October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
This event ended on: Sep 29, 2021

Artistic Responses and Responsibilities to Residential Schools

with Kevin Loring, Tara Beagan and Len Marchand Jr.

Indigenous arts Theatre Dance Storytelling Talks

Watch more in this series

  • NAC Indigenous Theatre
  • Arts Alive

  Sep 29, 2021 - 7 PM  EDT   1 hour with no intermission.

A discussion about artistic responses to Residential Schools and their impact on survivors, families and communities as well as the responsibility artists have when connecting with this content.  

Grade: 11-12, University 
Length: 1 hour
Language: English

Tara Beagan

Tara Beagan is proud to be Ntlaka’pamux and, through her late father's side, of Irish ancestry.  She is cofounder/director of ARTICLE 11 with Andy Moro. Beagan served as Artistic Director of  Native Earth Performing Arts from February 2011 to December 2013. During her time, NEPA  continued with traditional values for guidance, had an Elder in Residence, and named and moved  into the Aki Studio. Beagan has been in residence at Cahoots Theatre (Toronto), NEPA  (Toronto), the National Arts Centre (Ottawa) and Berton House (Dawson City, Yukon). She is now  Playwright In Residence at Prairie Theatre Exchange (Winnipeg). Seven of her 28 plays are  published. Two plays have received Dora Award nominations (one win). In 2018, Beagan was a  finalist in the Alberta Playwrights’ Network competition. In 2020, Honour Beat won the Gwen Pharis Ringwood Award for Drama. Recent premieres include Deer Woman in Aotearoa (New  Zealand), Honour Beat opening the 2018/19 season at Theatre Calgary, The Ministry of Grace at  Belfry Theatre in Victoria, and Super in Plays2Perform@Home with Boca Del Lupo (Vancouver).

Kevin Loring

Kevin Loring is an accomplished Canadian playwright, actor and director and was the winner of the Governor General’s Award for English Language Drama for his outstanding play, Where the Blood Mixes in 2009. The play explores the intergenerational effects of the residential school system. It toured nationally and was presented at the National Arts Centre in 2010, when Loring was serving as the NAC’s Playwright in Residence.

A Nlaka’pamux from the Lytton First Nation in British Columbia, Loring created the Songs of the Land project in 2012 in partnership with five separate organizations in his home community. The project explores 100-year-old audio recordings of songs and stories of the N’lakap’amux People. Loring has written two new plays based on his work with the community including Battle of the Birds, about domestic violence and power abuse, and The Boy Who Was Abandoned, about youth and elder neglect.

A versatile artist and leader Loring has served as the co-curator of the Talking Stick Festival, as Artist in Residence at the Vancouver Playhouse Theatre, as Artistic Director of the Savage Society in Vancouver, as a Documentary Producer of Canyon War: The Untold Story, and as the Project Leader/Creator, and Director of the Songs of the Land project in his home community of Lytton First Nation.

Len Marchand, Jr.

Justice Len Marchand, Jr. is a member of the Okanagan Indian Band and grew up in Kamloops. After finishing a B.A.Sc. in chemical engineering at UBC in 1986, he worked in the oil industry for five years. He returned to law school at UVic in 1991 and graduated in 1994. He articled and practised law at Fulton & Company LLP in Kamloops from 1994-2013. His practice focused on the liability of public authorities and he appeared before all levels of court and many administrative tribunals.

Justice Marchand has dedicated a substantial portion of his career to achieving reconciliation for many Indigenous people through, among other things, advancing civil claims for abuses suffered by residential school survivors. In 2005, he helped negotiate the Indian Residential Schools Settlement Agreement, the largest class action settlement in Canadian history. He served on the Oversight Committee for the Independent Assessment Process and on the Selection Committee for the Truth and Reconciliation Commission.

Justice Marchand was appointed to the Provincial Court of British Columbia on September 5, 2013. As a Provincial Court judge, Justice Marchand had the privilege of presiding in Cknucwentn Court in Kamloops, where, with input from Elders, healing plans are developed for Indigenous offenders. Justice Marchand was appointed to the Supreme Court of British Columbia on National Indigenous People’s Day, June 21, 2017. He was appointed to the British Columbia Court of Appeal on March 24, 2021.

Don't miss upcoming performances Join our email list, and we'll send show reminders and offers

Don't forget this field
Don't forget this field
Please include a valid email address
Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
Cet événement s’est terminé le mercredi, 29 septembre 2021

Artistic Responses and Responsibilities to Residential Schools

avec Kevin Loring, Tara Beagan et Len Marchand Jr.

Arts autochtones Théâtre Danse Conte Causeries

En regarder plus de cette série

  • Théâtre autochtone CNA
  • Arts Vivants

  29 sep 2021 - 19 h  HAE   1 heur sans entracte.

Causerie portant, d’une part, sur les réponses artistiques aux pensionnats indiens et à leurs répercussions sur familles et collectivités, et d’autre part, sur la responsabilité des artistes qui abordent cette question.

