| Shin Sugino
Toronto ballerina and filmmaker

Veronica Tennant

Veronica Tennant, C.C. (Toronto) was appointed to the National Arts Centre Board of Trustees in October 2004.

Prima Ballerina with The National Ballet of Canada for 25 years, Ms. Tennant won hearts and accolades on the national and international stages, dancing with such luminaries as Rudolf Nureyev and Mikhail Baryshnikov. Since 1989, she has garnered acclaim as a gifted filmmaker, writer, producer/director, with her works winning several awards, as well as the prestigious International Emmy Award.

Lauded as a “great communicator”, Ms. Tennant has built an extensive reputation as narrator, actor, broadcaster, and lecturer. Forming Veronica Tennant Productions in 1998, she has produced and directed a large body of arts performance for television, including Celia Franca: Tour de Force, and Shadow Pleasures inspired by an collaborating with celebrated author Michael Ondaatje. In June 2005 Ms. Tennant received her fifth honourary degree, from McGill University.

She has written two books for young people, and was inducted into Canada’s 2001 Walk of Fame. Her most recent honours include: The Canada Council for the Arts’ Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts; the Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for Lifetime Achievement; and The Banff Centre’s Nominee for Outstanding Alumnus in the Provincial Awards Celebrating Excellence. As an emerging feature filmmaker, Ms. Tennant was invited to take part in Talent Lab at the Toronto International Film Festival 2005. In 2006, one of the studios in the Canada’s National Ballet School’s new Celia Franca Centre was named in her honour, a gift of Margaret and Wallace McCain, and the television portrait, Celia Franca: Tour de Force, which she wrote and directed, was selected as the Best Dance Film of 2006 by The Toronto Star.

In summer and fall of 2007, Ms. Tennant was Movement Director/Choreographer in the successful theatrical adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Penelopiad, a first-ever collaboration between the Roayl Shakespearean Company and the National Arts Centre. She is in post-production for a film for the 2008 LuminaTO Festival of the Arts, titled Direct From Havana ~VIDA~, and working on a new theatre piece with playwright Judith Thompson.

Privileged to be Canada’s National Ambassador for UNICEF since 1997, Ms. Tennant was the first dancer to be appointed to the Order of Canada as Officer in 1975. In 2004, she was elevated to the rank of Companion, the country’s highest honour.

Veronica Tennant, Prima Ballerina with The National Ballet of Canada for 25 years, won hearts and accolades on the national and international ballet stage. Since 1989, she has been recognized as a gifted filmmaker, producer/director, speaker/narrator and writer, with her works garnering several awards, including the International Emmy Award. In 2004, Veronica Tennant was awarded the prestigious Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for Lifetime Achievement, and was announced by the Canada Council, as the recipient of the Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts. As the first dancer to be appointed to the Order of Canada as Officer in 1975, Veronica Tennant was promoted in 2003, for the breadth of her contribution to the arts in Canada, to the rank of Companion, which is the country’s highest honour.

On the concert stage, Veronica Tennant has performed extensively as narrator and creator with Canada’s orchestras including; The Toronto Symphony, The National Arts Centre Orchestra, The Vancouver Symphony and she’s been a frequent guest at Festival of the Sound, Opera Atelier and Toronto Consort.

Her theatrical collaborations include; performing in The Shaw Festival’s 1992 season in the leading role of  Ivy Smith/Miss Turnstiles in On the Town,  and a 22-city national tour in the title role of The Piano Man’s Daughter and Others, with Timothy Findley, directed by Paul Thompson. As associate director and choreographer; she has worked at the Tarragon Theatre, Canadian Stage, and the Stratford Festival. She served as Executive Producer of the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Gala in 2000. In 2007 Veronica Tennant was movement director/choreographer, for the successful theatrical adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Penelopiad, a collaboration between the Royal Shakespearean Company and the National Arts Centre, performed in Stratford-Upon-Avon  in the UK and at the NAC  in Ottawa, Canada.

Menu

| Shin Sugino
Ballerine et cinéaste de Toronto

Veronica Tennant

Établie à Toronto, Veronica Tennant, C.C., a été nommée membre du Conseil d’administration du Centre national des Arts en octobre 2004.

Au cours de ses 25 années passées au Ballet national du Canada à titre de danseuse étoile, Mme Tennant a conquis le public et la critique sur les scènes nationale et internationale en dansant avec les plus grands interprètes, dont Rudolf Nureyev et Mikhail Baryshnikov. Depuis 1989, elle a reçu des éloges en tant que cinéaste, écrivain, productrice et réalisatrice. Ses productions lui ont d’ailleurs valu de multiples prix, dont le prestigieux International Emmy Award.

