October 22, 2021 update on live performances and events at the NAC.
Nokuthula Ngwenyama | Mark Morgan
Composer

Nokuthula Ngwenyama

United States

Nokuthula Ngwenyama

(Born in 1976)

“Mother of Peace and “Lion” in Zulu, Nokuthula Ngwenyama garners great attention for her performances as orchestral soloist, recitalist, and chamber musician. Gramophone magazine proclaims her as “providing solidly shaped music of bold mesmerizing character.” As a composer, Uptown magazine featured her “A Poet of Sound”.

Ms. Ngwenyama gained international prominence winning the Primrose International Viola Competition at 16. A recipient of the prestigious Avery Fisher Career Grant, she has performed with orchestras and as recitalist the world over.

Recent highlights include the premieres of her works Rising for solo multitrack violin and pedals, and Primal Message for viola quintet, performed with the Dover Quartet. Her first viola concerto, commissioned by Christopher Biggs and Irene Marquez Biggs and recorded with the Janáček Philharmonic, is to be released on Peace Mama Productions (PMP) in fall 2021.

Her work Finding the Dream, commissioned by John Clements and written in response to the murder of George Floyd and Martin Luther King’s iconic I Have a Dream speech, received its world premiere with the Phoenix Boys Choir through joint digital emission with ASU/Kerr Cultural Center and the Colburn School. Primal Message for percussion, harp, and strings, an homage to the Arecibo message, received an orchestral world premiere with the Detroit Symphony Orchestra on their digital DSO series. Bella Hristova premiered her work Miasma for solo violin—largely based on Covid-19 proteins—on the International Violin Competition of Indianapolis Laureate Series in March 2021.  

Born in Los Angeles, California of Zimbabwean-Japanese parentage, Nokuthula Ngwenyama (No-koo-TOO-lah En-gwen-YAH-mah) is the first composer in residence of the Phoenix Chamber Music Society and plays on an Antonius and Hieronymus Amati viola from 1597, on permanent loan from the Biggs Collection.

thulamusic.com

Menu

Nokuthula Ngwenyama | Mark Morgan
Compositrice

Nokuthula Ngwenyama

États-Unis

Nokuthula Ngwenyama

(Née en 1976)

Nokuthula Ngwenyama, dont le nom signifie « mère de la paix » et « lion » en Zulu, capte l’attention avec ses prestations en tant que soliste d’orchestre, récitaliste et musicienne de chambre. Le magazine Gramophone affirme qu’elle « produit une musique solide au caractère audacieux et envoûtant ». Elle est aussi compositrice; le magazine Uptown la qualifie de « poète du son ».

Mme Ngwenyama se fait un nom sur la scène internationale en remportant le Concours international d’alto Primrose à l’âge de 16 ans. Également lauréate de la prestigieuse Bourse de carrière Avery Fisher, elle s’est produite avec des orchestres et en tant que récitaliste partout dans le monde.

Plus récemment ont eu lieu les premières de ses œuvres Rising, pour plusieurs pistes de violon solo avec pédales, et Primal Message, pour quintette d’altos, joué par le Quatuor Dover. Son premier concerto pour alto, commandé par Christopher Biggs et Irene Marquez Biggs et enregistré avec l’Orchestre philharmonique Janáček, paraîtra sous l’étiquette Peace Mama Productions (PMP) à l’automne 2021.

Son œuvre Finding the Dream, commandée par John Clements et composée en réaction au meurtre de George Floyd et au célèbre discours « I Have a Dream » de Martin Luther King, a été présentée pour la première fois par le Chœur de garçons de Phoenix, lors d’une prestation virtuelle du Centre culturel ASU Kerr et de l’École Colburn. Primal Message pour percussions, harpe et cordes, un hommage au message d’Arecibo, a été joué en première mondiale dans le cadre de la série de concerts virtuels de l’Orchestre symphonique de Detroit. Son œuvre Miasma pour violon solo – largement inspirée des protéines de la COVID‑19 – a été jouée pour la première fois par Bella Hristova lors de la série de concerts des lauréats du Concours international de violon d’Indianapolis, en mars 2021.  

Née à Los Angeles, en Californie, de parents originaires du Zimbabwe et du Japon, Nokuthula Ngwenyama (No-kou-TOU-la En-gwen-YA-ma) est la première compositrice en résidence de la Société de musique de chambre de Phoenix. Elle joue sur un alto d’Antonius et Hieronymus Amati datant de 1597, un prêt permanent de la collection Biggs.

thulamusic.com

Menu