Niveaux: 11e à 12e année, université
Durée: 1 heure
Langue: Anglais

Tara Beagan

Tara Beagan est fière d’être Ntlaka’pamux et d’avoir des racines irlandaises paternelles. Avec Andy Moro, elle a fondé et dirige ARTICLE 11. Elle a assuré la direction artistique de Native Earth Performing Arts (NEPA) de février 2011 à décembre 2013; pendant cette période, la compagnie guidée par les valeurs traditionnelles a accueilli un aîné en résidence, et a déménagé au studio Aki, qu’elle a aussi nommé. Beagan a notamment effectué des résidences au Cahoots Theatre (Toronto), à NEPA (Toronto), au Centre national des Arts (Ottawa) et à la Berton House (Dawson City, Yn); elle est actuellement dramaturge en résidence au Prairie Theatre Exchange (Winnipeg). Des vingt-huit pièces qu’elle a écrites, sept ont été publiées et deux ont été citées pour un prix Dora (remporté une fois). Beagan a par ailleurs été finaliste au Concours du réseau des dramaturges albertains 2018, et sa pièce Honour Beat a remporté le prix de théâtre Gwen Pharis Ringwood 2020. Parmi les premières récentes de ses œuvres, notons Deer Woman en Aotearoa (Nouvelle-Zélande); Honour Beat au Theatre Calgary (en ouverture de sa saison 2018–2019); The Ministry of Grace au Belfry Theatre de Victoria; et Super dans le cadre de la série Plays2Perform@Home de Boca Del Lupo (Vancouver). 

Kevin Loring

Dramaturge, acteur et professeur canadien accompli, M. Loring a remporté le Prix du Gouverneur général pour la dramaturgie de langue anglaise, en 2009, pour sa pièce remarquable intitulée Where the Blood Mixes. L’œuvre se penche sur les effets intergénérationnels du régime des pensionnats autochtones. La pièce a été présentée en tournée dans tout le pays, et notamment au Centre national des Arts en 2010 alors que M. Loring y était l’auteur dramatique en résidence.

Nlaka’pamux de la Première Nation Lytton en Colombie-Britannique, M. Loring a créé le projet Songs of the Land en 2012, en partenariat avec cinq organisations distinctes de sa collectivité natale. Cette initiative puise dans 100 ans d’enregistrements sonores des chants et récits du peuple N’lakap’amux. M. Loring a écrit deux nouvelles pièces basées sur ce travail avec la collectivité : Battle of the Birds, sur la violence familiale et l’abus de pouvoir, et The Boy Who Was Abandoned, sur la négligence à l’égard des jeunes et des aînés.

Artiste et leader polyvalent, Kevin Loring a œuvré comme coorganisateur du Talking Stick Festival, artiste résident au Vancouver Playhouse Theatre, directeur artistique de la Savage Society à Vancouver, producteur du documentaire Canyon War: The Untold Story, et fer de lance, créateur et directeur du projet Songs of the Land dans sa collectivité natale de la Première Nation Lytton.

Len Marchand, Jr.

Le juge Len Marchand, Jr. a grandi à Kamloops, en Colombie-Britannique, et est un membre de la bande indienne d’Okanagan. Après avoir obtenu un B.Sc.A. en génie chimique à l’Université de la Colombie-Britannique en 1986, il a travaillé dans l’industrie pétrolière pendant cinq ans. En 1991, il est retourné sur les bancs d’école à la faculté de droit de l’Université de Victoria, où il a obtenu son diplôme en 1994. De 1995 à 2013, il a été stagiaire et a exercé le droit au sein du cabinet Fulton & Company LLP à Kamloops. Spécialiste de la responsabilité des pouvoirs publics, il a plaidé devant tous les paliers de tribunaux et de nombreux tribunaux administratifs.

Le juge Marchand a consacré une grande partie de sa carrière à l’atteinte de la réconciliation pour de nombreux peuples autochtones, notamment en faisant progresser des poursuites au civil pour les violences subies par les survivant∙e∙s des pensionnats autochtones. En 2005, il a participé aux négociations de la Convention de règlement relative aux pensionnats indiens, le plus important règlement de recours collectif de l’histoire du Canada. Il a siégé au Comité de surveillance pour le Processus d’évaluation indépendant ainsi qu’au Comité de sélection pour la Commission de vérité et réconciliation.

Le 5 septembre 2013, le juge Marchand a été nommé juge de la Cour provinciale de la Colombie-Britannique à Kamloops. Comme juge d’un tribunal provincial, il a eu le privilège de présider le Tribunal des Premières Nations Cknucwentn à Kamloops, où, avec l’apport des Aînés, on élabore des plans de guérison pour les délinquant∙e∙s autochtones. Le juge Marchand a été nommé à la Cour suprême de la Colombie-Britannique le 21 juin 2017, à l’occasion de la Journée nationale des peuples autochtones. Il a été nommé à la Cour d’appel de la Colombie-Britannique le 24 mars 2021.

Ne manquez pas les prochains spectacles Inscrivez-vous à l’infolettre pour recevoir des rappels de spectacles et des offres

N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
N’oubliez pas de remplir cette section
Veuillez indiquer une adresse courriel valide
Menu