|
YAP Resident Quartet

Ulysses Quartet

The Ulysses String Quartet has been praised for their “textural versatility,” “grave beauty,” and “gentle blanket of colour,” (Strad) as well as “avid enthusiasm ... [with] chops to back up their passion” and a “vibrant sonority” (San Diego Story). Winners of First Prize in the 2018 Schoenfeld International String Competition, along with the Grand Prize and Gold Medal in the Senior String Division of the 2016 Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition, the group was founded in the summer of 2015. Ulysses also won First Place in the American Prize, and 2nd Prize of the Osaka International Chamber Music Competition in 2017. The quartet competed in the Semifinals Round of the 2016 Banff International String Quartet Competition where they garnered a Career Development Grant.

Hailing from Canada, the United States and Taiwan, members have performed in prestigious halls such as Harbin Grand Theatre, Carnegie Hall, and the Taiwan National Concert Hall. Recent season highlights include appearances at the Vietnam Connection Festival, Chamber Music Society of Hong Kong, a debut at Taiwan National Recital Hall, the Chamber Music Society of Lincoln Center, La Jolla Music Society SummerFest, Emilia Romagna Festival, Kneisel Hall and the Schneider Concerts. Upcoming engagements include performances at the University of Utah, the Marigny Opera House, Tulane University, Ulysses’s debut at Jordan Hall, a quartet residency for the Zukerman Young Artist Program, and a return to the Vietnam Connection Festival. Members perform on instruments and bows graciously on loan from the Canada Council of the Arts Instrument Bank and the Maestro Foundation.

The name ‘Ulysses’ pays homage to Homer’s hero Odysseus and his ten year voyage home. The quartet is based in Washington Heights, New York City, and its members live in close proximity to the resting place of former U.S. president, Ulysses S. Grant. The Ulysses Quartet believes intensely in the power of music to inspire, enlighten, and bring people together. They are committed in sharing this passion by increasing access and appreciation for classical music while enhancing audience engagement. To this end, the quartet offers interactive programs and workshops for all ages that demystify traditional repertoire while introducing new and exciting works. Their programs invite participants to learn about the inner workings of the string quartet. Quartet members explore connections that music makes with our world today, through the rich history of its creation.

Along with active chamber music careers, Ulysses members hold principal positions with groups such as the Cape Symphony, Cayuga Chamber Orchestra, International Chamber Players, and Miami Symphony and Shattered Glass. They received degrees from the Juilliard School, Manhattan School of Music, New England Conservatory and Yale University. Members are pursuing their Doctorate of Musical Arts Degree at the City University of New York and Manhattan School of Music.

Menu

|
Quatuor résident du PJA

Quatuor Ulysses

Le Ulysses String Quartet a été salué pour sa « polyvalence de textures, » sa « beauté austère, » et sa « douce nappe de couleur, » (Strad) ainsi que pour son « enthousiasme ardent... [avec] un talent à la hauteur de sa passion » et ses « sonorités vibrantes » (San Diego Story). Lauréat du premier prix à la Schoenfeld International String Competition en 2018, ainsi que du grand prix et de la médaille d’or dans la division supérieure des cordes de la Fischoff National Chamber Music Competition en 2016, le groupe a été fondé à l’été 2015. Ulysses a également remporté la première place au American Prize, et le 2e prix à la compétition internationale de musique de chambre d’Osaka en 2017. Le quatuor s’est rendu en demi-finale de la Compétition internationale de quatuor à cordes de Banff en 2016, et a remporté une subvention de promotion professionnelle.   

Originaires du Canada, des États-Unis et de Taiwan, les membres ont joué dans des salles prestigieuses telles que le Harbin Grand Theatre, Carnegie Hall, et le Taiwan National Concert Hall. Le quatuor s’est récemment illustré au Vietnam Connection Festival, à la Société de musique de chambre de Hong Kong, à la Société de musique de chambre du Lincoln Center, au La Jolla Music Society SummerFest, au Festival Emilia Romagna, à Kneisel Hall, aux Concerts Schneider ainsi que lors de sa première apparition au Taiwan National Recital Hall. Parmi leurs concerts à venir, notons des prestations à l’Université de l’Utah, à la Marigny Opera House, et à l’Université Tulane, ainsi qu’un premier passage au Jordan Hall, une résidence au Programme des jeunes artistes Zukerman, et un retour au Vietnam Connection Festival. Les membres jouent avec des instruments et des archets gracieusement prêtés par la Banque d’instruments du Conseil des arts du Canada et la Fondation Maestro.  

Le nom « Ulysses » rend hommage au héros d’Homer et à son épopée de dix ans pour rentrer à la maison. Le quatuor est établi à Washington Heights, dans la ville de New York, et ses membres vivent à proximité de la sépulture de l’ancien président américain Ulysses S. Grant. Le quatuor Ulysses croit fermement au pouvoir de la musique pour inspirer, éclairer et rassembler les gens. Les membres s’engagent à partager cette passion en améliorant l’accès à la musique tout en bonifiant l’appréciation et l’engagement du public. À cet effet, le quatuor offre des programmes et des ateliers interactifs pour tous les âges qui démystifient le répertoire traditionnel tout en présentant de nouvelles œuvres excitantes. Leurs programmes invitent les participants à en apprendre davantage sur le fonctionnement du quatuor à cordes. Les membres du quatuor explorent les liens entre la musique et le monde contemporain, à travers son riche récit de création.

En plus de leurs carrières actives en musique de chambre, les membres d’Ulysses occupent des postes solos dans des groupes tels que Cape Symphony, Cayuga Chamber Orchestra, International Chamber Players, Miami Symphony et Shattered Glass. Ils ont obtenu des diplômes de l’école Juilliard, de la Manhattan School of Music, du Conservatoire de la Nouvelle-Angleterre et de l’Université Yale, et poursuivent leur doctorat en musique à la City University de New York et la Manhattan School of Music.

Menu