Louée pour ses dons de « communicatrice », Mme Tennant s’est forgée une excellente réputation en tant que narratrice, actrice, conférencière et productrice pour la télévision. Après avoir fondé la Veronica Tennant Productions en 1997, elle a dirigé un grand nombre de spectacles artistiques pour la television, dont Celia Franca: Tour de Force et Shadow Pleasures, ce dernier inspiré d’une œuvre de l’écrivain Michael Ondaatje et réalisé avec sa collaboration. En juin 2005, Mme Tennant a reçu de l’Université McGill son cinquième grade honorifique.

Auteur de deux livres pour jeunes, elle a été intronisée à l’Allée des célébrités canadiennes en 2001. Ses plus récentes distinctions comprennent le Prix Walter-Carsen d’excellence en arts de la scène du Conseil des Arts du Canada; le Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène, couronnant l’ensemble de son œuvre; et une mise en candidature du Centre Banff pour le prix « Outstanding Alumnus » que la province de l’Alberta remet à un diplômé exceptionnel à l’occasion du gala des prix d’excellence (Provincial Awards Celebrating Excellence). En tant que nouvelle cinéaste dans le monde du long métrage, Mme Tennant a été invitée en 2005 à participer au Talent Lab du Festival international du film de Toronto. En 2006, un des studios du nouveau Centre Celia Franca de l’École nationale de ballet du Canada a été nommé en son honneur, un cadeau de Margaret et Wallace McCain, et le documentaire qu’elle a réalisé pour la télévision, Celia Franca: Tour de Force, a été nommé « meilleur film sur la danse de 2006 » par le Toronto Star.

Pendant l’été et l’automne de 2007, Mme Tennant a été directrice du mouvement et chorégraphe pour l’adaptation théâtrale réussie de The Penelopiad de Margaret Atwood, une première collaboration entre la Royal Shakespeare Company et le CNA. Elle travaille présentement à la postproduction d’un film intitulé Direct From Havana ~VIDA~ pour l’édition de 2008 de Luminato, le Festival des arts et de la créativité de Toronto, et à une nouvelle pièce de théâtre avec la dramaturge Judith Thompson.

Ambassadrice nationale du Canada pour l’UNICEF depuis 1997, Mme Tennant a été la première danseuse à être nommée Officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 1975 et en 2004, elle a été promue Compagnon, la plus haute distinction au pays.

Veronica Tennant, ballerine étoile du Ballet national du Canada pendant 25 ans, a gagné les cœurs et récolté les accolades sur la scène nationale aussi bien qu’internationale. Depuis 1989, elle est aussi reconnue pour ses talents de cinéaste, de productrice/réalisatrice, de conférencière/narratrice et d’auteure, son travail lui ayant valu plusieurs prix dont un International Emmy Award. En 2004, elle a reçu le prestigieux prix de la réalisation artistique des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle, et s’est vu remettre par le Conseil des arts du Canada le Prix Walter-Carsen d’excellence en arts de la scène. Première danseuse décorée Officier de l’Ordre du Canada en 1975, elle a été promue en 2003 au rang de Compagnon – la plus haute distinction honorifique au pays – pour l’étendue de sa contribution à la scène artistique canadienne.

Dans le domaine de la musique classique, Veronica Tennant a beaucoup travaillé comme narratrice et créatrice de contenus auprès d’orchestres canadiens dont l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto, l’Orchestre du Centre national des Arts et l’Orchestre symphonique de Vancouver. Elle a été fréquemment invitée par le Festival of the Sound, l’Opera Atelier et le Toronto Consort.

Parmi ses collaborations au théâtre, on peut citer sa prestation dans le rôle de premier plan de Ivy Smith/Miss Turnstiles dans On the Town, pièce présentée dans le cadre de l’édition 1992 du Festival Shaw; ainsi qu’une tournée dans 22 villes canadiennes dans le rôle titre de la pièce The Piano Man’s Doughter and Others, avec Timothy Findley dans une mise en scène de Paul Thompson. Elle a par ailleurs collaboré avec le Tarragon Theatre, le Canadian Stage et le Festival de Stratford à titre de metteure en scène et de chorégraphe associée. Elle a été productrice déléguée de l’édition de 2000 du Gala des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle. En 2007, elle a été directrice du mouvement et chorégraphe pour l’adaptation théâtrale du roman The Penelopiad de Margaret Atwood, collaboration entre la Royal Shakespeare Company et le Centre national des Arts. La pièce a été présentée à Stratford-Upon-Avon au Royaume-Uni et au CNA à Ottawa.

Menu