renégociation continue des valeurs culturelles et la reconstitution d’identités individuelles et communautaires et de positions de sujets ». Autrement dit, dans la tradition des cultural studies, le théâtre, comme d’autres formes culturelles, est appréhendé comme lieu de négociation permanente et de contestation des discours hégémoniques.

Avec son approche audacieuse, Le Wild West Show de Gabriel Dumont revêt un potentiel rhizomique intéressant, à savoir un potentiel de création d’identités rhizomiques constituées de multiples racines, remettant radicalement en cause les identités-racines dominantes. C’est une pièce qui ne propose rien de moins que d’avancer les conditions de possibilité d’un véritable changement politique. La prémisse en est simple : il ne peut y avoir de réconciliation sans conversation ni décolonisation réelle. Ce spectacle participe du processus de décolonisation du théâtre et ouvre la conversation. Cette réconciliation dont tout le monde parle tant sans savoir comment la faire, les artistes réunis dans ce projet en proposent une première étape : la reconnaissance, l’écoute et la compréhension des mémoires nationales.

Pour ce faire, la pièce nous invite également à changer nos façons de penser en privilégiant l’errance, le nomadisme, afin de former de nouvelles identités sociales et culturelles qui transcendent les identités fixes imposées par l’Histoire écrite par les vainqueurs.

Comme le dit Édouard Glissant dans sa Poétique de la Relation : « L’errance ne procède pas d’un renoncement, ni d’une frustration par rapport à une situation d’origine qui se serait détériorée (déterritorialisée) – ce n’est pas un acte déterminé de refus, ni une pulsion incontrôlée d’abandon. […] C’est bien là l’image du rhizome, qui porte à savoir que l’identité n’est plus toute dans la racine, mais aussi dans la Relation. C’est que la pensée de l’errance est aussi bien pensée du relatif, qui est relayé mais aussi relaté. La pensée de l’errance est une poétique, et qui sous-entend qu’à un moment elle se dit. Le dit de l’errance est celui de la Relation. »

La pensée de l’errance, ce n’est pas le voyage ; il ne s’agit pas pour le spectateur de partir à la rencontre fortuite de l’Autre ; il ne s’agit pas de s’ouvrir à l’Autre et de rentrer chez soi avec son identité ; l’errance, c’est laisser entrer l’autre en soi pour former, non pas une nouvelle unicité, mais une multiplicité.

Une identité du multiple donc à construire ensemble en reconnaissant son caractère imprévisible et changeant, qui ne nie pas les fautes et les horreurs du passé, mais qui s’inscrit dans le mouvement présent du monde. Une identité du multiple, du multilingue, du multisensoriel comme Le Wild West Show de Gabriel Dumont vous le propose, afin de commencer à rêver de multiples avenirs réconciliés possibles.

Pour aller plus loin :

  • Eugenio Barba, « Tiers Théâtre : l’héritage de nous à nous-mêmes », traduit par Éliane Deschamps-Pria, Jeu, no 70, 1994, p. 43-53.
  • Homi K. Bhabha, Les lieux de la culture : une théorie postcoloniale, Paris, Payot, coll. « Essais Payot », 2007.
  • Helen Gilbert, « Black and White and Re(a)d All Over Again : Indigenous Minstrelsy in Contemporary Canadian and Australian Theatre », dans Ric Knowles & Ingrid Mündel (dir.), “Ethnic,” Multicultural, and Intercultural Theatre, Toronto, Playwrights Canada Press, 2009, p. 106-133.
  • Ric Knowles, Theatre & Interculturalism, Basingstoke, Palgrave, 2010.
  • Édouard Glissant, Poétique de la Relation : Poétique III, Paris, Gallimard, coll. « Blanche », 1990.

 

AURÉLIE LACASSAGNE est professeure agrégée au Département de science politique de l’Université Laurentienne, à Sudbury. Théoricienne de formation, ses recherches portent notamment sur les politiques culturelles, les cultural studies et les questions identitaires. Elle s’intéresse particulièrement aux processus de créolisation dans les arts.

Menu