May 20, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 |

Vivian Fung

Canada

Vivian Fung (Born in 1975)

JUNO Award-winning composer Vivian Fung has a unique talent for combining idiosyncratic textures and styles into large-scale works, reflecting her multicultural background. NPR calls her “one of today’s most eclectic composers.”

Fung is currently at work on a new flute concerto for the Vancouver Symphony Orchestra, a piano trio for L’arc Trio, and a piece for the UK’s Tangram Collective. The Metropolis Ensemble commissioned (Un)Wandering Souls for Sandbox Percussion to premiere at the Bongsokol Festival in December 2020. In July 2020, the CBC Virtual Orchestra gave the online world premiere of Fung’s Prayer, led by Yannick Nézet-Séguin. He led The Philadelphia Orchestra in a virtual performance of Prayer in fall 2020.

Recent highlights include the UK premiere of Birdsong, performed by violinist Midori; the premiere of a trumpet concerto by Mary Elizabeth Bowden and the Erie Philharmonic; The Ice Is Talking, commissioned by the Banff Centre, using ice blocks to illustrate the fragility of our environment; A Child Dreams of Toys, commissioned by the Winnipeg New Music Festival; and String Quartet No. 4 “Insects and Machines,” commissioned by the Red Bank Chamber Music Society and premiered by the American String Quartet.

With a deep interest in exploring different cultures, Fung has traveled to Cambodia, Southwest China, North Vietnam, Spain, and Bali to connect with her roots and collect research for her compositions. Passionate about fostering the talent of the next generation, Fung has mentored young composers in programs at the American Composers Forum, San Francisco Contemporary Chamber Players, San Jose Youth Chamber Orchestra, and Cabrillo Festival of Contemporary Music. 

Born in Edmonton, Canada, Fung received her doctorate from The Juilliard School. She currently lives in California and is on the faculty of Santa Clara University.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 30 juin 2021.
 |

Vivian Fung

Canada

Vivian Fung (née en 1975)

Primée aux JUNO, Vivian Fung combine avec originalité textures et styles idiosyncratiques dans des œuvres de grande envergure reflétant son héritage multiculturel. C’est « l’une des compositrices les plus éclectiques d’aujourd’hui » selon NPR.

Fung compose actuellement un concerto pour flûte pour l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver; un trio pour piano pour l’ensemble L’Arc; et une pièce pour le collectif britannique Tangram. L’ensemble Metropolis lui a commandé (Un)Wandering Souls, qui devait être créé par Sandbox Percussion au festival de Bongsokol en décembre 2020. Yannick Nézet-Séguin a dirigé l’Orchestre virtuel de la CBC dans la première mondiale numérique de Prayer en juillet 2020. Il a repris la pièce en ligne avec l’Orchestre de Philadelphie l’automne suivant.

Parmi les récents faits saillants de la carrière de Vivian Fung, notons la première britannique de Birdsong par la violoniste Midori; la première d’un concerto pour trompette par Mary Elizabeth Bowden et l’Erie Philharmonic; The Ice Is Talking, commande du Centre des arts de Banff, où des blocs de glace représente notre fragile écosystème; A Child Dreams of Toys, commande du Festival de musique nouvelle de Winnipeg; Insects and Machines, concerto pour cordes no 4, commande de la Société de musique de chambre de Red Bank créée par l’American String Quartet.

Férue d’exploration culturelle, Fung a voyagé au Cambodge, dans le sud-ouest de la Chine, le nord du Vietnam, l’Espagne et Bali pour renouer avec ses racines et faire des recherches en vue de nouvelles compositions. Ayant à cœur de soutenir la nouvelle génération, elle a offert du mentorat à plusieurs jeunes participant aux programmes de composition du Forum américain de composition, de Musiciens de chambre contemporains de San Francisco, de l’Orchestre de chambre des jeunes de San Jose et du Festival de musique contemporaine Cabrillo.

 

Née à Edmonton, Vivian Fung est titulaire d’un doctorat de l’École Juilliard. Elle réside actuellement en Californie et fait partie du corps professoral de l’Université Santa Clara.

Menu