Peter Herrndorf | Photo © V. Tony Hauser

Peter Herrndorf

Ottawa, ON

Peter Herrndorf stepped down as Chairman and CEO of TVOntario in February of 1999, and was appointed as a Senior Visiting Fellow of Massey College at the University of Toronto later that month. He was President and CEO of the National Arts Centre in Ottawa from September 1, 1999 to June 2, 2018.


After graduating in 1962 from the University of Manitoba in Political Science and English, Peter Herrndorf received a law degree from Dalhousie University in Halifax in 1965, and earned his Master’s Degree in Administration at the Harvard Business School in 1970.  He received an honorary Doctor of Laws degree from York University in 1989, from the University of Winnipeg in 1993, from Dalhousie University in 2000, from Carleton University in 2004, and from the University of Manitoba and Brock University in 2006.

Mr. Herrndorf joined the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation in 1965 in Winnipeg as an editor and reporter in the television newsroom.  Later that year, he moved to CBC Edmonton as a current affairs producer, coming to Toronto in 1967 to be a producer of the network current affairs series “The Way It Is”.  After returning from Harvard in 1970, he became Special Assistant to the Vice President and General Manager of the English Network.

From 1974 to 1977, Herrndorf served as Head of TV Current Affairs Programming.  During that period, he was instrumental in the development and telecast of such network series as “the fifth estate”, “The Canadian Establishment” and “90 Minutes Live”, and such documentary specials as the Emmy Award winning “Henry Ford’s America”, “Beaverbrook”, “The October Crisis” and “Connections”, the two-part documentary on organized crime.

He became Vice President of Corporate Planning in Ottawa in 1977, and returned to Toronto in 1979 to become Vice President and General Manager of CBC’s English Language Radio and Television Networks.  Under his leadership, the CBC initiated its major move of “The National News" to 10:00 o’clock and the introduction of the highly acclaimed public affairs program, “The Journal”.  Mr. Herrndorf left the CBC in November 1983 and became Publisher of Toronto Life magazine in December of 1983 (1983-1992).

While Mr. Herrndorf was publisher, Toronto Life achieved record earnings, and was selected twice as Canada's Magazine of the Year - in 1986, and again in 1990.  In recognition of his contribution to the magazine industry, he was given the American City and Regional Magazine Association 1994 Lifetime Achievement Award.

Mr. Herrndorf became Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of TVOntario in March of 1992 and served three terms in that role, stepping down in February of 1999.

While he was Chairman, TVOntario achieved dramatic improvements in both its TVO and TFO network programming; increased its audiences to record levels; won an unprecedented number of national and international awards (including a special International Emmy and a record 11 Gemini Awards in September of 1998); and extended the TFO network service to New Brunswick and Quebec.

During this same period, TVOntario reduced its annual operating costs by almost $20 million; significantly increased its net earned revenues annually by becoming far more entrepreneurial; sold its programs to more than 100 countries around the world; developed strategic alliances with broadcasters in China, Japan, Korea, France and Latin America; raised its membership level to 91,000, an all time high; and substantially reduced its reliance on government funding.

On January 27, 1998, Mr. Herrndorf was awarded the John Drainie Award by the Academy of Canadian Cinema and Television for his distinguished lifetime contribution to Canadian broadcasting.

He was also honoured at a Tribute dinner on February 1, 1999 for his contribution to Canadian education and lifelong learning by the Collegium of Work and Learning; was chosen as a lifetime “fellow” of the Ontario Teachers Federation on August 24, 1999 for his contribution to the educational life of the Province while he was at TVOntario; and received the "Distinguished Educator" Award from OISE on February 3, 2000, given for his lifetime contribution to Canadian education.  In February of 2001, Mr. Herrndorf was chosen as an Honorary Fellow of the Ontario College of Art and Design for his ongoing role in the cultural life of the country.

