October 2020 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Peter Oundjian | Dale Wilcox
conductor

Peter Oundjian

Toronto Symphony Orchestra

Canada

Recently named Conductor Emeritus of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra, Peter Oundjian has been hailed as a masterful and dynamic presence in the conducting world. Oundjian has developed a multi-faceted portfolio as a conductor, violinist, professor and artistic advisor. He has been celebrated for his musicality, an eye towards collaboration, innovative programming and an engaging personality.

Oundjian’s 14-year tenure as Music Director of the Toronto Symphony Orchestra has been marked by a reimagining of the TSO’s programming, international stature, audience development, touring and a number of outstanding recordings. During this time he also lead the TSO in annual performances at the National Arts Centre. Oundjian and the TSO’s recording of Vaughan Williams’ orchestral works won a JUNO Award for Best Classical Album: Large Ensemble in 2019.

From 2012–18, Oundjian served as Music Director of the Royal Scottish National Orchestra. In January 2019, he transitioned from Artistic Advisor to Music Director for the Colorado Music Festival. This evening’s concert is his first time conducting the NAC Orchestra in over 20 years.

Peter Oundjian has been a visiting professor at Yale University’s School of Music since 1981, and in 2013 he was awarded the school’s Sanford Medal for Distinguished Service to Music.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour de septembre 2020.
Peter Oundjian | Dale Wilcox
chef d’orchestre

Peter Oundjian

Canada

Récemment nommé chef émérite de l’Orchestre symphonique de Toronto (TSO), Peter Oundjian est reconnu, dans le monde de la direction orchestrale, comme un maître ayant une présence dynamique. Polyvalent, il est chef d’orchestre, violoniste, professeur et conseiller artistique. On a acclamé sa musicalité aiguisée, son esprit collégial, sa personnalité engageante et ses programmations novatrices.

Directeur musical du TSO pendant 14 ans, Oundjian a donné un souffle nouveau à l’ensemble, réinventant la programmation, multipliant tournées et enregistrements exceptionnels, assurant la croissance de l’auditoire et consolidant la présence du TSO sur la scène mondiale. Il était alors aussi à la tête de concerts annuels au Centre national des Arts. L’album d’œuvres symphoniques de Vaughan Williams enregistré par le TSO et Oundjian a remporté le prix JUNO de l’album classique de l’année (orchestre) en 2019.

De 2012 à 2018, Oundjian a aussi été directeur musical du Royal Scottish National Orchestra. Il est en outre passé du poste de conseiller artistique à celui de directeur musical du Festival de musique du Colorado en janvier 2019. Il dirige ce soir l’Orchestre du CNA pour la première fois en une vingtaine d’années.

Depuis 1981, Peter Oundjian est professeur invité à l’École de musique de l’Université Yale, laquelle lui a décerné en 2013 la médaille Sanford en reconnaissance de ses services distingués à la musique.

Menu