Rebecca Belmore | Université Laval

Rebecca Belmore

Rebecca Belmore is a member of Lac Seul First Nation (Anishinaabe). Her works are rooted in the political and social realities of Indigenous communities and make evocative connections between bodies, land and language.

A major retrospective of Rebecca Belmore’s work, prepared by the Art Gallery of Ontario, toured Canada in 2018-19. Her group exhibitions include: dOCUMENTA 14 (2017), Athens, Greece, Echigo-Tsumari Triennial, Niigata Prefecture, Japan (2015); Global Feminisms, Brooklyn Art Museum, New York (2007); Land, Spirit, Power, National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa, ON (1992); and Creation or Death: We Will Win, Havana Biennial, Cuba (1991).

Belmore was a recipient of the Gershon Iskowitz Prize in 2016 for her outstanding contribution to the visual arts in Canada, Governor General’s Award in Visual and Media Arts in 2013, the Hnatyshyn Foundation Visual Arts Award in 2009, and Honorary Doctorates from the Ontario College of Art and Design University in 2005, Emily Carr University in 2018, the Nova Scotia College of Art and Design in 2019 and the Université Laval in 2021.

Menu

Portrait de Rebecca Belmore © Université Laval

Rebecca Belmore

Dernière mise à jour: 6 juillet 2022

Rebecca Belmore est membre de la Première Nation anishinaabe de Lac Seul. Sa pratique artistique est ancrée dans les réalités politiques et sociales des communautés autochtones et établit des liens évocateurs entre le corps, la langue et le territoire. 

Une importante rétrospective de l’œuvre de Rebecca Belmore, organisée par la Galerie d’art de l’Ontario, a été présentée partout au Canada en 2018–2019. L’artiste a participé aux expositions collectives suivantes : documenta 14 (2017, Athènes, Grèce); la triennale Echigo-Tsumari (2015, préfecture de Niigata, Japon); Global Feminisms (2007, Musée des beaux-arts de Brooklyn, New York); Terre, esprit, pouvoir (1992, Musée des beaux-arts du Canada); et la Biennale de La Havane (1991, Cuba; œuvre exposée : Creation or Death: We Will Win).

Belmore a reçu le prix Gershon Iskowitz pour sa contribution exceptionnelle aux arts visuels (2016); le prix du Gouverneur général en arts visuels et médiatiques (2013); le prix de la Fondation Hnatyshyn en arts visuels (2009); et des doctorats honorifiques de l’Université Emily-Carr (2018), des collèges des arts et du design de l’Ontario (2005) et de la Nouvelle-Écosse (2019) ainsi que de l’Université Laval (2021). 

Médias du CNA avec Rebecca Belmore

Menu