Mr. Herrndorf has also been active in a wide range of community and industry activities.  He is the Founding President of the Governor General's Performing Arts Awards Foundation (1991-2002), and is a Past President of the Association for Tele-Education in Canada (ATEC).  In the fall of 1995, the Prime Minister, the Right Honourable Jean Chrétien, appointed him to the 3-member Mandate Review Committee to review the mandates of the National Film Board, Telefilm and the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation.  He was also a member of the Federal Government Task Force on the Implementation of Digital Television.  He was honoured in the Toronto Eaton Centre's 'Salute to the City' recognizing 250 residents who have made an outstanding contribution to the vitality of Toronto over the past 20 years.

Mr. Herrndorf currently serves on the Board of Directors of Luminato, Toronto’s Festival of Arts and Creativity; the Steering Committee for the Canadian Arts Summit; the Honorary Committee of the Power of the Arts National Forum; and the Honorary Leaders Council of the PuSh International Performing Arts Festival in Vancouver. He is the past chairman of the international Performing Arts Center Consortium (PACC) and a former member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, the Board of Governors of the University of Ottawa, and The Ottawa Partnership (TOP), a private-sector group advising the City of Ottawa on economic development issues. Positions held previously include Chair of the adjudication panel for the 2011 Lieutenant Governor of Alberta Distinguished Artist Awards; Interim Chairman of the Board of the Canadian Television Fund (June 1997–June 1998); Chairman of the Canadian Broadcasting Museum Foundation Board of Directors; Chairman of the Board of the Canadian Museum of Civilization (Ottawa–Gatineau); Chairman of the Board of The Canadian Stage Company (Toronto); Past President of the American City and Regional Magazine Association; Founding Chairman of the Board of the Toronto Arts Awards Foundation; and Chairman of the Stratford Shakespeare Festival Board of Governors. Mr. Herrndorf is the co‑founder (2002) of “Kidsummer,” a summer-long Toronto children’s festival, and chaired the Metro Toronto Summit on Children in January 1997.

He is a Director (or past Director) of the following Boards:  the Pinchas Zukerman Instruments Foundation; the Governing Council of the University of Toronto; the International Council of the National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (the International Emmies); Key Publishers Company Limited; the Canadian Journalism Foundation; the Banff Television Festival; the Premier’s Council on Economic Renewal; the Ontario Film Development Corporation; the Festival of Festivals/Cinémathèque Ontario; the National Magazine Awards; the Print Measurement Bureau; the Toronto International Music Festival; the International Choral Festival; the International Theatre Festival; and the Glory of Mozart Festival.

He also serves (or served) on the following committees or Boards: the Advisory Board of the Soulpepper Theatre Company;  the Friends of Canadian Broadcasting; the Canadian Council of Christians and Jews; the Premier’s Council on Pay Equity; the Ontario Law Reform Commission Advisory Council;  the honorary degrees committee of the University of Toronto; the University of Kansas School of Journalism Advisory Committee; the York University Business School Advisory Committee; the National Advisory Board, The Pier 21 Society in Halifax; the Ontario Advisory Council, Asia Pacific Foundation; the National Campaign Committee for the James Robinson Johnston Chair in Black Canadian Studies at Dalhousie University; and was an Honorary Patron of the Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care in Toronto.

In addition, he was honorary co-chairman of CONFRONTING REALITY, the 1992 national cultural management conference of the Association of Cultural Executives; an honorary patron of Dancers for Life, the Toronto arts community’s only annual benefit to raise money for the AIDS Committee of Toronto (ACT); a member of the Metropolitan Toronto Arts Round Table on Culture; and he co-chaired the Cultural Sector Symposium on education and training in Toronto on May 18, 2000.

Peter Herrndorf was also part of a Toronto consortium that attempted to purchase the Toronto Blue Jays, the Toronto Argonauts and the Skydome in 1997.  He was a member of the Cultural Festival Committee of the Toronto Olympics bid for the year 2008, and a member of the University of Toronto's Presidential Search Committee looking for a successor to Dr. Rob Prichard.

Mr. Herrndorf was Distinguished Visitor in Journalism at the University of Western Ontario School of Journalism, for the 1983-84 school year.

On June 30, 1993, Governor General Ramon Hnatyshyn appointed Peter Herrndorf as an Officer to the Order of Canada.

