October 13, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
 |
Vocalist

Susan Aglukark

During a career that has spanned more than 25 years, Susan Aglukark’s journey as a singer-songwriter has led her to reflect on who she is, where she comes from and the importance of discovery – discovery of history, culture and self.

The first Inuk artist to win a JUNO, Susan has won three, as well as a Governor General’s Performing Arts Award for lifetime artistic achievement. She is an officer of the Order of Canada, holds several Honorary Doctorate degrees and has held command performances; but Susan also acknowledges the path has not been easy.

“Here I was, living a life I never imagined, but I was struggling to understand who I was. There was no opportunity growing up to learn about who we were, the Inuit, from our own perspective. In essence, we were institutionalized by being told who we were, how we would live, and when you are told a story for so long, you learn to believe it,” explains Susan.

During the past 25 years of reflection and songwriting, Susan kept coming back to one area of profound knowing – the Inuit are an extraordinary people deeply grounded in a culture forged by their Ancestors, their journey is what shaped them.

“Their life experience is the foundation on which our precepts of determination, adaptability and love for life are built, they began the journey to our present-day Nunavut.” (Susan’s Walrus Talks comments)

Despite the success she experienced in the 1990s, by 1998 she was suffering from post-partum depression and found herself in a dark place in need of time to reflect and heal. What followed was several years of reflection, healing and making deeper commitments to her singing/songwriting career.

And so began what Susan calls her “awakening.” As she learned more about her culture and the strength and resilience of the Inuit who have been on this land for over 5,000 years, Susan was also engaging her own “inner artist” and falling in love with performing, sharing stories, and singing.

Through her music, Susan continues to share her experiences as an Inuk growing up in Nunavut, as well as the challenges faced by northern communities and Indigenous youth. She is actively involved in various projects to bring food and support to northern communities and in 2016 the Arctic Rose Foundation gained charitable status with a focus on helping youth in the North through art and other engaging creative projects.

www.susanaglukark.com

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour du 13 octobre 2021.
 |
Chanteuse

Susan Aglukark

Au cours d’une carrière qui s’étend sur plus de 25 ans, Susan Aglukark a connu un parcours d’auteure-compositrice-interprète qui a suscité chez elle une réflexion sur son identité, ses origines et sur l’importance de la découverte – historique, culturelle et personnelle.    

Première artiste inuite à remporter un prix JUNO (suivi de deux autres), Susan a également reçu un prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts du spectacle pour l’ensemble de sa carrière et plusieurs doctorats honorifiques, en plus d’être nommée Officier de l’Ordre du Canada. Malgré ces distinctions et les prestations qu’elle a livrées pour de hauts dignitaires, Susan reconnaît avoir rencontré plusieurs défis au fil des ans.  

« Je vivais une vie de rêve, explique-t-elle, mais je n’arrivais pas à comprendre qui j’étais. Enfants, nous n’avons pas eu l’occasion d’apprendre qui nous sommes, les Inuits, d’un point de vue qui nous est propre. Essentiellement, notre identité et nos modes de vie ont été institutionnalisés. Et à force d’entendre une histoire, on finit par la croire. »

Tout au long des 25 dernières années de réflexion et de chansons, Susan revenait sans cesse à une vérité profonde : les Inuits sont un peuple extraordinaire. Ils sont profondément ancrés dans une culture forgée par leurs ancêtres, et sont formés par leur parcours.  

« Leur expérience de vie est la fondation sur laquelle reposent nos principes de détermination et d’adaptation, et notre amour de la vie. C’est ce qui a tracé la voie pour le Nunavut que nous connaissons aujourd’hui. » (Remarques de Susan dans Walrus Talks.)

Alors que sa carrière connaissait un vif succès dans les années 1990, une dépression post-partum en 1998 lui a fait réaliser qu’elle avait besoin de temps pour recouvrer la santé. S’ensuivirent plusieurs années de réflexion, de guérison et d’engagements profonds à l’égard de sa carrière d’auteure-compositrice-interprète.  

C’est ainsi qu’a débuté ce que Susan appelle son « éveil ». Tout en apprenant plus au sujet de sa culture, et de la force et résilience des Inuits qui habitent ce territoire depuis plus de 5000 ans, Susan est entrée en contact avec son « artiste intérieure » et a redécouvert le plaisir de prendre la scène, partager des histoires et chanter.    

Par sa musique, Susan Aglukark continue de sensibiliser les gens à ses expériences en tant qu’Inuite ayant grandi au Nunavut, ainsi qu’aux défis auxquels font face les jeunes autochtones et les communautés nordiques. Elle s’implique dans divers projets pour offrir soutien et nourriture aux communautés nordiques. Sa fondation, Arctic Rose, a obtenu le statut d’organisme de bienfaisance, et poursuit son mandat de venir en aide aux jeunes dans le Grand Nord par l’entremise des arts et d’autres projets créatifs.

www.susanaglukark.com

Menu