rebecca bruton |

rebecca bruton

rebecca bruton (CAN) is a composer, songmaker, and vocalist living just north of Moh’kinsstis; the place where the Bow and Elbow Rivers converge; the place where the world began (Siksiká). She creates work that moves in the narrow space between sorrow and celebration; her interests include the pace of trekking through the Rocky Mountains, land/blood memory, the choreographic, multi-species kinship, and the malleable nature of time itself. 

rebecca creates across several musical mediums, including experimental chamber music, song, film scores, and free improvisation. Her chamber compositions are widely performed, having been commissioned by Ekmeles vocal ensemble (NYC), Quatuor Bozzini (Montréal), Quasar Quatuor de saxophones (Montréal), Arraymusic (Toronto), Ultraviolet Ensemble (Edmonton), and more. In 2023 she will premiere The Faerie Ribbon, a new work for expanded string quintet performed by Quatuor Bozzini and junctQín keyboard collective (Toronto). The Faerie Ribbon will be released as one side of a collaborative LP of music for expanded string quintet, a multi-year project she devised and co-led with Toronto-based composer Jason Doell. 

rebecca is an avid collaborator, especially across disciplines. In the fall of 2021 rebecca performed in the premiere of ‘We needed to be rescued’, a collaborative movement and music work she co-created with choreographer and dancer Heather Ware (produced by Dancers Studio West). She also tends to a long-term collaborative friendship with multidisciplinary artist Angela Rawlings, having set Angela’s 2017 book si tu to microtonal music for four voices (I n s t i t u, 2021), and collaborated with Angela in the polyvocal duo Moss Moss Not Moss. 

rebecca lives closely intertwined with her more-than-human furfaced besties Hamish, Ramsay, and Mucho. 

Menu

rebecca bruton |

rebecca bruton

Rebecca Bruton est une compositrice, chansonnière et interprète canadienne vivant juste au nord de Moh’kinsstis; l’endroit où se rejoignent les rivières Bow et Elbow; l’endroit où est né le monde (Siksiká). Elle crée des œuvres qui occupent l’espace restreint entre la peine et la célébration; elle s’intéresse au rythme de trekking dans les montagnes Rocheuses, à la mémoire du sang et de la terre, la chorégraphie, la solidarité interespèces et la nature malléable du temps lui-même.  

Rebecca utilise plusieurs vecteurs pour ses créations : musique de chambre, mélodies, partitions de film et improvisations. Ses compositions pour musique de chambre sont souvent interprétées; elles ont été commandées par l’ensemble vocal Ekmeles (New York), le Quatuor Bozzini (Montréal), le Quatuor de saxophones Quasar (Montréal), Arraymusic (Toronto), l’ensemble Ultraviolet (Edmonton) et bien d’autres. En 2023, Rebecca présentera pour la toute première fois The Faerie Ribbon, une nouvelle œuvre pour quintette à cordes étendu jouée par le Quatuor Bozzini et le Collectif pour claviers junctQín (Toronto). The Faerie Ribbon sera lancée sous forme de disque collaboratif de longue durée à une face pour quintette à cordes étendu, un projet étalé sur de nombreuses années que Rebecca a élaboré et mené avec le compositeur torontois Jason Doell. 

Elle est également une collaboratrice prolifique, surtout dans d’autres disciplines. En automne 2021, Rebecca a figuré dans la première de We needed to be rescued, une œuvre musicale collaborative qu’elle a conçue aux côtés de la danseuse et chorégraphe Heather Ware (une production de Dancers Studio West). Elle entretient également une collaboration et une amitié de longue date avec l’artiste multidisciplinaire Angela Rawlings, dont elle a adapté le livre si tu (2017) en musique microtonale pour quatre voix (I n s t i t u, 2021) et avec qui elle a collaboré pour le duo en polyphonie Moss Moss Not Moss.  

Rebecca est très proche de ses meilleurs amis poilus plus-humains-que-nature Hamish, Ramsay et Mucho. 

Menu