Paul Daigle |
Costume Designer

Paul Daigle

Paul Daigle has a first-hand understanding of the intricacies of designing for dance. A graduate of the Royal Winnipeg Ballet School, Daigle went on to perform for two seasons with the Royal Winnipeg Ballet before leaving in 1988 to pursue a career in design.

Daigle has established a very creative and productive relationship with choreographer Mark Godden. Together they have collaborated on a variety of creations for the Royal Winnipeg Ballet, including sets and costumes for Sequoia, Godden’s 1989 Clifford E. Lee Choreographic Award winning ballet, Godden’s two award-winning pas de deux, Myth and La Princesse et le Soldat, as well as Forms of Distinction, Rapsodie espagnole, and seven one-act Godden ballets: Symphony No. 1, Angels in the Architecture, Dame aux Fruits, La Folía, A Darkness Between Us, Shepherd’s Wake and Miroirs.

During the 1997–1998 RWB season, he redesigned the sets for Antony Tudor’s The Leaves Are Fading and the costumes for Paquita. He also collaborated with Mark Godden on two new works, The Rite of Spring and Anywhere But London.

During the 1998–1999 season, Daigle designed the scenery and costumes for Mark Godden’s first full-length ballet, Dracula. In 2003, he went on to win the Manitoba Motion Picture Industry Association Blizzard Award for best costume design for Guy Maddin’s film adaptation of Godden’s Dracula.

Daigle designed the costumes for the RWB’s Nutcracker, which premiered at Ottawa’s NAC on December 2, 1999. In 2003, he was reunited with Mark Godden to create the scenery and costume design for Godden’s full-length creation The Magic Flute, which premiered in Winnipeg.

Daigle has created set and costume designs for numerous ballet and theatre companies including Ballet British Columbia, Ballet Jörgen, Atlantic Ballet Theatre of Canada, Alberta Ballet, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, Kiev Ballet, Compañía Nacional de Danza (Mexico City), Theatre New Brunswick (Fredericton), Neptune Theatre (Halifax) and Theatre Aquarius (Hamilton). Daigle has had the honour to design new creations for world renowned choreographers Mark Morris, Kevin O’Day and Alexei Ratmansky.

Paul Daigle’s most recent work includes costume designs for Mark Godden’s Svengalli and costume designs for Michael Pink’s critically acclaimed full-length production of La Boheme for Milwaukee Ballet which premiered in October 2012.

Menu

Paul Daigle |
Concepteur des costumes

Paul Daigle

Ancien danseur, Paul Daigle a une approche privilégiée de la création de costumes et de décors pour la danse. Diplômé de l’École du Royal Winnipeg Ballet (RWB), il a dansé pendant deux saisons avec la compagnie avant de poursuivre, en 1988, une carrière d’artiste-créateur.

Daigle entretient depuis plusieurs années une collaboration prolifique et empreinte de créativité avec le chorégraphe Mark Godden. Ils ont fait équipe dans le cadre de plusieurs créations du RWB, dont Sequoia de Godden (scénographie et costumes), ballet couronné du prix de chorégraphie Clifford E. Lee en 1989; les pas de deux primés de Godden, en l’occurrence Myth et La Princesse et le Soldat; Forms of Distinction, Rapsodie espagnole; et sept ballets en un acte de Godden, Symphonie no 1, Angels in the Architecture, La Dame aux Fruits, La Folía, A Darkness Between Us, Shepherd’s Wake et Miroirs.

Au cours de la saison 1997–1998 du RWB, il a remodelé les décors de The Leaves Are Fading d’Antony Tudor et les costumes de Paquita. Il a également collaboré avec Godden à deux nouvelles œuvres, Le Sacre du printemps et Anywhere But London.

Durant la saison 1998–1999, Daigle a conçu les décors et les costumes du premier ballet intégral de Godden, Dracula. En 2003, la Manitoba Motion Picture Industry Association lui a décerné son prix Blizzard des meilleurs costumes pour l’adaptation cinématographique du Dracula de Godden par Guy Maddin.

Il a conçu les costumes du spectacle Casse‑Noisette du RWB, créé au CNA le 2 décembre 1999. En 2003, il a collaboré de nouveau avec Godden aux décors et costumes d’une production intégrale du chorégraphe, La Flûte enchantée, présentée en première à Winnipeg.

Daigle crée des costumes et des décors pour beaucoup d’autres compagnies de ballet et de théâtre, notamment le Ballet British Columbia, le Ballet Jörgen, l’Atlantic Ballet Theatre du Canada, l’Alberta Ballet, Les Grands Ballets Canadiens, le Ballet de Kiev, la Compañía Nacional de Danza (Mexico), le Theatre New Brunswick (Fredericton), le Neptune Theatre (Halifax) et le Theatre Aquarius (Hamilton). Récemment, il a eu l’honneur de signer de nouvelles créations pour les chorégraphes Mark Morris, Kevin O’Day et Alexeï Ratmansky, artistes de renommée mondiale.

Plus récemment, Daigle a créé les costumes de Svengali de Godden et ceux de La Bohème, production intégrale acclamée par la critique, chorégraphiée par Michael Pink pour le Milwaukee Ballet et créée en octobre 2012.

Menu