In September 1995, he became the first recipient of the William Kilbourn Award presented by the Toronto Arts Awards Foundation for lifetime contribution to the arts in Toronto.  

Mr. Herrndorf was awarded the "Diplôme d'honneur" by the Canadian Conference of the Arts in June of 2000. It is presented annually to an individual for outstanding service to the arts in Canada.  He was also selected as one of Canada’s 50 “nation-builders” by the Toronto Globe and Mail in June of 2002. In April of 2007, Mr. Herrndorf received the prestigious Officer’s Cross Order of Merit from the President of Hungary for his work in commemorating the 50th Anniversary of the Hungarian Revolution.

In January of 2008, Mr. Herrndorf was appointed to the Order of Ontario by the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario, the Honourable David Onley.

He received the 8th Annual Arthur Kroeger Award for Management from Carleton University on April 3, 2008 – the first winner from the public sector, the first from the cultural community and the first from Ottawa.

Mr. Herrndorf was born in Amsterdam and raised in Winnipeg. A keen sportsman, he plays tennis, golf and bicycles.  He and his wife Eva Czigler (former program executive at CBC Television) have a daughter, Katherine, and a son, Matthew.

RECENT BOARDS / COMMITTEES / AFFILIATIONS

  • President and CEO of the National Arts Centre
  • Former Chairman, International Performing Arts Center Consortium (PACC) 
  • Member of the Canadian Arts Summit Steering Committee
  • Member of the Board of Directors of Luminato, Toronto’s Festival of Arts and Creativity
  • Former Member of the University of Ottawa Board of Governors
  • Member of the Honourary Leaders Council of the PuSh International Performing Arts Festival
  • Former member of the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation Board of Directors
  • Former Chairman of the Governance Committee of the CBC Board of Directors
  • Former Chairman of the Canadian Broadcasting Museum Foundation Board of Directors
  • Member of the Board of Directors of the Pinchas Zukerman Instruments Foundation 
  • Past President of the Governor General’s Performing Arts Awards Foundation (1991-2002)
  • Past Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of TVOntario (1992-1999)
  • Past President of the Association for Tele-Education in Canada (ATEC)
  • Former Interim Chairman of the Canadian Television Fund
  • Former member of the Governing Council of the University of Toronto
  • Former Director of the International Council of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (the International Emmies)
  • Former member of the Board of Directors of Key Publishers
  • Former member of the Board of Governors of the Banff Television Festival
  • Former member of Communauté des télévisions francophones
  • Former member of the Board of Directors of the Canadian Journalism Foundation
  • Former member of the Presidential Search Committee of the University of Toronto
  • Member of the Advisory Committee of Opera Lyra
Menu

50% de rabais sur les abonnements - 2 jours seulement - Ne manquez pas ça! (Compte à rebours :
)
Peter Herrndorf | Photo © V. Tony Hauser
Membre d’office

Peter Herrndorf

Ottawa, ON

Peter Herrndorf a quitté son poste de président-directeur général de TVOntario en février 1999 et a été nommé professeur principal invité du Massey College de l’Université de Toronto peu de temps après. Il a été Président et chef de la direction au Centre national des Arts à Ottawa du 1er  septembre 1999 au 2 juin 2018.


Diplômé en sciences politiques et en anglais de l’Université du Manitoba en 1962, Peter Herrndorf a obtenu par la suite un diplôme en droit de l’Université Dalhousie à Halifax en 1965, puis une maîtrise en administration de la Harvard Business School en 1970. Il a reçu subséquemment trois doctorats en droit à titre honorifique, le premier de l’Université York en 1989, le deuxième de l’Université de Winnipeg en 1993, le troisième de l'Université Dalhousie en l'an 2000, le quatrième de l’Université Carleton en 2004, le cinquième et le sixième de l’Université du Manitoba et de l’université Brock en 2006.

