NAC Indigenous Theatre

Launching in 2019

November 20, 2016

The Indigenous Theatre is hiring...

On November 3rd, 2016 the hiring notice for the NAC’s first Artistic Director of Indigenous Theatre was issued by Human Resources. The Advisory Committee comprised of Reneltta Arluk, Dave Jennis, Annie Smith St. Georges, Jesse Wabegijig, and Kenneth T. Williams along with Brittany Ryan and Sarah Garton Stanley have been working together over the last several months towards this first big goal. On October 24, 2016 the committee gathered together in Ottawa with Debbie Collins, Director of Human Resources to help finalize the hiring notice and related questions such as helping determine members of the Vetting Committee and the structure for the Elders Council.  A full day in-person meeting was invaluable for transforming the goals of the committee from a body primarily assembled  to make recommendations on hiring to a group more focused on developing support mechanism for the large communities of Indigenous artists, leaders, movers and shakers as well as the NAC staff, through the as applications and questions are sent in.

Also on October 24th Sarah Garton Stanley and Kari Cullen met with Chief Kirby Whiteduck from Pikwàkanagàn and Chief Jean-Guy Whiteduck, along with Elder Annie Smith St. Georges from Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg and Natali Zuniga, Cultural Heritage, City of Ottawa. Peter Herrndorf (CEO and President) was there to welcome the chiefs at the beginning of the meeting and was also able to come by to spend time with the Advisory later that afternoon. The purpose of the meeting was for the NAC to begin to learn how the NAC and the Algonquin Anishnabe Nation can collaborate moving into the future. When the Artistic Director of Indigenous Theatre and their team begin their term, they will develop their own relationships with Indigenous artists, leaders, and communities in conjunction with the NAC. However, the NAC as an institution continues to be committed to building relationships with Indigenous leaders from the territory and beyond, before the Indigenous Theatre section officially begins. The NAC has built and continues to build relationships that are understood as the responsibility of the institution and all its sections, not just an expectation of Indigenous Theatre.

Sarah Garton Stanley attended the Truth and Reconciliation Summit organized by the Banff Centre on October 29-30.  She was invited as a “Thought Leader” and also participated on a live-streamed panel in which participants discussed their work as it pertains to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission of Canada’s 94 calls to action and how to inspire those gathered to take action. The Banff Centre was where The Cycle begun in collaboration with IPAA in April 2013.

In an ongoing action the NAC is dedicated to is bringing Indigenous educators, presenters, artists, and facilitators to work with NAC employees across the organization: from security to programming, and from food & beverage to music education. On October 25th  Kevin Lamoureux, Associate Vice President of Indigenous Affairs at the University of Winnipeg led about 25 NAC employees through an educational session called Indigenous Insights. The session gave ample room for exchange and question among the participants. Next up is an artist talk with Tanya Tagaq on November 28.

Last up for this busy month: Following the pattern we shared with you in previous updates, the Hiring Process is now underway! Based on feedback from the Advisory Committee and the NAC we will be expanding the Vetting Committee to a group of 9 and the Selection Committee to a group of 5. This expansion allows for a broader representation of people and experiences throughout the process.

As always if you have any questions or comments please contact us at brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca.

‹ Back to timeline
Menu

Théâtre autochtone CNA

20 novembre 2016

Le Théâtre autochtone du CNA embauche...

Le 3 novembre 2016, l’avis d’embauche du premier directeur ou de la première directrice artistique du Théâtre autochtone du CNA a été émis par les Ressources humaines.  Les membres du comité consultatif composé de Reneltta Arluk, Dave Jennis, Annie Smith St. Georges, Jesse Wabegijig et Kenneth T. Williams, ainsi que Brittany Ryan et Sarah Garton Stanley du CNA, ont œuvré de concert, ces derniers mois, pour franchir cette importante étape. Le 24 octobre 2016, le comité s’est réuni à Ottawa en présence de Debbie Collins, directrice des Ressources humaines, pour mettre la dernière main à l’avis d’embauche et aux questions connexes, comme la mise sur pied du comité d’examen des candidatures et la structure du conseil des aînés. Une réunion en personne d’une journée entière s’est révélée très précieuse pour transformer les desseins du comité, d’un ensemble de pistes de réflexion esquissées essentiellement pour formuler des recommandations à une série d’objectifs orientés vers la mise en place d’un mécanisme de soutien pour l’ensemble des communautés d’artistes, de leaders et d’animateurs autochtones, de même que pour le personnel du CNA, à mesure que les candidatures et les questions seront posées.

C’est aussi le 24 octobre que Sarah Garton Stanley et Kari Cullen ont rencontré le chef Kirby Whiteduck de Pikwàkanagàn et le chef Jean-Guy Whiteduck en compagnie de l’aînée Annie Smith St. Georges, de Kitigan Zibi Anishinabeg, ainsi que Natali Zuniga, Patrimoine culturel, Ville d’Ottawa. Peter Herrndorf (président et chef de la direction) était présent pour accueillir les chefs au début de la réunion, et a pu se libérer pour revenir plus tard dans la journée s’entretenir avec le comité consultatif. La rencontre avait pour but d’orienter le CNA en vue de sa collaboration future avec la Nation Algonquine Anishnabeg. Quand le directeur ou la directrice artistique du Théâtre autochtone et son équipe entreront en fonction, ils établiront leurs propres relations avec les artistes, les leaders et les communautés autochtones, de concert avec le CNA. Cependant, le CNA reste attaché, en tant qu’institution, à entretenir des rapports harmonieux avec les leaders autochtones du territoire et au-delà, avant que le Théâtre autochtone n’entame officiellement ses activités. Le CNA entend continuer à créer les liens qui lui incombent, comme institution, et qui concernent l’ensemble de ses départements, et non seulement le Théâtre autochtone.

Sarah Garton Stanley a assisté au sommet sur le vérité et la réconciliation organisé par le Banff Centre les 29 et 30 octobre. Elle y était invitée à titre de « leader d’opinion », et elle a aussi pris part à une table ronde webdiffusée en direct dont les  participants ont discuté de leur travail en lien avec les 94 appels à l’action de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada, et des moyens d’agir concrètement dans ce sens. Le Banff Centre est l’endroit où The Cycle s’est amorcé en collaboration avec l’IPAA en avril 2013.

Le CNA poursuit ses efforts en vue d’amener des éducateurs, des conférenciers, des artistes et des animateurs autochtones à œuvrer auprès des employés du CNA dans l’ensemble de l’organisation, de la sécurité à la programmation, des services de restauration à l’éducation musicale. Le 25 octobre, Kevin Lamoureux, vice-président associé aux affaires autochtones de l’Université de Winnipeg, a dirigé plus d’une vingtaine d’employés du CNA dans une séance éducative intitulée Indigenous Insights (« perspectives autochtones »). La séance a fait une large place aux échanges et aux questions des participants. La prochaine activité au programme est une rencontre avec l’artiste Tanya Tagaq le 28 novembre.

En terminant, conformément au scénario dont nous vous avons fait part dans nos dernières mises à jour, le processus d’embauche est maintenant enclenché! À la lumière des commentaires recueillis auprès du comité consultatif et du CNA, nous allons élargir le comité d’examen des candidatures à neuf membres et le comité de sélection à cinq membres. Cet élargissement des cadres assurera une représentation plus abondante de personnes et d’expériences tout au long du processus.

Comme toujours, si vous avez des questions ou des commentaires, communiquez avec nous à l’adresse brittany.ryan@nac-cna.ca.

‹ Retour aux mises à jour
Menu