October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Rise | Jerry Grajwski, courtesy of Balanced Records
Student of Music / Student of Movement

Rise Ashen

Rise Ashen has devoted his life to the study of sound and movement. From his early years as a B-Boy in Montreal in the 80s to his studies at Fanshawe College (North America's Oldest Recording School) and the Banff Centre for the Arts, his focus has been on applying hi-fi knowhow to global dance music. His record collection spans the four corners of the world with club music of all tempos as his primary focus. As a DJ, he blends it all in a worldy mash and is always the sweaty and dynamic life of the party.  He has played in clubs and festivals across the U.S., Canada, Europe and Asia.  His study of Yoga has led him to combine his musical journey with his Yogi journey and he has been DJing extensively for yoga classes, festivals and events since 2012.  

With his partner Tangent, he founded Capital Sessions Community House Dance Practices in 2010 to share the couple’s love for house dance music and culture.

His first album with Algonquin singer Flying Down Thunder received a Juno nomination in 2012, and the duo’s second album received a Native American Music Awards nomination in 2014.  Since 2015 he has been collaborating with Silla, the Nunavut-based Inuit throat-singing ensemble, with whom he was long-listed for the Polaris Prize in 2016, nominated for a Juno Award in 2017 and for a Juno in 2019 as well as winning the Stingray award at Mundial in 2019 and Inuit Group of the Year and Artistic Video of the year at the SSSIMAs in 2021.

He believes music and dance are essential to human culture and that united, artists can lead humanity towards a more enlightened way of living.  He aspires to embody the wise words of Fela Kuti: "when the higher forces give you the gift of musicianship… it must be well used for the good of humanity"

Menu

Rise | Jerry Grajwski, courtesy of Balanced Records
étudiant en musique/étudiant en mouvement

Rise Ashen

Rise Ashen a consacré sa vie à l’étude du son et du mouvement. Depuis ses premières années en tant que B-Boy à Montréal dans les années 80 jusqu’à ses études au Collège Fanshawe (la plus ancienne école d’enregistrement d’Amérique du Nord) et au Centre des arts de Banff, il se concentre sur l’application du savoir-faire de la haute-fidélité à la musique de danse mondiale. Sa collection de disques couvre les quatre coins du monde et sa priorité est la musique de club de tous les tempos. En tant que DJ, il mélange tout dans un amalgame mondial et met toujours de la vie dans la fête. Il a joué dans des clubs et des festivals aux États-Unis, au Canada, en Europe et en Asie. Son étude du yoga l’a amené à combiner son parcours musical avec son parcours de Yogi et il a été DJ pour de nombreux cours de yoga, festivals et événements depuis 2012. 

Avec sa partenaire Tangent, il a fondé Capital Sessions Community House Dance Practices en 2010 pour partager l’amour du couple pour la musique et la culture house.

Son premier album avec le chanteur algonquin Flying Down Thunder a reçu une nomination aux Juno en 2012, et le deuxième album du duo a été nommé aux Native American Music Awards en 2014. Depuis 2015, il collabore avec Silla, l’ensemble inuit de chant guttural basé au Nunavut, avec lequel il a été sélectionné pour la liste longue du prix Polaris en 2016, nommé pour un prix Juno en 2017 et en 2019, en plus de remporter le prix Stingray au Mundial en 2019 et le groupe inuit de l’année et la vidéo artistique de l’année aux SSSIMAs en 2021.

Il croit que la musique et la danse sont essentielles à la culture humaine et qu’unis, les artistes peuvent mener l’humanité vers un mode de vie plus éclairé. Il aspire à incarner les sages paroles de Fela Kuti : « lorsque les forces supérieures vous donnent le don de la musique... il doit être utilisé pour le bien de l’humanité ».

Menu