NAC Indigenous Theatre

Launching in 2019

February 21, 2017

There has been a lot of news this month!

Brittany Ryan, Robert St. Georges, Annie Smith St. Georges, Alanis Obomsawin, Sarah Garton Stanley, Rhoda Ungalaq, and Jeannette Corbiere Lavell. Not pictured: Lee Maracle, Maria Campbell, and Pauline Shirt.
Brittany Ryan, Robert St. Georges, Annie Smith St. Georges, Alanis Obomsawin, Sarah Garton Stanley, Rhoda Ungalaq, and Jeannette Corbiere Lavell. Not pictured: Lee Maracle, Maria Campbell, and Pauline Shirt.

It was exciting to see the recent appointment of Christine Sokaymoh Frederick to the position of Associate Artist at The Citadel Theatre in Edmonton, and to see the rave reviews and huge response to Cliff Cardinal’s Huff at The Sydney Theatre Festival. It was equally exciting to see Mayor Naheed Nenshi’s response to Article 11’s Declaration which recently played in Calgary as part of High Performance Rodeo. So excited was the mayor, that he recently engaged in a twitter battle with playwright Tara Beagan’s brother on what city in Alberta Article 11 should call home. IPAA says goodbye to Cole Alvis its Executive Director as Cole turns his energies back to his art practice and ongoing work with Lemon Tree Productions. And finally, a huge congrats to Brittany Ryan who was named Producer of Nightswimming Theatre in Toronto.

Earlier this month, interviews were held at the National Arts Centre with candidates put forward by the vetting committee. Coordinator for Indigenous Theatre, Brittany Ryan says:  “I had the privilege and opportunity to welcome these incredible people outside the room, where they could take a breath before sitting in with the committee. It was exciting to speak with each of them because, despite all the formality of an interview, we realized that these are just conversations about what Indigenous Theatre could be. I think we all left feeling inspired.” The hiring process continues through this month and into March. The goal is to announce the Artistic Director in June 2017.

Kari Cullen  and Sarah Garton Stanley from the NAC, and Natali Zuniga from the City of Ottawa visited with Chief Jean-Guy Whiteduck, Grand Chief Verna Polson and former Chief Gilbert Whiteduck at Kitigan Zibi on February 6th. Sarah and Kari also met with Chief Kirby Whiteduck, Vickie Two-Axe and Christina Ruddy of Pikwakanagan, on February 13th. Both visits were made in preparation for the first meeting of an Algonquin Advisory Committee to be held at the NAC on Wednesday February 22.

On February 14 (Valentine’s Day!) we gathered together for the first  Elders Council. Rhoda Ungalaq, Annie Smith St-George, Jeannette Corbiere Lavell and  Alanis Obomsawin were there in person, Lee Maracle joined us on the phone for over an hour and Maria Campbell and Pauline Shirt were unable to attend due to unforeseen circumstances. Robert St. Georges, Annie's husband, attended the meeting as Annie's helper. The goal for the first gathering was to meet everyone, to speak to the history that brought us to now and to  discuss the role of the Elders Council as a part of the hiring process of the first Artistic Director of Indigenous Theatre. The next meeting is scheduled for March and will happen over the telephone.

From February 17-20, Sarah was out at the Talking Stick Festival in Vancouver. Among the highlights was seeing the latest iteration of Margo Kane’s Moonlodge, directed by Corey Payette and interpreted by PJ Prudat, as well as a staged reading of Red Patch. The last day of the Industry series was dedicated to critical reception of the work. Lindsay Lachance put the day together.

During First Scene, the opening series of plays and discussions at Canada Scene, Lindsay Lachance is curating a two-day symposium on Critical Response in Ottawa. Following an afternoon of conversation and exchange being held at the NAC, participants will attend Children of God. On the following morning, participants will respond to the work, and those that are able will stay throughout the next few days to see and reflect on the other works being presented as part of First Scene. (Cafe Daughter, Riel and Making Treaty 7). If you would like to know more about this symposium, and the other conversations happening between June 15 and June 20, please contact Brittany Ryan at: Brittany.Ryan@nac-cna.ca

The NAC, under the leadership of CEO Peter Herrndorf, and all the employees, are continuing  to prepare for the launch of the Indigenous Theatre Department. Education sessions for employees remain a priority, working with artists and producers from across Turtle Island on projects in every producing department is continuing, developing good relations with the Algonquin Nation and the people who are the past, present and future caretakers of the unceded land upon which the NAC stands, are all part of the day to day work at the NAC. More to do everyday.

As always, if you have any questions, comments or concerns please contact Brittany Ryan at: Brittany.Ryan@nac-cna.ca

‹ Back to timeline
Menu

Théâtre autochtone CNA

21 février 2017

Le dernier mois a été fort occupé!

Brittany Ryan, Robert St. Georges, Annie Smith St. Georges, Alanis Obomsawin, Sarah Garton Stanley, Rhoda Ungalaq et Jeannette Corbiere Lavell. N'apparaissent pas sur la photo: Lee Maracle, Maria Campbell et Pauline Shirt.
Brittany Ryan, Robert St. Georges, Annie Smith St. Georges, Alanis Obomsawin, Sarah Garton Stanley, Rhoda Ungalaq et Jeannette Corbiere Lavell. N'apparaissent pas sur la photo: Lee Maracle, Maria Campbell et Pauline Shirt.

