Traffic disruptions - Canada Day weekend
This event ended on: Dec 6, 2021

All the Love: Celebrating Tomson Highway

Indigenous arts Theatre Storytelling Authors Talks
  • NAC Indigenous Theatre
  • Arts Alive

  Dec 6, 2021 - 1 PM EDT   1 hour with no intermission.

All the love you put into the material comes back, and it comes back in waves. Tomson Highway

Join us online for this panel of Indigenous theatre creators as they discuss the impact and influence of Tomson Highway’s work in their lives and in the artistic community.

For this panel we are joined by:

  • Yvette Nolan, Algonquin playwright, director, dramaturg, actor, and educator
  • Margo Kane, Cree-Saulteaux actor, artistic director, and writer is founder of Full Circle: First Nations Performance
  • Joahnna Berti, Administrative director, outreach coordinator, training program lead at Debajehmujig Theatre Group
     

Yvette Nolan
Born in Saskatchewan to an Algonquin mother and an Irish immigrant father, Yvette Nolan graduated from the University of Manitoba in 1997. She is an accomplished playwright: her plays include BLADE, Job’s Wife, Annie Mae’s Movement, The Birds (a modern adaptation of Aristophanes’ comedy), and The Unplugging. As a director, she has staged many productions for Gwaandak Theatre, Gordon Tootoosis Nīkānīwin Theatre, Signal Theatre (where she is currently an Artistic Associate), Globe Theatre and Western Canada Theatre, and served as the artistic director of Native Earth Performing Arts from 2003 to 2011. She is the author of Medicine Shows: Indigenous Performance Culture (Playwrights Canada Press, 2015). Yvette Nolan lives in Toronto.

Margo Kane
Cree-Saulteaux performing artist, Margo Kane is the Founder and Artistic Managing Director of Full Circle: First Nations Performance. For over 40 years she has been active as an actor, performing artist and community cultural worker.  Her desire to share artistic performance that has meaning for her people is the catalyst for her extensive work, travels and consultation within Indigenous communities across Canada and abroad.

Moonlodge, her acclaimed one-woman show, an Indigenous Canadian classic, toured for over 10 years nationally and internationally. The Sydney Press (AU) during The Festival of the Dreaming praised it as being ‘in the top echelon of solo performance.’  She developed and runs the annual Talking Stick Festival and an Aboriginal Ensemble Performing Arts Program in Vancouver.  Presently she is the Artistic Director for the City of Vancouver’s Canada150+ Festival, The Drum is Calling.

Recent theatre credits include reprising her role in Marie Clement’s Burning Vision in Barcelona for the Grec Theatre Festival. In 2016, she received an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from the University of the Fraser Valley, a  Mayor’s Arts Award in Theatre in Vancouver and most recently a 2017 GVPTA Career Achievement Award at the annual Jessie Theatre Awards in Vancouver.

Joahnna Berti 
Joahnna Berti graduated from Queen’s University in honours Psychology in 1984. She started working in arts administration at The Limelight Dinner Theatre in Toronto in 1986 and joined The Second City in Toronto in 1987. In 1989, she began studies at The Georgian Bay Institute for Neuro Linguistic Programming and opened a private practice in Toronto from 1990 – 1992 specializing in NLP counselling support to sexually abused gay youth and young men. She qualified as Master Trainer in 1993 while working at The Wassa Naabin Community Youth Centre in Wikwemikong, The Wikwemikong Family Centre, Kina Gbezhgomi Child and Family Services, The Wikwemikong Health Centre and The Wikwemikong Board of Education. In each organization she offered administrative services, proposal writing and policy and procedure documents as requested by the Directors of each organization. She joined Debajehmujig Theatre Group in the fall of 1993. Her first roles were in arts administration, marketing and community outreach. She began an improvisational theatre group with young members of the company at Debajehmujig, from the summer of 1994.

The Best Medicine Troupe, became a improvisation training and art education team that worked within First Nation communities across Canada, created custom shows for First Nations organizations, at gatherings, conferences and community consultations. The program evolved throughout the north, establishing a practice in Northern hub communities, Thunder Bay, Sault Lookout, Red lake, Sault Ste Marie, Sudbury and North Bay. Interns were accepted into the Troupe in 1997, allowing the company to develop and offer a full three year program of arts education, professional community based training and original creation for emerging Aboriginal artists.

Debajehmujig Outreach has worked with Northern communities from Manitoulin Island to the Arctic, in three year cycles, advancing youth and emerging artists, supporting local arts infrastructure development and advocating for sustainable supports for local artists.

She began Baby Clown Training through the Arts Animator Training Program at Debajehmujig in 2008. She worked with John Turner to deliver the Clown training in Moosonee- Moose Factory to James Bay Coastal youth and young adults. She completed her training and proceeded to intern at MCCP, completing Boot Camp and Neo Bouffant, and finally Teaching Perspectives in 2012.

She continues to work with Debajehmujig Storytellers, supporting program development in training and land/community based performance art practices, utilizing arts animators to facilitate community cohesion and community development.

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Cet événement s’est terminé le lundi, 6 décembre 2021

Tout l’amour : Une célébration de Tomson Highway

Arts autochtones Théâtre Conte Littérature Causeries
  • Théâtre autochtone CNA
  • Arts Vivants

  6 déc 2021 - 13 h  HNE   1 heure sans entracte.

Tout l’amour que vous mettez dans le matériel revient, et il revient par vagues. Tomson Highway

Retrouvez-nous en ligne pour cette table ronde d’artistes de théâtre autochtones qui discutent de l’impact et de l’influence de l’œuvre de Tomson Highway dans leur vie et dans la communauté artistique. 

