Nunavut

Empowering Canada’s rural, Indigenous, and underserved
communities through music and the arts.

Since 2010, the National Arts Centre’s Music Alive Program in Nunavut has supported comprehensive programming that celebrates Inuit culture and cultivates local talent and local leadership. The program also provides special opportunities for Nunavut communities to engage with visiting artists, including artists from other parts of Nunavut and the Inuit Nunangat.

We continue to focus on important relationships with schools, arts organizations, community leaders, and others in order to develop programming that is tailored to the particular needs and culture of each community and to support local organizations in realizing their goals for arts education and community engagement.

  • © Vincent Desrosiers
  • © Vincent Desrosiers
  • © Vincent Desrosiers
  • © Jamie Griffiths

The best thing about this collaboration is not that I get to write a song with one of my biggest inspirations..it's that she's teaching and helping me to let go of some of the things that never allowed me to find peace within myself. I will be forever grateful to have her as a mentor.

Rita Claire Mike-Murphy, MAP Nunavut teaching artist from Pangnirtung NU and one of the young artists mentored through a MAP partnership

  • Aptn-logo-2016-2
  • Logo-firstair-horizontaltagline-pantone (1)
  • Chris-and-mary-ann-tur
  • Government of nunavut logo
  • Ms.-diane-obam-dalla
  • Calm-air-logo
  • Slaight red logo

Get in touch!

Find out how to participate in the Music Alive Program as a school, community partner, or artist. If you are interested in discussing how we could work together, please use the form below. Thank you!

Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field

Thank you!

Your message has been sent successfully to the National Arts Centre. We will be in touch with you very soon to follow up on your inquiry.

Bring music into children’s lives

Your donations help the Music Alive Program reach more students, educators and communities across Canada. The National Youth and Education Trust is the NAC’s primary source of funding for initiatives that nurture and develop the creativity of children and youth, and support the educators and artists who challenge and encourage them.

Menu

Nunavut

Renforcer l’autonomie au sein des collectivités rurales, autochtones
et mal desservies du Canada par la musique et les arts.

Depuis 2010, le volet Nunavut du programme Vive la musique du Centre national des Arts propose des contenus célébrant la culture inuite et mettant en valeur les talents et le leadership locaux. Le programme offre également aux communautés du Nunavut des occasions uniques d’être en contact avec des artistes en visite, y compris des artistes provenant d’autres régions du Nunavut et de l’Inuit Nunangat.

Nous continuons d’axer nos efforts sur nos relations avec les écoles, les organisations artistiques et les leaders communautaires afin de développer des programmes adaptés aux besoins particuliers et à la culture de chacune des communautés, et de soutenir les organisations locales dans la réalisation de leurs objectifs en matière d’éducation artistique et d’engagement communautaire.

  • © Vincent Desrosiers
  • © Vincent Desrosiers
  • © Vincent Desrosiers
  • © Jamie Griffiths

Merci pour tout ce que vous avez fait pour nos élèves à Kimmirut et pour l’essor de la musique dans notre collectivité. Les mots sont impuissants à exprimer toute ma gratitude. En bref, le CNA s’est révélé une bénédiction d’une ampleur incommensurable.

École Qaqqalik, Kimmirut, NU

  • Aptn-logo-2016-2
  • Logo-firstair-horizontaltagline-pantone (1)
  • Chris-and-mary-ann-tur
  • Government of nunavut logo
  • Mme-diane-obam-dalla
  • Calm-air-logo
  • Slaight red logo
  • PMC, Advisors in Indigenous Renewal

Entrer en contact!

Découvrez comment vous pouvez participer au Programme Vive la musique en tant qu’école, partenaire de la collectivité ou artiste. Si vous souhaitez discuter de la façon dont nous pourrions travailler ensemble, veuillez utiliser le formulaire ci-dessous. Merci!

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section

Merci!

Votre message a été envoyé avec succès au Centre national des Arts. Nous vous contacterons très prochainement pour donner suite à votre demande.

Offrez aux enfants les joies de la musique

Votre contribution permet au Programme Vive la musique de rejoindre davantage d’élèves, d’éducateurs et de communautés partout au Canada. La Fiducie nationale pour la jeunesse et l’éducation est la principale source de financement d’initiatives qui visent à nourrir et à cultiver les talents créateurs des jeunes de partout au Canada, ainsi qu’à appuyer les éducateurs et les artistes qui stimulent et encouragent la jeune génération.

Menu