Bruce Liu | Darek Golik

Bruce Liu

Canada

Bruce Liu was brought to the world’s attention in 2021, when he won the First Prize at the 18th Chopin International Piano Competition in Warsaw.

Following his competition’s success, he immediately embarks on a world tour, appearing at Théâtre des Champs-Elysées in Paris, Wiener Konzerthaus, BOZAR Brussels, Tokyo Opera City, Sala São Paulo, Royal Festival Hall with the Philharmonia Orchestra, U.S tour with the Warsaw Philharmonic, Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra, NHK Symphony Orchestra, and Seoul Philharmonic Orchestra. Past highlights include performance with ensembles such as the Cleveland Orchestra, Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, as well as North-America tour with the China NCPA Orchestra.

His upcoming highlights include debut with the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, European tour with Montreal Symphony Orchestra, Wiener Symphoniker at Musikverein, festival appearances at la Roque d’Anthéron, Klavier-Festival Ruhr, Rheingau, Edinburgh, Chopin and his Europe, Duszniki, and Gstaad Menuhin. 

An exclusive recording artist with Deutsche Grammophon, his first album featuring the winning performances from the Chopin Competition won a Fryderyk Award and received international acclaim including both the Critics’ choice and Editor’s choice from the Gramophone Magazine, as well as being included in its list of Best classical albums from 2021. 

"What we all have in common is our difference", the young pianist likes to say. Born in Paris to Chinese parents, Bruce Liu grew up in Montreal. His life has been steeped in cultural diversity, which has shaped his differences in attitude, personality and character. He draws on various sources of inspiration for his art: European refinement, Chinese long tradition, North American dynamism and openness. Following his artist path with optimism and a smile, his teachers include Richard Raymond and Dang Thai Son.

Menu

Bruce Liu | Darek Golik

Bruce Liu

Canada

Bruce Liu a attiré l'attention du monde entier lorsqu'il a remporté en 2021, à Varsovie, le premier prix au 18e Concours international de piano Chopin.

Suite à ce succès, le jeune pianiste entame immédiatement une tournée mondiale: Théâtre des Champs-Elysées à Paris, Konzerthaus à Vienne, BOZAR à Bruxelles, Tokyo Opera City, Sala São Paulo, Royal Festival Hall avec l'Orchestre Philharmonia, tournée aux États-Unis avec l'Orchestre philharmonique de Varsovie, l'Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg, l'Orchestre symphonique national de la radio polonaise, l'Orchestre symphonique de la NHK et l'Orchestre philharmonique de Séoul. Ses performances importantes du passé comprennent celles avec l'Orchestre de Cleveland et l'Orchestre philharmonique d'Israël, ainsi qu'une tournée en Amérique du Nord avec l'Orchestre NCPA de Chine.

Ses principaux engagements à venir incluent début avec l'Orchestre philharmonique royal, tournée européenne avec l'Orchestre symphonique de Montréal, Musikverein avec l'Orchestre symphonique de Vienne, apparitions dans des festivals tels que la Roque d'Anthéron, Klavier-Festival Ruhr, Rheingau, Edinburgh, Chopin et son Europe, Duszniki, et Gstaad Menuhin.

Artiste d'enregistrement exclusif avec Deutsche Grammophon, son premier album, mettant en vedette ses performances gagnantes au Concours Chopin, a remporté un Prix Fryderyk après avoir reçu une reconnaissance internationale y compris le Choix des Critiques et le Choix de l'Éditeur du Gramophone Magazine, et a été inclus par celui-ci dans sa liste des Meilleurs albums classiques de 2021.

"Ce que nous avons tous en commun, c'est notre différence", aime dire le jeune pianiste. Né à Paris, des parents d'origine chinoise, Bruce Liu a grandi à Montréal. Sa vie s'est imprégnée de la diversité culturelle, ce qui a façonné ses différences d'attitude, de personnalité et de caractère. Il puise dans diverses sources d'inspiration pour son art: raffinement européen, tradition millénaire chinoise, dynamisme et esprit d'ouverture nord-américains. Suivant son chemin d'artiste avec optimisme et sourire, ses professeurs incluent Richard Raymond et Dang Thai Son.

Menu