NAC is extending performance and event cancellations and postponements until August 31
Musically Speaking

Alexander Shelley in conversation with Jeremy Dutcher

Video 4 / 4

Jeremy Dutcher joined Musically Speaking to celebrate National Indigenous History Month!

A live conversation and performance with Jeremy Dutcher and NAC Orchestra Music Director, and Musically Speaking host, Alexander Shelley.

The classically-trained, First Nations tenor, composer, musicologist and activist shared the stories behind his music, his deep connection to his Wolastoq language and culture, and how it informs his compositions.

Jeremy's music is rooted in the traditional songs of Wolastoq First Nation and​ blends classical influences and arrangements – all enhanced by his outstanding tenor. His debut LP, Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa, a tribute to the forgotten songs of his people, won the Polaris Music Prize and a JUNO Award. 

From expressing his identity and culture through his music to creating an honest and unique sound that resonates with so many, and embracing the role he holds with his platform – Jeremy is a guest not to miss!

Menu

Le CNA prolonge les annulations et les reports d'événements jusqu'au 31 août
Parlons musique

Alexander Shelley in conversation with Jeremy Dutcher

Vidéo 4 / 4
Cette vidéo n’est disponible qu’en anglais

Mois national de l’histoire autochtone : Jeremy Dutcher à Parlons musique!
(Presented in English only)

Une conversation entre Alexander Shelley, animateur de Parlons musique et directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, et Jeremy Dutcher ainsi qu’une miniprestation de ce dernier.

Le ténor et compositeur de formation classique, musicologue et activiste autochtone nous parle des dessous de la création, de ses liens profonds avec la langue et la culture wolastoq, et de la manière dont ceux-ci informent ses compositions.

Mise en valeur par son exceptionnelle voix de ténor, la musique de Jeremy allie chansons traditionnelles de la Première Nation Wolastoqiyik et éléments classiques. Son premier album, intitulé Wolastoqiyik Lintuwakonawa, rend hommage aux chansons oubliées de son peuple; il a remporté le Prix de musique Polaris et un Prix JUNO.

Ne manquez pas cette causerie avec un artiste fascinant qui exprime son identité et sa culture à travers la musique, crée un son unique, authentique et émouvant, et prend la parole dans l’espace public.

Menu