| Pete Checchia
Viola

Ren Martin-Doïké

Born in Honolulu, Hawaii to a Canadian father and American mother, Ren Martin-Doïké is a versatile performer on a mission to share music with diverse audiences around the world. Ms. Martin-Doïké has performed throughout Europe, Asia, and the Americas as a soloist and member of a diverse range of ensembles including Duo RenJi, the Philadelphia Orchestra, and as a hand picked member of Carlos Santana Band bassist and music director Benny Rietveld’s personal jazz quintet. Often heard on the radio, Ms. Martin-Doïké has performed for broadcasts on Radio France, American Public Radio, National Public Radio, as well as RTHK television in Hong Kong. More recently, she appeared in Death in Montmartre, an RTHK film production for which she also recorded original arrangements.

Named a 2015-16 Harriet Hale Woolley Scholar and Artist in Residence at the Fondation des États-Unis in Paris, Ms. Martin-Doïké is also the recepient of  the Fontys prize from the Rubinstein International Viola Competition in Germany. Ms. Martin-Doïké is also an award winning chamber musician, taking home First Prize in the string quartet division at the Fondation Maurice Ravel Competition and the Prix de musique de chambre at the Conservatoire américain de Fontainebleau (France).

Ms. Martin-Doïké has enjoyed musical collaborations with Hilary Hahn and Joshua Bell, as well as members of the Johannes and Dover String Quartets, among others.  Ms. Martin-Doïké plays regularly with the Philadelphia Orchestra, and has also served as principal viola of the Curtis Symphony Orchestra, New York String Orchestra, and Hyogo Performing Arts Center Orchestra (Japan).  As principal viola of the Curtis 20/21 Chamber Orchestra, she went on tour with Jennifer Koh and Jaime Laredo as a part of their Two x Four Project, which resulted in a Grammy Award nominated album on the Cedille label. 

Notable performances this past season include solo recitals at the Festival des Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad (Switzerland) and Fondation des États-Unis (France), concerts with the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, and the premier of Archipelago for solo viola by John B Hedges, specially commissioned for her by the Curtis Institute of Music in honour of Laura and Kenneth Mitchell.  A former fellow at the Bang on a Can summer music festival, Ms. Martin-Doïké has also premiered numerous other works, including Toccatina à la Turk by Atar Arad, Unusta IV by Riho Esko Maimets, and the Sonate pour deux altos by Alain Louvier.

A graduate of the Curtis Institute of Music, Ms. Martin-Doïké earned her master’s degree from the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris, receiving a unanimous first prize from the jury, along with top marks for her world premier recording and thesis “Sonate pour deux altos d’Alain Louvier: Analyse, poétique, et guide pour l’interprète”. She joined the viola section of the National Arts Centre Orchestra in 2019.

Menu

| Pete Checchia
Alto

Ren Martin-Doïké

Née à Honolulu, Hawaï d’un père canadien et une mère américaine, Ren Martin-Doïké est une interprète polyvalente qui désire partager la musique avec différents publics à travers le monde. Elle se produit à travers l'Europe, l'Asie et les Amériques en tant que soliste et membre de divers ensembles dont le Duo RenJi, le Philadelphia Orchestra, et comme membre du quintet de jazz selectionée personallement par Benny Rietveld, le directeur musical et bassiste du groupe Carlos Santana. Entendu maintes fois à la radio, Mme Martin-Doïké a notamment joué pour Radio France, l'American Public Media, la National Public Radio ainsi que pour la chaîne de télévision RTHK à Hong Kong. Plus récemment, elle apparaît au film Death in Montmartre, une production de RTHK pour lequel elle a enregistré des arrangements originaux.

Nommée Scolaire Harriet Hale Woolley et artiste en résidence à la Fondation des États-Unis en 2015-16, Mme Martin-Doïké se voit décerner plusieurs prix dont le prix Fontys du Concours international d’alto Rubinstein  (Allemagne), ainsi que le prix du Quatuor à cordes du Concours de la Fondation Maurice Ravel et le Prix de musique de chambre at the Conservatoire américain de Fontainebleau (France).

Mme Martin-Doïké a profité des collaborations musicales avec Hilary Hahn et Joshua Bell ainsi qu’avec des membres des Quatuours Johannes et Dover. Elle rejoint le Philadelphia Orchestra, au cours de plusieurs concerts et a servi comme alto solo au sein du Curtis Symphony Orchestra, du New York String Orchestra, et du Hyogo Performing Arts Center Orchestra (Japon). Alto solo du Curtis 20/21 Chamber Orchestra, elle a la chance de se produire au côté d'artistes de renoms tels que Jennifer Koh et Jaime Laredo. C'est en tant que membre de cet ensemble qu'elle participe au projet Two x Four, qui résultait d’un album sur l’étiquette Cedille, nommé dans cinq catégories lors des Grammy Awards

Performances notables du dernière saison inclus des récitals solos au Festival des Sommets Musicaux de Gstaad (Suisse) et à la Fondation des États-Unis (France), des concerts avec le  Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, et la création d’Archipelago pour alto solo, écrit spécialement par John B Hedges pour elle et commandé par le Curtis Institute of Music en honneur de Laura et Kenneth Mitchell. Artiste invitée du Bang on a Can festivale, Mme Martin-Doïké a créé aussi des nombreuses œuvres contemporaines, tels que la Toccatina à la Turk d’Atar Arad, Unusta IV de Riho Esko Maimets, ainsi que la Sonate pour deux altos d’Alain Louvier, parmi d’autres.

Diplômée du Curtis Institute of Music, Mme Martin-Doïke remporte son master d’interprétation d’alto avec un premier prix à l'unanimité du jury au Conservatoire National Supérieur de Musique de Paris et une mention très bien pour sa création, son premier enregistrement et sa thèse “Sonate pour deux altos d’Alain Louvier: analyse, poétique, et guide pour l’interprète”. Elle rejoint l’Orchestre du Centre National des Arts au sein de la section d’alto en 2019.

Menu