OrKidstra |
Music ensemble

OrKidstra

OrKidstra is an Ottawa-based social development program, which gives children from under-served areas the opportunity to learn life skills – such as teamwork, commitment and responsibility – through the joys and challenges of singing and playing music together.

OrKidstra’s mission is to empower kids and build community through music. OrKidstra accomplishes this mission by providing children from under-privileged communities with free instruments and lessons, giving them the chance to reach for success through music.

The program began in 2007 with 27 children and the passionate belief in the transformative power of music. It has since grown to include over 700 children, ages 5-18, from 42 cultural and linguistic backgrounds, and has become a world-class example of why music is called the universal language.

In high-demand for their energy and musicianship, OrKidstra has performed on the JUNO awards broadcast, on Parliament Hill as part of the Canada Day 150 Celebrations and many more. The charity is grateful to have the support of two OrKidstra Ambassadors: acclaimed pianist Angela Hewitt, C.C., O.B.E, and Alexander Shelley, Music Director NAC Orchestra.

Menu

Événements et spectacles en direct au CNA – mise à jour d'octobre 2020.
OrKidstra |
Ensemble de musique

OrKidstra

OrKidstra est un programme de développement social destiné aux enfants des quartiers défavorisés d’Ottawa visant à leur permettre d’acquérir des compétences telles le travail d’équipe et le sens des responsabilités tout en chantant et en faisant de la musique ensemble.

L’organisme a pour mission de favoriser l’autonomie des enfants et de renforcer les communautés par le langage universel qu’est la musique; il fournit des instruments et offre des leçons de musique gratuites à des enfants de milieux défavorisés, leur donnant ainsi une occasion de se dépasser en musique.

Créé en 2007 avec un puissant désir de transformer la vie des enfants grâce à la musique, le programme avait alors rassemblé 27 participants. En une dizaine d’années, il a maintenant touché la vie de plus de 700 enfants de 5 à 18 ans issus de 42 communautés culturelles et linguistiques différentes et est même devenu une référence en éducation musicale.

Les concerts d’OrKidstra sont fort prisés, surtout en raison de l’énergie communicative et du talent de ses membres; ceux-ci ont offert des prestations, entre autres, à la cérémonie des prix JUNO en 2017, sur la Colline du Parlement à l’occasion des célébrations du 150e anniversaire du Canada et aux cérémonies d’ouverture du Centre mondial du pluralisme. OrKidstra est fière d’avoir le soutien de deux ambassadeurs de marque : la réputée pianiste Angela Hewitt, C.C., O.B.E., et le directeur musical de l’Orchestre du CNA, Alexander Shelley.

Menu