M. Herrndorf s’est joint à la Société Radio-Canada (CBC) à Winnipeg en 1965, à titre de rédacteur et reporter de la salle des nouvelles. Il est passé ultérieurement à CBC-Edmonton, la même année, en qualité de réalisateur aux actualités, avant de s’établir à Toronto en 1967 comme réalisateur de l’émission d’actualités The Way It Is, diffusée sur l’ensemble du réseau. De retour au pays après son séjour à Harvard, en 1970, il est revenu à la CBC avec le titre d’adjoint spécial au vice-président et directeur général du réseau anglais.

De 1974 à 1977, M. Herrndorf a œuvré comme chef de la programmation des émissions d’actualités. Durant cette période, il a joué un rôle moteur dans le développement et la télédiffusion d’émissions « réseau » comme The Fifth Estate, The Canadian Establishment et 90 Minutes Live, et de documentaires tournés pour la télévision tels Henry Ford’s America (couronné d’un prix Emmy), Beaverbrook, The October Crisis et Connections, une émission spéciale télévisée en deux parties sur le crime organisé.

Devenu vice-président à la planification générale à Ottawa en 1977, il est retourné à Toronto en 1979 pour assumer les fonctions de vice-président et directeur général des réseaux en langue anglaise de la radio et de la télévision de Radio-Canada. Sous sa conduite, la CBC a réalisé d’importants virages, notamment le déplacement du bulletin de nouvelles The National News à 22 h et l’entrée en ondes, fort bien accueillie, de l’émission d’affaires publiques The Journal. M. Herrndorf a quitté la CBC en novembre 1983 pour devenir éditeur du magazine Toronto Life en décembre de la même année (1983-1992).

Alors que M. Herrndorf en était l’éditeur, le magazine Toronto Life a récolté les meilleures recettes de son histoire, en plus d’être désigné à deux reprises « Magazine canadien de l’année », soit en 1986 et en 1990. En reconnaissance de sa contribution à l’industrie des périodiques, l’American City and Regional Magazine Association lui a décerné un prix d’excellence pour l’ensemble de sa carrière en 1994.

Nommé président-directeur général de TVOntario en mars 1992, M. Herrndorf a assumé trois mandats à ce poste, jusqu’à sa démission en février 1999.

Sous sa présidence, TVOntario a opéré un redressement spectaculaire de la programmation de ses deux chaînes, TVO et TFO; haussé ses cotes d’écoute à des niveaux jamais vus; raflé un nombre sans précédent de prix sur la scène nationale et internationale (notamment un prix Emmy international spécial et pas moins de onze prix Gémeaux, un record, en septembre 1998); étendu la diffusion de son réseau TFO au Nouveau-Brunswick et au Québec.

Pendant la même période, TVOntario a réduit ses coûts d’exploitation de 20 millions de dollars par an; accru sensiblement ses revenus annuels nets en prenant le virage de l’entrepreneuriat; vendu ses émissions dans plus de 100 pays; établi des alliances stratégiques avec des télédiffuseurs en Chine, au Japon, en Corée, en France et en Amérique latine; atteint le plateau des 91 000 membres, un sommet historique; réduit substantiellement sa dépendance financière envers les fonds publics.

Le 27 janvier 1998, M. Herrndorf a reçu le prix John Drainie de l’Académie canadienne du cinéma et de la télévision pour sa contribution exceptionnelle à la télédiffusion canadienne.

Le Collegium of Work and Learning lui a également rendu hommage le 1er février 1999 au cours d’un dîner donné en son honneur pour souligner sa contribution à l’enseignement et à l’éducation permanente au Canada; le 24 août 1999, la Fédération des enseignantes et enseignants de l'Ontario lui a décerné le statut de membre à vie pour marquer sa contribution à l'éducation dans la province lorsqu'il était en fonction à TVOntario; et le 3 février 2000, l'IEPO lui a décerné le titre d' «Éducateur distingué » pour souligner sa contribution à l'éducation canadienne.  En février 2001, M. Herrndorf a été nommé membre honoraire de l’Ontario College of Art and Design pour sa contribution continue à la vie culturelle du pays.