Nous avons d’abord appris avec bonheur la récente nomination de Christine Sokaymoh Frederick à titre d’artiste associée au Citadel Theatre à Edmonton et avons apprécié les critiques dithyrambiques de la pièce Huff, de Cliff Cardinal, présentée au Sydney Theatre Festival. Tout aussi agréable fut le commentaire du maire Naheed Nenshi sur Declaration, d’Article 11, présentée à Calgary dans le cadre de High Performance Rodeo. Emballé par l’œuvre, le maire s’est engagé dans un combat amical sur Twitter avec le frère de la dramaturge Tara Beagan pour savoir quelle ville albertaine devrait être considérée comme la ville d’Article 11. Cole Alvis quitte son poste de directeur général de l’IPAA pour se consacrer à son travail artistique avec Lemon Tree Productions. Enfin, nos sincères félicitations à Brittany Ryan, qui vient d’être nommée productrice au Nightswimming Theatre à Toronto.

Plus tôt ce mois-ci, le comité d’examen a mené des entrevues avec des candidats au Centre national des Arts. La coordonnatrice du Théâtre autochtone, Brittany Ryan, explique : « J’ai eu le privilège et l’occasion de discuter avec ces candidats remarquables avant leur entrevue devant les membres du comité. Ces échanges avec chacun des candidats ont été fort stimulants, car, dégagés du contexte formel des entrevues, tous exprimaient simplement leur vision de ce que devait être le Théâtre autochtone. Chacun de nous en est ressorti fort inspiré. » Le processus d’embauche se poursuit tout au long du mois de mars. L’annonce du candidat retenu pour le poste de directeur artistique devrait être faite en juin 2017.

Le 6 février, Kari Cullen et Sarah Garton Stanley, du CNA, ainsi que Natali Zuniga de la ville d’Ottawa, ont rendu visite au chef Jean-Guy Whiteduck, la grande chef Verna Polson et l’ex-chef Gilbert Whiteduck sur la réserve de Kitigan Zibi. Sarah et Kari ont également rencontré le chef Kirby Whiteduck, Vickie Two-Axe et Christina Ruddy, de Pikwakanagan, le 13 février. Ces deux visites ont été faites en vue de préparer la première réunion du comité consultatif algonquin, qui aura lieu le mercredi 22 février au CNA.

Le 14 février, jour de la Saint-Valentin, nous avons tenu le tout premier Conseil des aînés. Rhoda Ungalaq, Annie Smith St-George, Jeannette Corbiere Lavell et Alanis Obomsawin étaient présentes, Lee Maracle s’est jointe à la discussion au téléphone alors que Maria Campbell et Pauline Shirt n’ont pu assister à la réunion. Robert St- Georges, mari d’Annie Smith, était présent come assistant d’Annie. Cette première réunion avait pour but de mettre en commun les idées et les histoires qui avaient été soumises à chacun des participants jusqu’à maintenant et de discuter du rôle du Conseil des aînés dans le processus d’embauche du premier directeur artistique du Théâtre autochtone. La prochaine réunion est prévue en mars et sera sous forme de conférence téléphonique.

Du 17 au 20 février, Sarah a participé au Talking Stick Festival à Vancouver. Elle a notamment assisté à la plus récente production de Moonlodge, de Margo Kane, mise en scène par Corey Payette et interprétée par PJ Prudat, et a également assisté à une lecture publique de Red Patch. La dernière journée de la série Industrie était consacrée aux critiques de la pièce. La journée était organisée par Lindsay Lachance.

Dans le cadre de Première scène, série de pièces et d’échanges qui sera présentée en ouverture de la Scène Canada, Lindsay Lachance organise un symposium d’une durée de deux jours sur le discours critique à Ottawa. Après un après-midi d’échanges et de discussions au CNA, les participants assisteront à une représentation de Children of God. Le lendemain matin, les participants discuteront de la pièce et, les jours suivants, ils pourront aussi échanger sur les autres œuvres présentées dans le cadre de Première scène (Café Daughter, Riel et Making Treaty 7). Pour en savoir plus sur ce symposium et sur les autres rencontres-échanges qui auront lieu entre le 15 et le 20 juin, veuillez communiquer avec Brittany Ryan à Brittany.Ryan@nac-cna.ca

Sous la direction du chef de la direction Peter Herrndorf, le CNA et tous ses employés poursuivent le travail en vue de l’inauguration du Théâtre autochtone. Les séances d’information à l’intention des employés constituent toujours une priorité, nous continuons également à travailler avec des artistes et producteurs de toute l’Amérique du Nord sur des projets qui touchent toutes les disciplines présentées au CNA, nous approfondissons nos relations harmonieuses avec la nation algonquine de même qu’avec les Autochtones qui, de tout temps et encore aujourd’hui, veillent sur les terres ancestrales et non cédées sur lesquelles a été construit le CNA; voilà autant de défis que nous relevons et continuerons de relever chaque jour au CNA.

Comme toujours, si vous avez des questions, des commentaires ou des préoccupations, veuillez communiquer avec Brittany Ryan à Brittany.Ryan@nac-cna.ca.

‹ Retour aux mises à jour
Menu