|

Sherryl Sewepagaham

Edmonton · Alberta · Canada

Sherryl Sewepagaham is of Cree-Dene ancestry from the Little Red River Cree Nation in northern Alberta. She holds a Bachelor of Music Therapy (Capilano University) and a Bachelor of Education (University of Alberta). Having taught elementary music for 14 years, Sherryl is an experienced elementary Music Educator focusing on Indigenous Music Education and First Nations songs for the classroom. Now as a Music Therapist, she works with Indigenous patients in the areas of Geriatric and Palliative Care at the Royal Alexandra Hospital in Edmonton, AB, but still continues to provide education workshops in schools on Fridays.

Sherryl is also a 22-year member of the 2005 Juno-nominated, Edmonton-based trio Asani and composes drum songs in the Cree language. Asani received a 2010 Canadian Folk Music Award, a 2010 Indian Summer Music Award, a 2005 Canadian Aboriginal Music Award, and many other music awards nominations. Asani toured extensively around the world performing at Carnegie Hall in New York, The Kennedy Centre in Washington D.C., and the 2010 Olympics in Vancouver BC.

Sherryl is also a composer of traditional and contemporary First Nations drum songs. Her 2014 debut solo album, Splashing the Water Loudly, received a 2015 Indigenous Music Award nomination and is featured in APTN’s Chaos and Courage series. Sherryl wrote the music and lyrics for the National Arts Centre’s Music Alive Program (MAP) song, “Music Alive”, which has been shared with elementary schools across Canada. Sherryl also created and co-created three teacher resources for the MAP program and continues to develop cultural programs for music teachers.

Music Alive Program Options:

  • Indigenous Arts (Possible Themes: Music & Nature, Family & Friends, or Listening & Creativity)
  • Cross-Cultural Experiences (Possible Themes: Music & Nature, Family & Friends, or Listening & Creativity)
Menu

|

Sherryl Sewepagaham

Edmonton · Alberta · Canada

De descendance crie-dénée, Sherryl Sewepagaham est originaire de la nation crie de Little Red River, dans le nord de l’Alberta. Elle détient un baccalauréat en musicothérapie de l’Université Capilano et un baccalauréat en éducation de l’Université de l’Alberta. Ayant enseigné la musique au primaire pendant 14 ans à Edmonton, Sherryl est une éducatrice musicale chevronnée qui s’intéresse tout particulièrement à l’éducation musicale autochtone et aux chants avec tambours destinés au contexte scolaire. En tant que musicothérapeute fraîchement diplômée, elle orientera sa pratique d’abord vers l’éducation de la petite enfance et les troubles de l’attachement.

Sherryl est depuis 20 ans membre du trio Asani d’Edmonton, mis en nomination pour un prix Juno en 2005, et elle compose en cri des chants avec tambours. Le trio a remporté un prix de musique folk canadienne en 2010, un Indian Summer Music Award la même année et un Canadian Aboriginal Music Award en 2005, en plus d’être mis en nomination pour de nombreux autres prix de musique. Lors de ses nombreuses tournées autour du monde, l’ensemble s’est produit entre autres au Carnegie Hall à New York, au Kennedy Centre à Washington et aux Jeux olympiques de 2010 à Vancouver.

Sherryl compose des chants avec tambours dans les styles traditionnel et contemporain des Premières nations. Son premier album solo, sorti en 2014 et intitulé Splashing the Water Loudly, a été mis en nomination en 2015 pour un Indigenous Music Award, et on a pu en entendre des extraits dans la série télévisée Chaos and Courage, présentée sur les ondes du Réseau de télévision des peuples autochtones (APTN). Sherryl a écrit la musique et les paroles de la chanson Music Alive, du programme Vive la musique du Centre national des Arts, laquelle a été présentée dans des écoles primaires aux quatre coins du pays. Elle a également produit et coproduit trois ressources pédagogiques pour le programme Vive la musique, et elle continue d’élaborer des programmes culturels à l’intention des professeurs de musique.

Options programme Vive la musique:

  • Arts autochtones (thèmes possibles : Musique et nature, Parents et amis, ou Écoute et créativité)
  • Expérience interculturelle (thèmes possibles : Musique et nature, Parents et amis, ou Écoute et créativité)
Menu