M. Herrndorf a déployé au fil des ans une activité colossale, aussi bien dans les milieux communautaires que dans l’industrie privée. Ancien président fondateur de la Fondation des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène (1991-2002), il est aussi ancien président de l’Agence des télévisions éducatives du Canada (ATEC). À l’automne 1995, le premier ministre Jean Chrétien l’a nommé au sein du comité de trois membres chargé de revoir la mission de l’Office national du film (ONF), de même que celles de Téléfilm Canada et de la Société Radio-Canada. Il a également fait partie du Groupe de travail fédéral sur la mise en service de la télévision numérique. Un nouvel hommage lui a été rendu récemment au Eaton Centre de Toronto, à l’occasion de l’événement « Salute to the City » visant à reconnaître le formidable apport de 250 Torontois émérites à la vitalité de leur ville au cours des vingt dernières années.

M. Herrndorf siège actuellement au conseil d’administration de Luminato (festival des arts et de la créativité de Toronto), au Comité directeur du Canadian Arts Summit, au Comité honoraire du Forum national Le Pouvoir des arts et au Conseil honoraire des leaders du PuSh International Performing Arts Festival de Vancouver. Il est l’ancien président du conseil d’administration du Performing Arts Center Consortium (PACC), et il a siégé au conseil d’administration de CBC/Radio-Canada, au Bureau des gouverneurs de l’Université d’Ottawa, ainsi qu’à l’Ottawa Partnership (TOP), regroupement de gens d’affaires du secteur privé qui joue un rôle consultatif auprès de la Ville d’Ottawa en matière de développement économique. Il a par ailleurs présidé le panel d’attribution des Distinguished Artists Awards 2011 du lieutenant-gouverneur de l’Alberta et le conseil d’administration de la Canadian Broadcasting Museum Foundation. Il a été président par intérim du conseil d’administration du Fonds canadien pour la télédiffusion de juin 1997 à juin 1998; président du conseil d’administration du Musée canadien des civilisations à Gatineau et de la Canadian Stage Company de Toronto; président de l’American City and Regional Magazine Association; président fondateur du conseil d’administration de la Toronto Arts Award Foundation; et président du conseil de direction du Stratford Shakespeare Festival. M. Herrndorf est le cofondateur (2002) de l’événement « Kidsummer », un festival pour enfants qui se tient chaque année à Toronto durant toute la saison estivale, et il a présidé le Metro Toronto Summit on Children en janvier1997.                                                                                                                                                                  

Parmi les autres conseils et organismes où il a été ou est encore administrateur, mentionnons la Fondation Pinchas Zukerman pour l’acquisition d’instruments; le conseil d’administration de l’Université de Toronto; le conseil international de la National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (qui décerne les prix Emmy internationaux); la société d’édition Key Publishers Company Limited; la Fondation du journalisme canadien; le Festival de la télévision de Banff; le Conseil du premier ministre sur le renouveau économique; la Société de développement de l’industrie cinématographique ontarienne; le Festival of Festivals/Cinémathèque Ontario; les National Magazine Awards; l’Office d’évaluation des imprimés; le Toronto International Music Festival; l’International Choral Festival; l’International Theatre Festival; le Glory of Mozart Festival.

En outre, M. Herrndorf œuvre ou a œuvré au sein des comités ou conseils suivants : le conseil consultatif de la  Soulpepper Theatre Company; les Friends of Canadian Broadcasting; le Conseil canadien des chrétiens et des juifs; le Premier’s Council on Pay Equity; le conseil consultatif de la Commission de réforme du droit de l’Ontario; le comité d’attribution des diplômes honorifiques de l’Université de Toronto; le comité consultatif de l’École de journalisme de l’Université du Kansas; le comité consultatif de l’École de commerce de l’Université York; The Pier 21 Society de Halifax; le Conseil consultatif de l’Ontario; la Fondation de l’Asie-Pacifique; le National Campaign Committee for the James Robinson Johnston Endowed Chair in Black Canadian Studies de l’Université Dalhousie; et le Yee Hong Centre for Geriatric Care de Toronto, dont il a été le parrain d’honneur.