À cette table ronde, nous avons le plaisir d’accueillir :

  • Yvette Nolan
  • Margo Kane
  • Joahnna Berti 

Yvette Nolan
Née en Saskatchewan d’une mère algonquine et d’un père immigrant irlandais, Yvette Nolan sort diplômée de l’Université du Manitoba en 1997. Elle sait manier la plume : elle a écrit les pièces de théâtre BLADE, Job’s Wife, Annie Mae’s Movement, The Birds : a modern adaptation of Aristophanes’ comedy et The Unplugging. Elle n’est pas en reste en matière de mise en scène : elle a dirigé de nombreux spectacles au Gwaandak Theatre, au Gordon Tootoosis Nīkānīwin Theatre, au Signal Theatre, au Globe Theatre ou au Western Canada Theatre. Directrice artistique du Native Earth Performing Arts de 2003 à 2011, elle a consacré un livre au théâtre autochtone au Canada, Medicine Shows : Indigenous Performance Culture, et fait partie des artistes associés du Signal Theatre. Elle vit à Toronto.

Margo Kane
Artiste de la scène descendante des Cris et des Saulteux, Margo Kane est la fondatrice et directrice artistique de Full Circle: First Nations Performance. Elle travaille depuis plus de 40 ans comme actrice, interprète et travailleuse culturelle dans le milieu communautaire. Son désir de créer une œuvre qui résonne auprès de son peuple est à la source de ses nombreux voyages et de son travail intensif de collaboration et de consultation auprès des communautés autochtones du Canada et du monde.

Son spectacle solo Moonlodge, acclamé par la critique — pendant le Festival of the Dreaming, la presse australienne l’a décrit comme « la crème des spectacles solos » —, est un classique du théâtre autochtone canadien et a passé plus de dix ans en tournée au pays et à l’étranger. Margo Kane dirige le festival annuel Talking Stick et le programme Aboriginal Ensemble Performing Arts, qu’elle a tous deux fondés à Vancouver. Elle est actuellement la directrice artistique de The Drum is Calling, festival organisé dans le cadre des activités Canada 150 de la ville de Vancouver.

Au théâtre, elle a récemment repris son rôle dans la pièce Burning Vision de Marie Clements au Festival grec de Barcelone. En 2016, elle a reçu un doctorat honorifique en littérature de l’Université de la Vallée du Fraser et le Prix du maire de Vancouver pour le théâtre. La Greater Vancouver Professional Theatre Alliance lui a par ailleurs décerné le Prix pour une carrière exceptionnelle de 2017 lors de la cérémonie de remise annuelle des prix Jessie à Vancouver.

Joahnna Berti
Joahnna Berti obtient un baccalauréat spécialisé en psychologie de l’Université Queen’s en 1984. Elle travaille en administration des arts au Limelight Dinner Theatre de Toronto en 1986, puis se joint à Second City de Toronto l’année suivante. En 1989, elle entreprend des études à l’Institut de programmation neurolinguistique (PNL) de la Baie Georgienne, et, de 1990 à 1992, possède un cabinet privé à Toronto spécialisé dans le counseling PNL pour les jeunes homosexuels et jeunes hommes victimes d’abus sexuels. Elle obtient une certification de formatrice principale en 1993 en œuvrant à la maison des jeunes Wassa Naabin de Wikwemikong, aux Services à l’enfance et à la famille Gbezhgomi, au Centre familial, au Centre de santé et au conseil scolaire de Wikwemikong. Elle offre à chacune de ces organisations du soutien administratif; elle rédige propositions, politiques et processus en fonction des besoins de la direction. Berti intègre le Debajehmujig Theatre Group à l’automne 1993; elle se consacre d’abord à l’administration des arts, au marketing et à la médiation culturelle. L’été suivant, elle lance une troupe d’improvisation théâtrale avec de jeunes membres de Debajehmujig.

The Best Medicine Troupe devient alors une équipe de formation en improvisation et d’éducation artistique qui collabore avec des communautés des Premières Nations à l’échelle pancanadienne, créant des spectacles sur mesure pour des organisations autochtones à l’occasion de rassemblements artistiques, colloques et consultations communautaires. La troupe développe un chapitre reliant les communautés nordiques de Thunder Bay, Sioux Lookout, Red Lake, Sault-Sainte-Marie, Sudbury et North Bay. Accueillant des stagiaires à partir de 1997, elle met sur pied un programme de trois ans en éducation artistique, leadership communautaire professionnel et création originale pour les artistes autochtones de la relève.

La section de médiation culturelle de Debajehmujig collabore avec les communautés nordiques de l’île Manitoulin à l’Arctique à raison de cycles de trois ans afin de soutenir les artistes de la relève, le développement d’infrastructures artistiques locales et la promotion d’appuis durables aux artistes.

Berti entame la formation Baby Clown du Conservatoire de création et interprétation de l’île Manitoulin (MCCP) par l’entremise du programme de formation en animation artistique de Debajehmujig en 2008. Elle la présente ensuite avec John Turner aux jeunes des communautés côtières de Moosonee-Moose Factory et de la Baie James. Elle termine sa formation au MCCP (Boot Camp; Neo Bouffon et The Teacher’s Perspective) en 2012.

Joahnna Berti poursuit sa collaboration avec les conteuses et conteurs de Debajehmujig, soutient le développement de formations et de pratiques artistiques axées sur le territoire et la communauté, et fait appel à des pédagogues artistiques pour faciliter la cohésion et le développement communautaire.

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu