Street closures around the NAC during Ottawa Race Weekend
Executive Producer, Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Gala

Virginia Thompson

Virginia Thompson is co-founder of Vérité Films a vibrant Toronto production company. She is an award-winning executive producer, content creator and audience engagement strategist. A champion of artists and their voices, she is the new executive producer of The Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Gala.

Virginia is executive producer of the smash hit feature film Corner Gas: The Movie that reached 7 million Canadians across multiple platforms in December 2014. Working with Bell Media, Cineplex and Telefilm, Virginia developed a new “event based” release model for Canadian features to maximize viewership. She also executive produced Corner Gas the TV series (107 episodes CTV). The #1 rated sitcom changed the comedy landscape in Canada and has become an indelible part of Canadian culture.

Virginia co-created and executive produced the comedy series InSecurity (23 episodes CBC), the award winning youth series renegadepress.com (53 episodes, Shaw, APTN) and the internationally acclaimed children’s series Incredible Story Studio (65 episodes, Disney, YTV)Incredible Story Studio was a highly interactive series that took short stories written by children from across Canada, the UK, France and Germany and made them into “movies” for television. 

Virginia’s productions have won or been nominated for over 114 Awards and have been distributed to over 100 countries. In 2012, she was inducted onto Ryerson’s School of Media Wall of Fame. In 2008, Virginia won the WIFT Award for Creative Excellence. Virginia mentors emerging creators and lectures at the National Screen Institute and Ryerson University. 

Menu

Productrice générale, Les Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle

Virginia Thompson

Productrice déléguée primée, créatrice de contenu et stratège en matière de participation des auditoires, Virginia Thompson est la cofondatrice de Vérité Films, une dynamique compagnie de production torontoise. Cette ardente défenseure des artistes et de leurs passions est la nouvelle productrice déléguée du Gala des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle.

Mme Thompson a assuré la production du film à succès Corner Gas: The Movie qui, en décembre 2014, a attiré plus de 7 millions de spectateurs canadiens sur de multiples plates-formes. En collaboration avec Bell Média, Cineplex et Téléfilm, elle a lancé un nouveau modèle de diffusion axé sur des événements visant à maximiser l’effectif-téléspectateurs de longs métrages canadiens. C’est elle aussi qui a signé la production de la série télévisée Corner Gas (107 épisodes diffusés sur CTV), une comédie de situation cotée numéro un au pays qui a transformé la scène humoristique canadienne et imprimé sa marque dans notre  paysage culturel.

Toujours dans son rôle de productrice déléguée, elle a cocréé la série humoristique InSecurity (23 épisodes sur CBC), l’émission jeunesse primée renegadepress.com (53 épisodes sur Shaw et APTN) et la mondialement célèbre série pour enfants Incredible Story Studio (65 épisodes sur les chaînes Disney et YTV).  Cette dernière série hautement interactive a porté à l’écran les histoires d’enfants de partout au Canada, au Royaume-Uni, en France et en Allemagne.

Virginia Thompson a récolté plus de 114 prix et nominations pour ses productions, qui ont été diffusées dans plus de 100 pays. En 2012, elle a été intronisée au Mur de la renommée de la School of Media de l’Université Ryerson et, en 2008, elle a remporté un prix WIFT dans la catégorie Créativité. Elle sert de mentore à des créateurs émergents, et donne des conférences à l’Institut national des arts de l’écran et à l’Université Ryerson. 

Menu