This event ended on: Sep 25, 2022
This livestream has ended
talks

SPHERE / Arctic Imagination Talks

with Ray Zahab & Dorthe Dahl-Jensen

Talks Festival events
  • NAC Orchestra

  Sep 25, 2022 - 10 AM EDT

A conversation with Arctic explorers

Danish research scientist Dr. Dorthe Dahl-Jensen, whose work with the Greenland ice sheet seeks to understand the impact of the melting Arctic ice on the Earth, speaks with Canadian ultra distance runner Ray Zahab about his experiences pushing the boundaries of human endurance in extreme climate conditions around the world. Hosted by NAC Arts Education Manager Natasha Harwood.

Co-hosted by the Royal Danish Library and the NAC Orchestra as part of the SPHERE Festival, Arctic Imagination is a not-to-be-missed speaker series pressing discussions on the transformation of the Arctic as the ice disappears — and the implications of climate change for geopolitics and human civilization as we know it. 

Speakers

Dr. Dorthe Dahl Jensen is a legend in glaciology and scientific expeditions on the Greenland ice sheet. Living up to the motto that researchers must be where the changes are happening in order to achieve reliable results, Dorthe has worked in Greenland for years—and with her large research team, has tried to answer one of the most important questions of our time: how fast does the ice melt? 

Ray Zahab is a Canadian Explorer, ultra distance runner and Founder of non-profit impossible2Possible. A recent recipient of the Meritorious Service Cross of Canada, Ray is an Explorer in Residence of the Royal Canadian Geographical Society, and Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. In 2015 Canadian Geographic recognized Ray as one of Canada’s Top Explorers. He has ran 17,000+km across the world’s deserts, and unsupported expeditions in some of the coldest places on the planet.

  • Host Natasha Harwood

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Cet événement s’est terminé le dimanche, 25 septembre 2022
Cette diffusion en direct est terminée
talks

Arctic Imagination - Conférences

SPHÈRE / Ray Zahab & Dorthe Dahl-Jensen

Causeries Festival
  • l'Orchestre du CNA

  25 sep 2022 - 10 h HAE

En anglais

Arctic Imagination est une série de conférences à ne pas manquer, présentée par la Bibliothèque royale du Danemark et l'Orchestre du CNA dans le cadre du Festival SPHÈRE, visant a raviver plusieurs discussions pressantes concernant la transformation de l’Arctique – qui voit sa glace disparaître – et les conséquences des changements climatiques sur la géopolitique mondiale et l’humanité en général. 

Pannélistes:

Dorthe Dahl-Jensen 

La Dr Dorthe Dahl Jensen est une légende de la glaciologie et des expéditions scientifiques sur la calotte glaciaire du Groenland. Fidèle à la devise selon laquelle les chercheurs doivent être là où les changements se produisent afin d'obtenir des résultats fiables, Dorthe travaille au Groenland depuis des années et, avec sa grande équipe de recherche, a tenté de répondre à l'une des questions les plus importantes de notre époque : à quelle vitesse la glace fond-elle? 

Ray Zahab 

Ray Zahab est un explorateur canadien, un coureur d'ultra distance et le fondateur de l'association impossible2Possible. Récemment récipiendaire de la Croix du service méritoire du Canada, Ray est explorateur en résidence de la Société géographique royale du Canada et membre de la Société géographique royale. En 2015, Canadian Geographic a reconnu Ray comme l'un des meilleurs explorateurs du Canada. Il a couru plus de 17 000 km à travers les déserts du monde et des expéditions sans assistance dans certains des endroits les plus froids de la planète. 

FacilitatriceNatasha Harwood

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu