October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage

Babel 7.16

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Damien Jalet

2021-12-08 00:00 2021-12-19 24:00 true 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 NAC: Babel 7.16

https://nac-cna.ca/en/event/29689

Video on-demand

Internationally acclaimed choreographers and multi-disciplinary artists - and Ottawa favourites - Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Damien Jalet recreated their Olivier Award-winning piece Babel(words) into Babel 7.16 especially for the 70th edition of the Festival d’Avignon in 2016, one of the most important contemporary performing arts events in the world. The recreation of the piece arose from the need to reiterate and reimagine how language is integrated within technology and to explore...

Read more

Online
December 8 - 19, 2021
All day
Video on-demand
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
Dance Contemporary Film
“Babel is a clever mix of nationalities, bodies, personalities like Noah's ark to try to save what escapes us. The show offers us a real clash of cultures, languages, thoughts with a beautiful dose of hope and respect.”  Theatoile.com

Video on-demand

Internationally acclaimed choreographers and multi-disciplinary artists - and Ottawa favourites - Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui and Damien Jalet recreated their Olivier Award-winning piece Babel(words) into Babel 7.16 especially for the 70th edition of the Festival d’Avignon in 2016, one of the most important contemporary performing arts events in the world.

The recreation of the piece arose from the need to reiterate and reimagine how language is integrated within technology and to explore opposition and unity between the archaic and the contemporary.

Inspired by the biblical myth of the same name, Babel 7.16 calls on the clash of languages and bodies from different nationalities, on the diversity and the difficulty to coexist, confronting uniqueness and community. It questions our attitude towards change, when technology is constantly modifying the notions of empathy and human connections. 

Babel 7.16 is a timely and dynamic dance theatre performance that features a cast of 22 dancers of 15 nationalities to share their legacies, at once immutable and constantly changing.

Film (1 hour 51 minutes)
Pre-film documentary (20 minutes)
Total digital presentation is approximately 2 hours 11 minutes.

--------

Digidance is an initiative of DanceHouse (Vancouver), Danse Danse (Montreal), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto) and the National Arts Centre (Ottawa), in association with Springboard Performance (Calgary).

Note: Once you have purchased your access to the film Event, a link will be emailed and will be available to watch from 12:01 AM (Eastern Standard Time) on December 8, 2021, to 11:45 PM (Eastern Standard Time) on December 19, 2021. You can view the film as many times as you wish with your link. Available in Canada and the USA only.


Consider donating to the National Arts Centre as it continues to support Canadian dance artists. Tickets have a $35 (Engaged) or $85 (Supporter) donation option. Thank you!

  • Partial nudity
  • Strong language
video: Babel 7.16
Babel 7.16
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 22 octobre 2021.
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage

Babel 7.16

Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui et Damien Jalet

2021-12-08 00:00 2021-12-19 24:00 true 60 Canada/Eastern 🎟 CNA : Babel 7.16

https://nac-cna.ca/fr/event/29689

Vidéo sur demande

Les chorégraphes reconnus à l'international et artistes multidisciplinaires adorés du public d'Ottawa, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui et Damien Jalet, ont recréé leur pièce Babel(words), lauréate du prix Olivier, sous le nom de Babel 7.16, spécialement pour la soixante-dixième édition du festival d’Avignon en 2016, un des spectacles vivants contemporain les plus importants au monde. La reconstruction de cette pièce...

Read more

En ligne
8 - 19 décembre 2021
Toute la journée
Vidéo sur demande
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
Danse contemporaine Cinéma
« Babel, c’est un savant mélange de nationalités, de corps, de personnalités telle une arche de Noé pour tenter de sauver ce qui nous échappe. Le spectacle nous offre un véritable choc des cultures, des langues, des pensées avec une belle dose d’espoir et de respect. » Theatoile.com

Vidéo sur demande

Les chorégraphes reconnus à l'international et artistes multidisciplinaires adorés du public d'Ottawa, Sidi Larbi Cherkaoui et Damien Jalet, ont recréé leur pièce Babel(words), lauréate du prix Olivier, sous le nom de Babel 7.16, spécialement pour la soixante-dixième édition du festival d’Avignon en 2016, un des spectacles vivants contemporain les plus importants au monde.

La reconstruction de cette pièce puise de la nécessité de réimaginer et réitérer la façon dont le langage est intégré parmi la technologie et du besoin d’explorer l’opposition et l’unité entre l’archaïque et le contemporain.

Inspiré du mythe biblique portant le même nom, Babel 7.16 convoque le choc des langues et des corps porteurs de différentes nationalités, la diversité et la difficulté à coexister, et confronte l’unicité à la communauté. Elle questionne le rapport au changement quand la technologie modifie constamment empathies et connexions.

Babel 7.16 est une oeuvre de danse-théâtre qui met en vedette 22 danseurs de 15 nationalités différentes qui partagent leurs héritages immuables mais en métamorphose constante.

Film (1 heure et 51 minutes)
Capsule documentaire avant-film (20 minutes)
Cette présentation numérique dure environ 2 heures 11 minutes.

------- 

Digidanse est une initiative de DanceHouse (Vancouver), Danse Danse (Montréal), Harbourfront Centre (Toronto) et le Centre national des Arts (Ottawa), en association avec Springboard Performance (Calgary).

À noter : Une fois que vous aurez sécurisé l’accès au film, le lien de visionnement vous sera envoyé par courriel et il sera disponible dès 12 h 01 (Heure normale de l'Est) le 8 décembre 2021 jusqu’à 23 h 45 (Heure normale de l'Est) le 19 décembre 2021. Vous pourrez visionner le film autant de fois que vous le désirez au cours de cette période. Offert au Canada et aux États-Unis seulement.

-------

Nous vous invitons à faire un don au Centre national des Arts alors que nous continuons d’appuyer les artistes canadiens. Les billets ont une option de don de 35 $ (engagé) ou de 85 $ (passionné). Merci!

  • Nudité partielle
  • Langage grossier
video: Babel 7.16
Babel 7.16
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
© Christophe Raynaud de Lage
Menu