The Newfoundland and Labrador Folk Festival

July 8-10, 2022

St. John's, Newfoundland

Newfoundland and Labrador Folk Arts Society: Our mandate is the promotion and preservation of the traditional folk arts of the province. Active since 1966, the organization presents educational and cultural events that provide artists with the opportunity to showcase their work and that engage our youth and the general public in the transmission of our intangible cultural heritage.

Our two longest running events, Folk Night at the Ship Pub and the annual Newfoundland and Labrador Folk Festival are rites of passage for up and coming folk and traditional musicians, and beloved by seasoned performers. Our support for young artists is amplified at our annual Young Folk at the Hall concert, and on the Neil Murray stage for young performers at the Festival. Our events give audiences the opportunity to engage in celebration of our traditional folk arts.

Our Folk Festival not only showcases great performers, but gives our audiences a chance to take part by playing along in open jam sessions, learn traditional dances, arts and crafts.

Please join us as we continue to celebrate the unique heritage and culture of the people of Newfoundland and Labrador. Come out to our many events, sign up for our weekly newsletter, become a volunteer, a member or a financial supporter of our organization.

“This festival has it all – headliners, local favorites, plenty to eat and drink and do, areas to run and play, and a joyful, convivial atmosphere I've not seen anywhere else… Highly recommended.”

Festival attendee
Menu

Rues fermées à la circulation autour du CNA lors de la fin de semaine des courses d'Ottawa

The Newfoundland and Labrador Folk Festival

12 au 14 juillet 2024

St. John’s, Terre-Neuve

Le mandat du Festival est de promouvoir et de préserver l’art et les traditions populaires de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador. Depuis 1966, l’organisme présente des événements éducatifs et culturels qui permettent aux artistes de mettre en valeur leur travail et qui incitent les jeunes et le grand public à transmettre ce patrimoine culturel intangible.

Les deux événements les plus anciens du festival : Folk Night au Ship Pub et le Festival folklorique annuel de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador, servent de rites de passage pour les musiciens folk et traditionnels émergents, et sont fort appréciés des artistes d’expérience. Les jeunes artistes sont mis en vedette lors du concert annuel Young Folk at the Hall et sur la scène pour jeunes Neil Murray. Le public est invité à participer à des séances d’improvisation, à apprendre des danses traditionnelles, et à s’initier à diverses formes d’art et d’artisanat.

Venez célébrer le patrimoine et la culture uniques de la population de Terre-Neuve-et-Labrador!

« Ce festival a tout pour plaire – têtes d’affiche, artistes locaux favoris, beaucoup de choses à manger et à boire et à faire, des zones pour courir et jouer, et une atmosphère joyeuse et conviviale que je n’ai vue nulle part ailleurs... Hautement recommandé. »

Festivalier

Explorer une autre région