| Omar Ballantyne

Zoey Roy

Saskatoon · Saskatchewan · Canada

“My art is my rage that waits to be safely bestowed on a stage."  

Artist. Activist. Educator. Zoey Roy is a force. Her performances weave storytelling, rap, theatre and rhythm and blues together to confront colonialism, explore how it impacts Indigenous people, and find pathways of healing: “What I love most about spoken word is that I can synthesize deep and complex narratives in a way that they become socially acceptable and palatable for a wider audience. I feel a sense of empathy and understanding can be gained by the collective in these moments.”   

Zoey is dedicated to working with young people and brings her messages of anti-racism and healing into classrooms around the country. She has earned a Bachelor of Education, a Master of Public Policy, and is pursuing a PhD in Education. Through her doctoral studies, she is working toward building schools that are not dependent on the colonial system. She calls it “the HYPE Institute: Helping Young People Engage”.   

She has written two books: the memoir Homecoming (2016), and The Voyageurs: Forefathers of the Métis Nation (2019). Memorable performances include the Regina and Calgary Folk Festivals, Canada 150 on Parliament Hill, BIGSOUND in Australia, and the Dubai Expo 2021. Zoey has been awarded many honours, including the Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal (2012), Congress of Aboriginal Peoples National Youth Leadership Award (2013), Indspire Award (2016), and the Saskatchewan Arts Award for Arts and Learning (2019).  

Zoey is Nehithaw-Dené Métis, a member of Peter Ballantyne Cree Nation with roots also from the Black Lake Denesuline Nation, and Green Lake, Saskatchewan. She is now based in Kingston, Ontario, but calls Saskatoon home.  

“I want people to know that I am actively working on healing, and that I have tools I’ve picked up along the way that I am open to sharing with them, if they’re willing to listen.”  

 

For more things Zoey, go to www.zoeyroy.com  

Menu

| Omar Ballantyne

Zoey Roy

Saskatoon · Saskatchewan · Canada

« Dans mon art, il y a ma rage qui attend d’être sur scène pour s’exprimer sans danger. » 

 

Artiste. Activiste. Éducatrice. Zoey Roy est une force de la nature. Ses spectacles entremêlent récits, rap, théâtre et rhythm and blues pour confronter le colonialisme, en explorer l'impact sur les peuples autochtones et trouver des chemins propices à la guérison. « Ce que j’aime le plus dans le récit, c’est qu’il me permet de résumer des histoires vastes et complexes, et de les rendre socialement acceptables pour un plus large public. Je crois que ces moments nous permettent de développer notre empathie et notre compréhension collectives. »   

Zoey a à cœur de travailler avec les jeunes et de leur transmettre des messages antiracistes et de guérison en allant à leur rencontre dans les écoles du pays. Elle détient un baccalauréat en éducation et une maîtrise en politique publique, et est actuellement étudiante au doctorat en éducation. Dans le cadre de ses études doctorales, elle travaille à créer des écoles qui ne dépendent pas du système colonial; des écoles qui soutiendraient l’engagement des jeunes, et auxquelles elle donne le nom d’instituts HYPE, pour Helping Young People Engage.  

Elle a publié deux livres : ses mémoires, Homecoming (2016), et The Voyageurs: Forefathers of the Métis Nation (2019). Elle a offert des performances mémorables, notamment aux festivals folk de Regina et Calgary, sur la Colline du Parlement à l’occasion du 150e anniversaire du Canada, au festival australien Bigsound et à l’Expo 2021 de Dubaï. Zoey a reçu de nombreux prix, dont la Médaille du jubilé de diamant de la reine Elizabeth II (2012), le Prix national du leadership chez les jeunes du Congrès des peuples autochtones (2013), le prix Indspire (2016) et le Prix Conseil des arts de la Saskatchewan dans la catégorie Arts et apprentissage (2019). 

Zoey est une Métisse Nehithaw-Denée, membre de la Nation des Cris de Peter Ballantyne, et est également originaire de la Nation Black Lake Denesuline et de Green Lake, en Saskatchewan. Elle habite maintenant à Kingston, en Ontario, mais a grandi à Saskatoon et reste très attachée à cette ville. 

« Je veux que les gens sachent que je travaille activement sur la guérison et que je suis prête à partager avec eux les outils que j’ai trouvés au fil du temps, s’ils sont prêts à écouter. » 

Pour en savoir plus sur Zoey, rendez-vous vous au www.zoeyroy.com [en anglais seulement]. 

Menu