Par ailleurs, il a été coprésident d’honneur de la conférence nationale sur la gestion des industries culturelles tenue en 1992 par l’Association des cadres d’institutions culturelles, sous le thème « CONFRONTER LA RÉALITÉ »; parrain d’honneur de Dancers for Life, le seul événement annuel de la communauté artistique de Toronto destiné à recueillir des fonds pour l’AIDS Committee of Toronto (ACT), un organisme voué à la lutte contre le SIDA; et membre de la Metropolitan Toronto Arts Round Table on Culture; et, le 18 mai 2000, il a coprésidé le Cultural Sector Symposium on education and training à Toronto.

Peter Herrndorf a aussi fait partie d’un consortium torontois qui a tenté d’acquérir les Blue Jays, les Argonauts et le Skydome de Toronto en 1997. Il a été membre du Cultural Festival Committee rattaché à la candidature de Toronto pour les Jeux olympiques de 2008, ainsi que du « Presidential Search Committee » chargé de trouver un remplaçant pour Rob Prichard à la tête de l’Université de Toronto.

M. Herrndorf  a été professeur émérite invité en journalisme à l’École de journalisme de l’Université Western Ontario durant l’année scolaire 1983-1984.

Le 30 juin 1993, le Gouverneur général Ramon Hnatyshyn a nommé Peter Herrndorf Officier de l’Ordre du Canada.

En septembre 1995, il est devenu le tout premier lauréat du prix William Kilbourn, décerné par la Toronto Arts Awards Foundation, pour sa contribution exceptionnelle à la cause des arts à Toronto.

M. Herrndorf a reçu le « Diplôme d'honneur » de la Conférence canadienne des arts en juin 2000. Cette distinction est remise chaque année à une personne qui a contribué de manière remarquable à la promotion des arts au Canada.  Par ailleurs, il a figuré sur la liste des 50 « bâtisseurs » du Canada  établie en juin 2002 par le Globe and Mail de Toronto. En avril 2007, il a reçu un prix prestigieux, la Croix de l’officier de l’Ordre du Mérite décernée par le président de la Hongrie pour son leadership dans l’organisation des événements commémorant le 50e anniversaire de la Révolution hongroise.

M. Herrndorf est né à Amsterdam et a grandi à Winnipeg. Grand sportif, il s’adonne au tennis, au golf et au vélo. Son épouse, Eva Czigler, est une ancienne cadre au service de la programmation de CBC Television; ils ont une fille Katherine, et un fils Matthew.

AFFECTATIONS ET AFFILIATIONS RÉCENTES

  • Président et chef de la direction du Centre national des Arts
  • Ancien président du conseil d’administration du Performing Arts Center Consortium (PACC)
  • Membre du Comité directeur du Canadian Arts Summit
  • Membre du conseil d’administration de Luminato, festival des arts et de la créativité de Toronto
  • Ancien membre du Bureau des Gouverneurs de l’Université d’Ottawa
  • Membre honoraire du Leaders Council du PuSh International Performing Arts Festival
  • Ancien membre du conseil d’administration de la CBC/SRC
  • Ancien président du Comité du gouvernement d’entreprise du conseil d’administration de la CBC/SRC
  • Ancien président du conseil d’administration de la Fondation du musée canadien de la radiodiffusion
  • Membre du Conseil d’administration, Fondation Pinchas Zukerman pour l’acquisition d’instruments
  • Ancien président de la Fondation des Prix du Gouverneur général pour les arts de la scène (1991-2002)
  • Ancien président-directeur général de TVOntario (1992-1999)
  • Ancien président de l’Association des télédiffuseurs éducatifs du Canada (ATEC)
  • Ancien président par intérim du Fonds canadien de télévision
  • Ancien membre du conseil d’administration de l’Université de Toronto
  • Ancien membre du conseil d’administration de l’International Council of The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (prix Emmy internationaux)
  • Ancien membre du conseil d’administration de Key Publishers
  • Ancien membre du conseil d’administration du Festival de la télévision de Banff
  • Ancien membre de la Communauté des télévisions francophones
  • Ancien membre du conseil d’administration de la Fondation du journalisme canadien
  • Ancien membre du Presidential Search Committee de l’Université de Toronto
  • Membre du comité consultatif d’Opéra Lyra Ottawa
  • favicon

Menu