October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
photo | Rod MacIvor
Creator • Performer

Tedd Robinson

Ottawa

Tedd Robinson is a Canadian choreographer, performer and educator, best known for his idiosyncratic solo works, including the Chalmers’ award-winning Rokudo: six destinies in three steps.

After graduating with a BFA from York University and studying at the School of Toronto Dance Theatre and with eminent British visual theatre artist Lindsay Kemp, his career trajectory first took him to Winnipeg, where he created highly theatrical ensemble works as artistic director of Contemporary Dancers from 1984-1990. In 1990 he returned to Ottawa to study with Peter Boneham and pursue a solo career, and his critically acclaimed works soon won him a multitude of commissions and an international schedule of teaching and touring.

In 1998, he formed 10 Gates Dancing Inc. to promote the development and performance of contemporary dance creations. As artistic director, he has created repertoire for some of the most renowned dance artists in Canada alongside establishing choreographic consulting services for the milieu that have benefitted over 40 choreographers. From 2005-2012, Robinson created La B.A.R.N., a rural venue for creation, residencies and performance. And, in 2013, he established Centre Q: A Centre for Questioning, a research space for dance and music.

His collaborators have included Louise Lecavalier, Margie Gillis, Ame Henderson, and composer/performer Charles Quevillon. Robinson's work at La B.A.R.N. won le Prix en art de la scène l’Avant-Première at the Culturiades de l’Outaouais 2009. He is winner of the 2014 Walter Carsen Prize for Excellence in the Performing Arts and is a National Arts Centre Associate Dance Artist.

His work is influenced by his six years of study as a monk in the Hakukaze soto zen monastery in Ottawa.

 

Menu

Tedd Robinson | Rid MacIvor
Directeur artistique, 10 Gates Dancing

Tedd Robinson

Tedd Robinson | 10 Gates Dancing

Ottawa

Tedd Robinson est un chorégraphe, interprète et éducateur canadien connu surtout pour ses solos caractéristiques, notamment Rokudo: six destinies in three steps, œuvre couronnée par un prix Chalmers.

Après avoir obtenu son baccalauréat en beaux-arts à l'Université York et étudié à la School of Toronto Dance Theatre et auprès de Lindsay Kemp, éminent mime britannique, sa carrière l'a mené d'abord à Winnipeg où il a créé des œuvres d'ensemble très théâtrales alors qu'il était directeur artistique de la compagnie Contemporary Dancers, de 1984 à 1990. De retour à Ottawa en 1990 pour étudier auprès de Peter Boneham et poursuivre une carrière de soliste, ses créations acclamées par la critique lui valent bientôt une multitude de commandes et de nombreuses offres de tournées et d'enseignement sur la scène internationale.

En 1998, il fonde la compagnie 10 Gates Dancing Inc. afin de promouvoir le développement et la diffusion de créations en danse contemporaine. En sa qualité de directeur artistique, il crée un répertoire exceptionnel pour quelques-uns des artistes les plus renommés de la danse au Canada, en plus d'offrir des services de consultation chorégraphique qui ont bénéficié à plus de 40 chorégraphes. De 2005 à 2012, Robinson met sur pied La B.A.R.N., un espace scénique en milieu rural voué à la création, aux résidences et à l'interprétation. Et en 2013, il fonde le Centre Q: A Centre for Questioning, lieu de recherche pour la danse et la musique.

Louise Lecavalier, Margie Gillis, Ame Henderson et le compositeur et interprète Charles Quevillon sont au nombre des artistes avec qui il collabore. Tedd Robinson est membre fondateur du Projet bk et artiste associé de la Danse au CNA. Sa démarche créatrice est influencée par ses six années d'étude comme moine au monastère Hakukaze soto zen d’Ottawa. 

Menu